Qualifications For A License
Hold a professional degree in architecture from a program accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB);
- Enroll in the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards' (NCARB)
Intern Development Program (IDP) one year prior to applying for the exam; and
- Successfully complete the Intern Development Program.
- Successfully pass the Architecture Registration Examination.
Applicants for the A.R.E. are not required to reside in Arkansas. However, nonresident applicants must satisfy the Arkansas Requirements for licensure.
TO BECOME LICENSED BY RECIPROCITY:
- Hold a current Certificate from NCARB;
- Hold a current license to practice architecture in another state;
- Hold a professional degree in architecture from a program accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB); and
- Completion of the Intern Development Program;
- Request the Arkansas application Form from NCARB. Complete the Application Form and submit a certified check or money order payable to the Arkansas State Board of Architects in the amount of $250.00 to NCARB. Send the completed application and fee to NCARB.
A Certificate of Registration from the Arkansas State Board of Architects issued to an architect entitles that person to assume the title of "Architect" and practice the profession of architecture in Arkansas. Practice in any other manner, such as a firm, business corporation, partnership, limited liability corporation, etc., requires additional registration.
COMPLETION OF APPLICATION FOR INDIVIDUAL AND PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATION REGISTRATION
Complete all applicable items on the application form. Your completed application, with the appropriate fees, should be directed to NCARB in Washington D.C. for processing. Applications will not be considered without the required fee of $250.00 certified check or money order made payable to the Arkansas State Board of Architects.
The Arkansas State Board of Architects requires that all applications for registration by reciprocity be accompanied by an NCARB Blue Cover Council Certificate. Upon receipt of the Council Certification in this office, your application will be reviewed and processed.
A Certificate of Registration from this board issued to an architect entitles that person to assume the title of "Architect" and practice the profession of architecture in Arkansas. If you practice in any manner other than as an individual, additional registration is required. Arkansas Code Annotated Section 17-15-303 and Arkansas State Board of Architect Rules and Regulations Section VIII (A) (1) require registration of all firms, corporations, partnerships, and limited liability corporations engaged in the practice of architecture in Arkansas.
PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATION LICENSE
Arkansas State Board of Architects Rules and Regulations Section VIII (A)(I) states as follows: "Any corporation and any partnership, whether organized under the laws of this or any other jurisdiction, may not offer to engage in or engage in the practice of architecture in the State of Arkansas until such corporation or partnership has obtained a certificate of authorization issued by the Board." Therefore, your firm may not practice architecture until you have become registered with the Board. If your firm does not have a professional organization license issued by the Board, your firm’s name cannot appear on the plans, display signs etc.
To be eligible for a professional organization license, two-thirds (2/3) of the partners, if a partnership, or two-thirds (2/3) of the directors, if a corporation must be registered under the laws of any state to practice architecture or engineering; and the person having the practice of architecture in his or her charge must be a partner, if a partnership, or a director, if a corporation, and registered to practice architecture in Arkansas.
The title block must contain only the names and seals of the licensed design professionals who performed the work and who hold a current license in Arkansas. A firm not holding a current professional organization license in Arkansas cannot put the name of the firm on the title block.
Once you have determined that you are qualified to become a professional organization license, your must do the following:
- Complete an application supplied by the Board.
- If applying as a corporation, this application must be accompanied by articles of incorporation certified by the state secretary of state of the jurisdiction on which the corporation is organized. If applying as a partnership or limited liability organization, the application must be accompanied by a certified copy of the articles or organization.
- If your corporation is organized under the laws of a jurisdiction other than Arkansas, you must register your foreign corporation with the Arkansas Secretary of State and include a copy of the registration from the Arkansas Secretary of State with the application. The telephone number for the Arkansas Secretary of State's office is (501) 682-1010.
- A fee must accompany the application. The current fees are $250.00 for Resident and $250.00 for Non-Resident.
- The Certificates of Authorization must be renewed annually by the 31st of December. If you allow your certificate to lapse, you may not practice as a professional organization. Renewals of lapsed certificates of authorization are at the discretion of the Board. If you are allowed to renew, you must pay a penalty fee in addition to the renewal fee.
- Any changes which occur in the information provided on your application must be reported to the Board within thirty (30) days of the change.
A.R.E Exam Application - PDF
Firm Initial Application Resident Form - PDF
Firm Initial Application NonResident Form - PDF
These documents are in Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format. If Adobe
Acrobat Reader is not currently on your computer system, you will need to get the FREE Acrobat Reader to view
or print these documents.