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DEFINITIONS

5. AUTHORIZING AGENT(S) An authorlzmg agent(s) isa person legally
entitled to erde
of kin-of-the deeeased control the dlsposmon of the remains of a deceased person, as
defined bv Act 402 of 2009 Ln—the—absenee—et—a—next—ef—km—an—eFder—fFem—a—eeewt—ef

serve-as-the-authorizing-agent. In the case of |nd|V|duaIs who have donated thelr bodles

to science, and in which the institution is charged with making arrangements for the final
disposition of the deceased, a representative of the institution, if legally authorized, may

serve as the authorlzmg agent +f—the—deeeased—has—authen%ed—the+eewn—emmatlen—by—a

CASH ADVANCE or CASH ACCOMODATIONS. Monies paid to outside parties
by the funeral director or the funeral service firm on behalf of the arrangers-authorizing
agent.

RULE IV

TYPE A-FULL SERVICE

(1) Renewal of all funeral establishment licenses Type A must be made on or before
January-31" December 31 of each year and must be accompanied by the annual renewal
fee of one hundred and fifty ($150.00) dollars.

(2) Licenses not renewed by January- December 31% of any year shall be----

TYPE B-MORTUARY SERVICE

(c) (1) Renewal of all mortuary service firm licenses must be made on or before Jaruary
31* December 31%.of each year and must be accompanied by the annual renewal fee of
one hundred and fifty ($150.00).

(c)(2) Licenses must-berenewed-on-or-before not renewed-by Jandary December 31----

TYPE C-CREMATORY
(A) 8. All crematory licenses issued by the Board shall expire on December 31% of each

year. and-must-be-renewed-on-or-before-January-31™ following the-date-of expiration-



Renewal license fees, as established by the Board, must accompany each original and
renewal application.

9. Licenses must be renewed on or before AH-Renewals received-afterJanuary are
due-by December 31° of each year. are-considered-delinguent. Licenses not renewed by

December 31 shall be considered delinguent and may be grounds for disciplinary action.

E-DISPOSTION OF CREMATED REMAINS
2. The authorizing agent is responsible for the disposition of the cremated remains. If
after a period of skxty{60)} ninety (90) days from the date of cremation, the----

H-PRE NEED CREMATION ARRANGEMENTS

2. a. Any person, on a pre need basis, may authorize their own cremation and disposition
of their cremated remains, on a pre need cremation authorization which is executed in
accordance with the provision of the Arkansas Final Disposition Rights Act, which
requires the signature of the person/declarant and is witnessed by two (2) individuals.
The person shall have the option of designating the crematory authority. A copy of this
form shall be retained by the person/declarant and a copy sent to the crematory authority,
if designated. Any person/declarant shall have the right to transfer or cancel this
authorization at any time prior to their death by providing written notice to all applicable
parties.

c. The provision of this section shall only be applicable if the cremation authorization is
executed in accordance with The Arkansas Final Disposition Rights Act of 2009. If not,
inconflictwith-the-wishes-ef the-next-of kin-of the-deceased- the next of kin of the
deceased shall have the right to choose another form of final disposition, other than
cremation, at the time of the person’s death, unless such change is in conflict with current
Arkansas law.

TYPE D-TRANSPORT SERVICE

E. Transport service firm licenses and renewal licenses shall be issued under this section
upon application, receipt of proof of required insurance, and after approval of the Board.
All licenses expire on December 31% of each year. ane-must-be-renewed-by-January-31

1. An application fee shall accompany each application for licensure or
renewal.

2. Renewal of all transport service firm licenses must be made on or
before January-31™ December 31% of each year and must be accompanied by the annual
renewal fee.

3. Licenses not renewed by January-31™ December 31% of any year shall
be considered delinquent and may be grounds for disciplinary action by the Board.

RULE V APPRENTICESHIP

1. Any person desiring to apprenticeship in the science of embalming in this state
shall be 18 years of age, have graduated from an accredited high school or been issued a
certificate of equivalency issued by the public school system or the military service, or an
accredited college or university,------




6..Any person desiring to apprentice in the business of funeral directing and or
embalming with more than one firm, may do so by completing the applicable
apprenticeship form(s) and statement of apprenticeship form and reqgister with the Board
office. There are no additional fees for adding an additional location.

7. Any person registered as an apprentice who desires to add additional
licensees/ supervisors, may do so by having those licensees send a signed, notarized
statement to the Board office indicating their willingness to serve as a SUpervisor.

8. Any person registered as an apprentice who desires to leave a registered
location for a new location, must register the new location with the Board before starting
that apprenticeship.

