Becoming an Appraiser

Welcome! By clicking this link, you have taken the first step toward an exciting career in Real Property Appraising.
The information found below should help you as you start your journey but if you have questions, please call us at
501-296-1843.

For additional information, please reference:

Workforce Waiver – Initial Application Fee

As mandated by Act 725 of 2021, the entities under the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing have implemented a waiver of the initial licensing fee for applicants who qualify for the Workforce Expansion Act of 2021.  If the initial applicant is currently receiving assistance through the Arkansas Medicaid Program, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC), Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program (TANF), Lifeline Assistance Program and/or the applicant was approved for unemployment within the last twelve (12) months and/or the applicant’s income does not exceed two hundred percent (200%) of the federal poverty income guidelines that applicant may qualify for the waiver.

If you meet the qualifications for the Workforce Waiver, please contact our office at 501-296-1843 or diana.piechocki@arkansas.gov to provide documentation and request the waiver for the initial application fee.

 

How to Become a State Registered (SR) or Registered Apprentice (RA) Appraiser

Please Note: You must be a Registered Apprentice (RA) Appraiser to be eligible for an upgrade to Licensed or Certified.

- Educate Yourself

- Find a Supervisor

  • If you have chosen to apply to be a Registered Apprentice (RA) Appraiser, you will need to find a supervisor. You can use the "Appraiser Roster" button on our homepage to find contact information for active Certified Residential (CR) and Certified General (CG) Appraisers in order to find possible supervisors. Registered Apprentice (RA) Appraisers are allowed to have more than one supervisor; however, a supervisor cannot supervise more than three trainees at one time.

- Apply to be a State Registered (SR) or Registered Apprentice (RA) Appraiser

Please mail documents to AALCB, 900 W Capitol Ave, Suite 400, Little Rock AR 72201. If any of the required items are missing from an application upon receipt by AALCB, the application will be returned.

 

What To Do Once You're Registered

- Start Gaining Experience

  • RAs are required to keep an experience log that must be signed and dated by your supervisor; you will submit your log to AALCB when you apply to upgrade.

- Renew Your Credential Annually

Please mail documents to AALCB, 900 W Capitol Ave, Suite 400, Little Rock AR 72201. If any of the required items are missing from an application upon receipt by AALCB, the application will be returned.

  • The State Registration/Registered Apprentice Renewal Form must be filled out and submitted to the Arkansas Appraiser Board.
  • The fee of $200 for renewed status must accompany the application.
  • Completion certificates for 14 hours of continuing education, taken within the last year you have been licensed with Arkansas, must accompany the application via mail or can be emailed to alcb.education@arkansas.gov or devin.parker@arkansas.gov.


​PLEASE NOTE: Arkansas State Registered and Registered Apprentice Appraisers must renew by December 31 of each year. If you renew after December 31, you must include the fee and $50 for each month or partial month you are late.

 

How to Upgrade a License

Real Property Appraiser Classifications in Arkansas

- Educate Yourself

PLEASE NOTE: To find the current list of AALCB Approved Appraisal Education, please go the "Education" tab on our homepage.

- Apply to Interview and Take the Exam

 

To become a State Registered or Registered Apprentice Appraiser:

Required Education (Core Classes for Upgrades)

USPAP..................................................................................... 15 hrs

Basic Appraisal Principles.......................................................... 30 hrs

Basic Appraisal Procedures....................................................... 30 hrs

Supervisor/Trainee Course ......................................................... 4 hrs

79 TOTAL HOURS

 


To upgrade to State Licensed (SL):

Core Classes (79 hrs as listed for RA) followed by:
Required Education

Residential Market Analysis & Highest and Best Use.................. 15 hrs

Residential Appraiser Site Valuation & Cost Approach................ 15 hrs

Residential Sales Comparison & Income Approaches................. 30 hrs

Residential Report Writing & Case Studies................................ 15 hrs

79 Core Courses + 75 hrs SL Courses = 154 TOTAL HOURS

 

No college level education is required.

 

Required Experience

One thousand (1,000) hours of experience are required to be obtained in no fewer than six (6)months. While the hours may be cumulative, the required number of months must accrue before an individual can be licensed.

 

To upgrade to Certified Residential (CR):

Core Classes (79 hrs as listed for RA) followed by:
Required Education

Residential Market Analysis & Highest and Best Use................... 15 hrs

Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach............. 15 hrs

Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches.............. 30 hrs

Residential Report Writing & Case Studies................................. 15 hrs

Statistics, Modeling and Finance................................................ 15 hrs

Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies.................. 15 hrs

Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (must be tested).................... 20 hrs

79 Core Courses + 125 hrs CR Courses = 204 TOTAL HOURS

 

Applicants for a Certified Residential (CR) credential must meet the Qualifying Education requirements outlined in Section VI (C) on pages 32-33 of the AALCB Rules.

 

Required Experience

One thousand five hundered (1,500) hours of experience obtained during no fewer than twelve (12) months is required.  While the hours may be cumulative, the required number of months must accrue before an individual can be certified.

 

To upgrade to Certified General (CG):

Core Classes (79 hrs as listed for RA) followed by:
Required Education

General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use..... 30 hrs

General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach.......................... 30 hrs

General Appraiser Site Valuation & Cost Approach..................... 30 hrs

General Appraiser Income Approach.......................................... 60 hrs

General Appraiser Report Writing & Case Studies....................... 30 hrs

Statistics, Modeling and Finance................................................ 15 hrs

Appraiser Subject Matter Electives (must be tested).................... 30 hrs

79 Core Courses + 225 hrs CG Courses = 304 TOTAL HOURS

 

You must have a Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university.

 

Required Experience

Three thousand (3,000) hours of experience obtained during no fewer than eighteen (18) months is required, of which, one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours must be in non-residential appraisal work.  While the hours may be cumulative, the required number of months must accrue before an individual can be certified.

 

Forms