State Capitol Week in Review
September 14, 2007
LITTLE ROCK - In order to get a more accurate picture of how much Arkansas public schools spend on athletics and other extra-curricular activities, the state Board of Education last week adopted new rules on financial reporting.
Act 255 of 2007 requires schools to report direct and indirect spending on athletics, such as the proportion of salaries paid for coaching. In many districts coaches also teach academic classes. The portion of their salary that is paid for their classroom work is not included in athletic expenditures.

The acts require schools to report how much they spend on maintenance of facilities related to athletic teams. Travel and equipment expenses must be listed as well.

The goal is to have a transparent accounting of athletic expenses. One Board member voiced confusion about coaches' salaries in Little Rock and North Little Rock being reported at almost the same amounts, although Little Rock is twice as big. Clearer accounting should eliminate the confusion.
Act 255 directs legislative auditors to conduct a review every year of the athletic spending of 20 percent of Arkansas schools. That means every school's athletic expenditures will be audited at least once every five years. The purpose is to ensure compliance with Act 255.

Spending on athletics, band, spirit groups and other extra-curricular activities is just one category of expenses being closely monitored by the state.
Act 61 of the special session of 2003-2004 requires school boards to submit their annual budgets to the Education Department by September 1 of every year. The state may withhold state aid if the local boards fail to make timely reports. 
Budgets and accounting reports must comply with uniform standards. Separate categories that must be reported include expenditures for instruction, administration, extra-curricular activities and capital projects. 
The legislature and the state Education Department are mindful that the state was released on this year from Supreme Court jurisdiction in a school funding case that lasted 15 years.

Warning of Medicare Fraud

The state Attorney General's office announced that senior citizens can leave Medicare Advantage plans if they enrolled because of misleading or incorrect information provided by the companies selling the plans. Deceptive salesmen target seniors trying to select a Medicare prescription drug plan or a Medicare Advantage plan.

Beneficiaries may call Medicare at 800-633-4227 to see if they qualify to leave a deceptive plan. The Attorney General's Consumer Protection staff will also help people who have been deceived into buying a plan that doesn't really suit their needs. 
Some plans are not accepted by all health providers. Some seniors are led to believe they can always switch back to conventional Medicare any time they choose, when actually they cannot.
Before agreeing to purchase a Medicare Plan, senior citizens should contact their Area Agency on Aging or the Arkansas Insurance Department, which has a Seniors Health Insurance Information Program.
