Arkansas State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors
Board Meeting

MINUTES
Monday, July 8, 2013, 1:00PM
101 East Capitol, Little Rock, AR
Conference Room C

President James Terry Woodard called the meeting to order. Members present were: Vice President Bobby
Thurman, Jerry Adams, Patricia Roberts, Bobby Burns and newest Board Member Ben Brazzel. Board
members absent were: Mary Ann Allen. Staff that were present: Amy Goode, Executive Secretary, Boyd Heath,
Inspector, and Kat Hodge, Board Counsel.

1. Introduction of the Board and welcome to Ben Brazzel
2. License Reinstatements

a. Thomas Taylor — Executive Secretary explained that Mr. Taylor had not had a current license since
1996; Mr. Taylor would be required to retake the exam and pay the late penalty fees of $920.00.
Taylor had moved out of state and had let them go delinquent, because at the time he had no
plans to return to Arkansas. He received an opportunity to move back after all these years and
would like to get his funeral director and embalmer license reinstated. Motion made by Burns to
allow Mr. Taylor to reinstate his licenses after passing of the AR LRR exam, and then payment of
required fees his licenses will be reinstated. Seconded by Roberts, all in favor. Motion carried.

b. Aaron Johnson — Mr. Woodard introduced the Board to Mr. Johnson since he had just arrived. Mr.
Johnson explained he had let them lapse by negligence on his part; he had left the state to attend
seminary school. He also had failed to do his continuing education. He has recently returned to
the state and would like seek employment with his license. He is currently pastoring a church in
Pine Bluff. Motion made by Brazzel to allow Mr. Johnson to reinstate his funeral directors license;
after passing the AR LRR exam and payment of $460 dollars Mr. Johnson would be reinstated.
Seconded by Adams, all in favor. Motion carried.

3. Proposed Rule Changes

The Board worked on and discussed the proposed rule changes. Executive Secretary explained that she
had provided a copy of the proposed changes the office has compiled. The Board discussed changing the display
room requirement; however those are statutory changes that cannot be made until next session. The Board
discussed adding background checks, which will result in a fee to be added.

The Board discussed checking with the Conference concerning the Model Endorsement Act to determine if
the states have adopted a similar rule concerning reciprocity and/or out of state licensing from state to state. The
Board is considering adding to the Rule VIII that a person reciprocating be required to hold a license a minimum
number of years in good standing, prior to being allowed to reciprocate.

The Board will need to make legislative changes concerning the Lifetime license requirements. To strike the
language of retired, since many Lifetime license holders continue to practice and are not actually retired.



The Board will also need to change law in the next session concerning the tuition assistance funding starting
in Statute 17-29-601. The Board also had discussion of changing Statute 17-39-301, 17-29-302, and 17-29-303
concerning the elimination of the oral interview/exam.

The Board staff and attorney will work on clarifying the Apprenticeship Rule V. Also they will create a
definition concerning the electronic administering of the ARLRR exam.

The Board had lots of discussion concerning the length of time that it takes an Embalmer apprentice to get
licensed in Arkansas. The associates in funeral science in Arkansas is a two year degree, so if an apprentice attends
school prior to serving their apprenticeship; then the it can take them three (3) years to get their license.

The Board determined that licensees that request reinstatement that are in arrears for a period three years
or longer, must apply for reinstatement by paying a fee and on an application provided by the Board.

4. Adjournment
a. Motion by Thurman to adjourn, seconded by Burns, all in favor. Motion carried.



