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LITTLE ROCK – Legislation enacted earlier this year has already produced good news for Arkansas businesses.

Act 861 of 2011 freezes the benefits paid to laid off workers. Combined with slow but steady improvement in the state's economy, the act will save the Arkansas unemployment trust fund between $60 million and $70 million a year.


Those savings should restore the financial health of the fund, which has had a negative balance since the economic downturn in 2008 increased the number of laid-off workers who draw benefits from it. Current projections are for the fund to have a negative balance of $323 million at the end of the year. 


When the fund is in debt, businesses pay higher unemployment taxes. The good news is that the fund will have a positive balance in 2015, according to a recent estimate by the state Department of Workforce Services (DWS). 

Leaders in the business community urged DWS to use conservative assumptions, so they are pleased with the new estimates on the health of the unemployment trust fund and called it "terrific news for the business community."


Another factor in restoring the fund has been Act 802 of 2009, which raised the base wage on which businesses pay unemployment taxes, from $10,000 to $12,000. That act is helping the fund's cash flow by increasing the annual amounts that are paid into it.

Act 861 of 2011 trims benefits paid to laid off workers in several ways. It reduces payments from the state fund from 26 weeks to 25 weeks. Many laid off workers are getting extended benefits but those are paid from a federal account that is separate from the Arkansas state unemployment fund.

Act 861 also freezes benefits by repealing an index that would automatically raise benefits as wages increase every year. Now, benefits are written in state law and it will require an act of the legislature to raise them.

The act also changes eligibility criteria, and it extends a current provision in the law that treats discharged workers and those who quit equally. That provision had been scheduled to expire.


In light of the good news about the unemployment fund, the governor now must make a decision regarding a related issue - whether to call a statewide election on a bond issue. A separate bill passed this year, Act 1125, authorizes the election and if voters approve, the state could issue up to $500 million in bonds to pay off the debt of the unemployment fund. 


There would be savings to the state trust fund if bonds are issued soon because of lower interest rates on debt service, but on the other hand there also would be costs to employers. Employers would pay an estimated assessment of about 30 percent on their per employee unemployment taxes. 

On average Arkansas employers pay an average rate of 2.9 percent of payroll in unemployment taxes. However, that average may be misleading because some businesses pay more, in some cases as much as 10 percent. Therefore paying an additional assessment of 30 percent could be significant. The Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce is polling members to get their opinions on whether to issue bonds.
