Agencies | Online Services | Policies | Transparency.Arkansas.gov
Arkansas State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors
Home
License Renewal
Roster Search
Calendar
Forms and Information
Arkansas Statutes
Rules & Regulations
Continuing Education
Rules and Regulations
Arkansas State Board of Embalmers & Funeral Directors
Rule V Qualifications of Applicants for Examination
(1) Any person desiring to Practice the Science of Embalming in the State of Arkansas must be a graduate of a recognized School of Mortuary Science accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education, or this Board.
(2)

Any person desiring to engage in the Business of Funeral Directing within the state of Arkansas must be a graduate of an accredited high school. A Certificate of Equivalency issued by the Public School System or the Military Service may be accepted in lieu of a high school diploma.

(3) Any person desiring to practice Embalming or desiring to engage in the Business of Funeral Directing must be of good moral character and must be at least eighteen (18) years of age.
(4) Application for examination and licensure, as either an Embalmer or Funeral Director, must be made in writing, upon forms provided by the Board. Each application must be accompanied by two (2) sworn certificates from responsible persons attesting to the moral character and reputation of the applicant.
(5) All applications for examination and licensure must be sworn to by the applicant before some person authorized by law to administer oaths, and must be accompanied by the application fee of one hundred ($100.00) dollars for Embalmer examinations and one hundred ($100.00) dollars for Funeral Director examinations. Each application must be accompanied by two (2) sworn certificates from responsible persons attesting to the moral character and reputation of the applicant.
Rule VI Apprenticeship
(1) Any person desiring to engage in the Science of Embalming in this state shall, in addition to graduating from a College of Mortuary Science (Embalming) recognized by this Board, serve an apprenticeship of one (1) year in the State of Arkansas under an Embalmer licensed by this Board, and shall assist in the preparation of at least fifty (50) bodies. This apprenticeship shall be registered with the Board, on applications provided by the Board, and individual case reports must be signed by both the apprentice and the Licensed Embalmer under whose supervision the work was done, and filed with the board by the 10th day of the following month. This apprenticeship may be served before or after attending Mortuary School, except when receiving the State Assistance Grant to attend Mortuary School, then the apprenticeship must be served prior to attending Mortuary School.
(2) Any person desiring to engage in the Business of Funeral Directing in this state, shall service an apprenticeship of two (2) years in this state under a Funeral Director licensed by this Board, and shall actively assist in the conducting of fifty (50) funerals. Notice of said apprenticeship shall be recorded with the Secretary of the Board, and by the Licensed Funeral Director supervising the apprenticeship, not later than thirty (30) days after commencement of said apprenticeship. If any person is a graduate of an accredited Embalming or Funeral Directing School, and has passed both written and oral examinations given by the Board, that person shall be required to serve only one (1) year as an Apprentice Funeral Director.
(3) All Funeral Director and/or Embalmer case reports must be filed in the Board Inspector's office by the 10th of the month following the month in which work was actually performed.
(4) Any person who is registered as an Apprentice Embalmer and/or Funeral Director in the State of Arkansas, is required to complete this apprenticeship with three (3) years of the date of registration. If not completed within three (3)years, the apprentice may re-register for a second three (3) years. If the apprenticeship is not completed within six (6) years of the date of original registration, he or she shall not be eligible to register as an apprentice for twenty-four (24) months. After this twenty-four (24) month period, a person may register as an apprentice and begin the process from the beginning, including case reports.
(5) All Funeral Director Apprentices shall perform the following duties, and register the required number of services with the Board, during his/her term of apprenticeship:
(a) Ten (10) Services - Either make the arrangements or observe the arrangements being made with the family, including the selection of merchandise.
(b) Five (5) Services - Make the church set-up and organize how family and friends are to be directed.
(c) Ten (10) Services - Direct family, or assist in doing so, at the funeral and cemetery service, and dismiss family and friends at the conclusion of the service.
(d) Five (5) Services - Be in charge of the movement of the casket and instruct the pallbearers.
(e) Five (5) Services - Organize the funeral procession, and determine where and how parking is to be done, either chapel or church, or any other place.
(f) Five (5) Services - Arrange flowers.
(g) Five (5) Services - Direct movement of people when viewing remains, at either chapel, church or any other place.
(h) Five (5) Services - Organize "Order of Service" with minister and musicians.
(6) All applicants for registration, as a Student Embalmer and Student Funeral Director, must be a graduate of an accredited high school or hold a Certificate of Equivalency.

< Back | Next >

Home | License Renewal | Roster Search | Calendar | Forms
Statutes | Rules & Regulations | Continuing Education