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LITTLE ROCK - The Division of Children and Family Services has had better success recently in recruiting and keeping case workers, according to an agency personnel report.
The benefit is that case loads are less burdensome. In the past, overwhelming case loads were a factor contributing to high turnover rates.
The Division helps abused and neglected children. Its employees recruit foster parents, and they make follow-up visits to children who have been placed in foster care. Also, the Division recruits and screens parents who want to adopt children.
Last month, 87 percent of the Division's 980 field positions were filled. That compares to only 76 percent being filled in mid-2005. The improvement is attributed to several factors, such as better pay, a streamlined hiring process, new recruiting methods and better training.

Supervisors learned from exit interviews that stress and high case loads were important in employees' decisions to leave the agency. Salary and benefits also contributed to turnover. The average case load is now 31, and agency officials say the recommended case load is 15 per employee.
Last year the starting salary was raised from $25,897 to $28,585. The Division now offers stipends to college students, of up to $2,500 per semester, in exchange for a commitment that they work at the Division for at least a year.

Employees who complete a training program are eligible for salary bonuses. In addition to the extra pay, a benefit of training is that it prepares staff for the stress they will face when working with troubled children. 
Emotional burnout is always an issue for employees because of the number of sad and troubling cases they handle.

Seat Belt Enforcement
State troopers and local police officers will step up enforcement of mandatory seat belt laws over a two-week period beginning May 21. A grant of federal funding will help pay for the overtime that police officers accumulate.

As in the past, the campaign is called "Click It or Ticket." The timing is meant to cover the Memorial Day weekend and the beginning of summer vacation, which are periods when traffic on the highways is heavier than usual.
Authorities estimate that 69 percent of Arkansans regularly use seat belts. Nationwide the average is 81 percent. In Arkansas the driver, passengers in the front seat and children under 15 must wear them. 
Failure to use a seat belt is not a primary offense in Arkansas. That means an officer cannot pull over a driver merely on the suspicion he isn't wearing a seat belt. Officers can issue a ticket for failure to wear a belt only after stopping the driver for other traffic violations. During the 2007 regular session, legislation failed to pass that would have made it a primary offense to not wear a seat belt.
In a majority of fatal traffic accidents in Arkansas, the victim was not wearing seat belts. According to officials, 76 percent of the people killed at night and 61 percent of the people killed in the daytime in 2005 were not using a seat belt.
