Thursday, Jul 26, 2012
Arkansas Graduated Driver's License Law is Saving LIves
The following readers may be required for linked documents:
Adobe Reader | MS Word Viewer
Senator Jimmy Jeffress of Crossett will join public health officials and the State Police to announce the results of a study proving that the Arkansas law on graduated driver's licenses for teenagers is saving lives.
The announcement will be at 1:30 p.m. today, Thursday, July 26, at the MEMS facility at 1101 West 8th Street in Little Rock.
Act 394 of 2009 initiated new requirements for teenagers getting a graduated driver's license. Jeffress was the lead sponsor.
Teenaged drivers with an intermediate license or a learner's permit may not use a cell phone or wireless device, so they may not text or access the Internet while driving. They can have only one passenger in the car who is under the age of 21, unless the passengers are siblings or unless there is an adult in the front seat who is over 21 and has a driver's license.
They are prohibited from driving between 11 p.m. and 4 a.m. unless accompanied by an adult, or unless they are going to or from a school activity, a church activity or work. The act allows are exemptions for emergency situations.
Under the Arkansas Graduated Driver's License system, teens can apply for a learner's permit at the age of 14. They must pass a written and a driving tests administered by the State Police. When driving, they must be accompanied by an adult 21 years of age or older.
At their 16th birthdays, teens can apply for an intermediate driver's license if in the previous six months they have not had a serious accident or been cited for a major driving violation.
For the first six months in which teens hold an intermediate license, they must be accompanied by an adult.
At the age of 18 teens may apply for a regular driver's license if they have gone 12 months without a major accident or traffic violation. If they are 18 and have had a recent accident or violation, they must wait until 12 months have passed before they can get a regular license.