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LITTLE ROCK - The state Attorney General's office announced the closing of 14 businesses that loaned money in violation of the usury limits in the state Constitution.
The attorney general had filed lawsuits against businesses and individuals that offered "instant cash rebates." The attorney general alleged that the rebates actually were illegal payday loans.

In settling the lawsuits, the businesses not only had to close but also had to make restitution of about $800,000 to the Arkansas residents who were victimized. The businesses also agreed to pay $200,000 in legal fees to the attorney general's office, although the attorney general said his office would only get its share after restitution had been fully paid to consumers.
Also, the businesses will cease trying to collect any outstanding loans, thus they essentially will forgive about $4.5 million in outstanding loan balances. 
The businesses disguised the usurious loan system as an Internet offer. Customers who signed up for Internet accounts were given instant "rebates" of $100. The customers then paid $120 a month for Internet access. Legitimate Internet connections cost a fraction of that amount.
The businesses were in Conway, Crossett, El Dorado, Jonesboro, Little Rock, Magnolia, Pine Bluff, Texarkana and West Memphis. Customers who believe they are due restitution can contact the attorney general.

Amendment 60 to the state Constitution limits interest rates to 17 percent a year. Arkansas voters passed it in 1982 by a margin of 442,000 to 302,000.
Payday lending in Arkansas has prompted controversy in the legislature and litigation in the courts. Industry spokesmen say that payday loans often are the only ones available to people with a bad credit history. Opponents say the terms of a typical payday loan violate the Constitution, and trap borrowers in a virtually endless cycle of high interest debt.
The Arkansas Supreme Court is considering a case of the greatest importance to the payday loan industry. It comes out of Pulaski County and it challenges the fees charged by payday lenders, alleging they violate the Constitution's usury limit.
Rules of the Road

Arkansans will do a lot of traveling over the holidays, so it's a good time for a refresher course on traffic laws. One of our newest traffic laws is Act 364 of 2007, which requires motorists to indicate with turn signals before they change lanes. Many drivers already do so, as a matter of safety and common sense. Now it's state law.
Act 1412 applies particularly on interstates and four-lane highways. It requires motorists to move over when passing a law enforcement vehicle or an emergency response vehicle with its lights flashing. 

The safe distance from the car in front of you will depend on how fast you're driving. The State Police recommends the "two second rule," which works at any speed.

When the vehicle in front of you passes a stationary object, such as a pole or a sign, begin counting the seconds until your vehicle reaches the same point. Count "one thousand one, one thousand two." If you reach the stationary object before you count to "one thousand two," then you're following too closely and you should drop back.
