Agencies | Online Services | Policies |
Search for MY Senator
President Pro Tempore Jonathan Dismang
President Pro Tempore
Arkansas Senate
State Capitol
500 Woodlane St. Ste 320
Little Rock, AR 72201-1090

In Session Phone:

Out of Session Phone:

Senators Contact Info:
Link to Profiles

91st General Assembly
Senator Seniority Listing
Senate Committe Assignments

President Pro Tem 91st General Assembly

Senator Jonathan Dismang, President Pro Tempore, Arkansas State Senate

Jonathan Dismang represents Senate District 28, which is composed of Prairie County and parts of Arkansas, Lonoke, Monroe, White and Woodruff Counties. He has been elected twice by his peers as the Senate President Pro Tempore. At 36, he was the youngest to hold the post in the state's history and is currently the youngest serving Senate President in the nation. Senator Dismang is a member of 19 legislative committees and subcommittees.

He was elected to the Arkansas House of Representatives in 2008 to serve House District 49 and was selected as vice chairman of the Freshman Caucus for the 87th General Assembly. First elected to the Senate in 2010, he is currently serving in his third term. Senator Dismang's legislative work has focused on Arkansas' business climate, health care reform and child advocacy.

Regionally and nationally, Jonathan is active with several key organizations, including the State Legislative Leaders Foundation, the National Conference of State Legislatures and the Council of State Governments. He is a member of the Board of Directors for the Senate President Forum and the Southern Legislative Conference's Executive Committee. In 2014, Governing Magazine recognized Senator Dismang as one of 12 "Heavy Hitters" in legislatures across the nation and in 2015 he was named to the Arkansas Business's class of 40 under 40.

A native of Maynard, Arkansas, Senator Dismang graduated from Beebe High School and is an honor graduate of Harding University, with degrees in accounting and economics. Professionally, he provides financial oversight services with an emphasis in real estate.

Jonathan is married to the former Mandy Staggs and together they have two children, Cade and Sawyer. They are members of the Church of Christ.


© 2013 Arkansas Senate. All Rights Reserved.