
 
  

 

 

 

 

 

In response to your inquiry regarding social work licensing, attached is an application and other related 
material.   

PURPOSE:  The purpose of the Social Work Licensing Law (A.C.A. 17-103-301 et seq.) is to protect 
the public by setting standards of qualification, training, and experience for those who seek to represent 
themselves to the public as social workers and by promoting high standards of professional 
performance. 

PROHIBITIONS:  Beginning June 17, 1982, no individual shall practice or offer to practice social 
work unless he is duly licensed or is a student under the provisions of A.C.A. 17-103-301 et seq. or 
otherwise exempt.  Beginning June 17, 1982 no individual may engage in the private independent 
practice or social work consultation unless that person is licensed as a Licensed Certified Social 
Worker. 

LEVELS AND QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE:   

Licensed Social Worker (LSW) - requires (1) a baccalaureate degree in social work from a Council on 
Social Work Education (CSWE) accredited program or a social work degree awarded prior to June 17, 
1986 by an accredited institution; and (2) passage of an examination. 

Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW) - requires (1) a master's degree in social work from a CSWE 
accredited program; and (2) passage of an examination. 

Licensed Certified Social Worker (LCSW) - requires (1) a master's degree in social work from a 
CSWE accredited program; (2) two years (4,000 hours) post-master's LCSW supervised social work 
experience (clinical or non-clinical); and (3) passage of an examination. 

EXEMPTIONS: (1) Clergy and licensed professionals provided they do not hold themselves out to 
the public by any title or description of services as being social workers (2) Employees of a licensed 
hospital in Arkansas (3) Employees of the state with job classifications of family service worker and 
social service worker 

APPLICATION PROCEDURES:  Each item of the application must be completed.  Items which do 
not apply to your situation should be noted "N/A".  Attach a check or money order in the amount of 
$100 made payable to the Arkansas Social Work Licensing Board.  Mail the completed application to 
the Social Work Licensing Board, P.O. Box 250381, Little Rock, AR  72225. 

Request for Transcript and Certification:  The educational requirements for the specific license 
(LSW, LMSW, or LCSW) must be documented by the applicant completing the bottom section of the 
request form and forwarding it to the appropriate college or university for completion and return along 
with an official transcript to the Board.  If you are currently licensed at the LMSW level, your 
transcript is already on file.  There is no need to submit another one with your application for LCSW 
licensure. 
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Supervision:  An applicant who is applying for LCSW licensure must have his/her supervisor complete 
the LCSW supervision evaluation form verifying two years (4,000 hours) post-master's LCSW supervised 
social work experience.      

Action on the Application will be taken at the next board meeting after receipt of all required 
information.  (The Board currently meets the second Monday of each month.)  The applicant will be 
notified by mail of the action taken by the Board.  If approved, the applicant will be notified of his/her 
eligibility to take the examination.  If the Board determines that the applicant has not met all the 
requirements and the application is denied, the applicant may request a hearing before the Board.  An 
application is valid for one year or three attempts to pass the examination whichever comes first. 

PROVISIONAL LICENSE:  An applicant who applies for LSW or LMSW licensure will be issued a 
provisional license when his/her application is approved.  A provisional license will be issued one time 
per person and will expire exactly one-year from the date of issuance.  Act 791 prohibits provisional 
licensing at the LCSW level.  An applicant for LCSW licensure will be issued a provisional license at the 
LMSW level and scheduled for LCSW examination.  An applicant for licensure through reciprocity will 
be issued a six-month provisional license pending receipt of the results of the criminal background check. 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK:  All applicants for social work licensure must apply for a 
criminal background check prior to being issued a provisional license.  When an application is received in 
the board office, the applicant will be mailed the materials and instructions for applying for the criminal 
background check.   

EXAMINATION:  The social work examination is offered Monday through Saturday at the ACT 
Testing Centers in Ft. Smith, Harrison and Little Rock.  After an application is approved, the applicant 
will be mailed a letter of eligibility and an examination candidate handbook.  The handbook contains 
general information about the examination, the registration process, and an order form for a study guide. 

Exam Fee:  The current fee for the examination can be found at www.aswb.org. 

Exam Results:  An applicant will receive an unofficial score report immediately upon completion of the 
examination.  An applicant who fails the examination must wait 90 days before retaking it.  

ADA:  Special accommodations are available for candidates who are disabled.  If you need special 
accommodations, an ADA form must be submitted for approval with your application for licensure.  
Please call the board office to request an ADA form 

RECIPROCITY: The Board may approve licensure without examination to an individual who meets all 
the requirements of the Arkansas Statute and who, at the time of application, is licensed as a social worker 
by a similar board of another state whose standards are not lower than those required by A.C.A. 17-103-
306. 

An applicant, who is applying for licensure through reciprocity, should complete page one of the 
licensure verification form and forward a copy to each state in which he/she holds or has held a social 
work license.  If the state in which you are currently licensed does not provide proof that you passed the 
examination, you must request an examination score transfer from the Association of Social Work Boards 
(ASWB).  You may contact ASWB by calling 800-225-6880 or by email at info@aswb.org.  All the 
requested information must be submitted even though applicant is requesting licensure through 
reciprocity. 
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