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LITTLE ROCK –  The state Criminal Justice Institute and nineteen state colleges and universities have joined in a program to lower the costs for Arkansas police officers earning degrees in law enforcement.


The Criminal Justice Institute in Little Rock offers courses in crime scene investigations and law enforcement administration. There will be no longer be a charge for those credit hours when police officers take them through participating local colleges. Officers still must pay for other classes that count toward their degree, such as English and laboratory science.

A police officer can earn a certificate of proficiency by completing 18 hours of course work and a technical certificate by completing 36 hours. To get an associate of applied sciences in crime scene investigations requires the completion of 62 hours of course work. It takes 63 hours to complete a degree in law enforcement administration.

Police officers can take as many as 36 of those required hours for free, through the Criminal Justice Institute. Currently, there are 70 officers working on degrees in law enforcement through the program

In addition to the college level courses, the Criminal Justice Institute offers advanced training for law officers. On average, 4,500 officers a year take some kind of training. For example, officers learn new methods of detecting and catching people who commit cyber crimes. Courses teach the most recent techniques for investigating the manufacture and sale of illegal drugs.

The advanced training courses are free. Also, most police departments allow their officers to attend the Criminal Justice Institute without taking personal leave. Some classes are offered at satellite campuses, such as at a local college or police department. However, some technical aspects of crime scene investigation require hands-on instruction, so officers have to travel to Little Rock.

Seat Belt Law Taking Effect

The new seat belt law, which makes it a primary offense to not buckle up, takes effect June 30. Since it will be a primary offense, police officers will be authorized to pull over motorists for no other reason than on suspicion they're not wearing seat belts. Current law requires front seat passengers to wear seat belts, but you cannot be ticketed unless you are stopped for another traffic violation, like running a stop sign.


Act 308 of 2009, the new seat belt law, was passed by the Senate on a 29-to-6 vote. Some opponents expressed concern it would increase ethnic profiling. Supporters said it would save dozens of lives a year. Passage of the act allows Arkansas to receive $9.5 million in federal funding, to be spent on highway safety efforts.

School Funding Lawsuit Dismissed


The Arkansas Supreme Court rejected a lawsuit by 14 school districts in western Arkansas that contended the state did not distribute sufficient funding for public education. They argued that the state paid too little for education under Amendment 74 of the state Constitution. Among other things, the amendment requires districts to levy a minimum of 25 mills in local property taxes for maintenance and operation of schools.

Arkansas schools get about $1.8 billion a year in state revenue, generated mainly by sales and income taxes, as well as $900 million annual from local property taxes. 