RULE IX LICENSE RENEWALS AND REINSTATEMENTS

1. (@) All embalmer and funeral director licenses issued by this Board shall expire
on December 31% of each year, and must be renewed on or before-January-31*following
the-date-of expiration- December 31,

(b) All establishment licenses expire on December 31% of each year, and must

be renewed on or before January December 31. foHowing-the-date-of-expirations:
2. All renewals received after January-December 31 of each year-------

RULE XI | DISCLOSURE

Add new section:

4. Every funeral firm and/or funeral director or embalmer in the state of Arkansas shall
comply with these and all other requirements of the Federal Trade Commission (FTC)

RULE XIV FUNERAL SERVICE PRACTICES

1. Authorization shall be obtained from the arranger{s) authorizing agent ....
who will be responsible for the post death arrangements before removal of any body from
the place of death, provided, however that removal may be made without authorization
where human dignity or the avoidance of a public nuisance requires. Such removal
without authorization shall be made only pending required authorization from the
arranger(s) authorizing agent when it can be obtained. If the funeral firm, to whose
establishment the body was removed, is not the one subsequently selected to provide the
immediate post death activities, such firm shall release the body to the firm or individual
selected by the arranger(s) authorizing agent; provided however, that if the initial
removal was at the request of a public official or the arranrger{s)} authorizing agent, who
later decided to employ another firm, cost incurred in the removal, shelter and temporary
care of the body shall be paid by such public officials or the arranger{s) authorizing
agent. However, such payment shall not be a prerequisite to release of the body.

2. When a funeral establishment has proper custody of a body, its personnel shall
not proceed with any of the actual embalming procedures, when there is any indication
that embalming is not desired; provided however, that washing and other public health
procedures such as the closing of the orifices by placing cotton soaked in a disinfectant in
such orifices until such authorization is received or refused, shall not be precluded; and
further provided, that if authorization cannot be obtained or denied, from the arranger(s)
authorizing agent within a reasonable time, then preparation of the remains by the normal




and usual method of embalming, for purpose of preservation an viewing, will be assumed
to be granted.

3. The personnel of a funeral establishment whose services are desired shall make
every reasonable attempt to fulfill the needs and desires of the deceased and /or the
arranger(s)authorizing agent, both as to service and merchandise, and a full disclosure of
all its available services and merchandise shall be made to the arranger{s)}-authorizing
agent prior to selection of the casket and services.

9.When death occurs in a place other than where the funeral or other services or
final disposition are to take place, and the service of two funeral firms are necessary, the
funeral firm engaged at the place of death shall charge only for the professional services
facilities and merchandise provided, and a representative thereof shall so notify the
funeral firm to which the body will be forwarded. The receiving funeral firm shall charge
only for professional services, facilities and merchandise provided by it. There shall be a
duplication of charges by the forwarding and receiving funeral firms only when there is a
duplication of professional services, facilities or merchandise pursuant to the request of

the arranger(s) authorizing agent.

CONTINUING EDUCATION

DEFINITIONS
C. Dual license qualifications

Every licensee holding beth-a Funeral Director and/or Embalmers license who
desires to be actively engaged in the practice of either or both arts shall submit with the
annual renewal apphication form evidence of satisfactory completion of a program of
continuing education required by the Board. A total of eight(8)-six (6) hours is required.

I1 CONTINUNG EDUCATION (LICENSE REQUIREMENTS AN
EXEMPTIONS)

B. Except as provided is subsection (f), each licensee residing and working in the
state of Arkansas shall report {8} (6) hours of continuing education approved by the
Board. Compliance with this continuing education shall be required for a license
renewal.

E. No more than four {4} 3 hours continuing education hours can be carried over
from one licensing year to the next.

F Contlnumg educatlon requwements fe#mdrwldaalsrnewlyheensed—by

Walved the flrst year of Ilcensure

H. DELETE section.

111 CONTINUING EDUCATION SEMINARS
B. Credit Hours Explained
(1) Except as may be allowed by the Board, a licensee shall not receive credit
Exceeding two hours for the annual total required hours for,
() televisionprograms, funeral merchandise and or funeral product
programs or tours,
(b) duplicate programs taken within the previous two (2) years.




D. Sponsorship of Seminars
(@) Submit to the Board no less than sixty(606} thirty (30) days------- .

E. Board Sponsored Seminars

1. The Board may guarterly supply each licensee with a written st
prowde an onllne Ilst of accepted wdee—auére—tele—ee##emrees—emmn%eeﬂege—aﬂé

V. RENEWALS

Prior to December 31, 4997-and each December thereafter, each licensee shall
report at least 8-eight 6 six hours....... Any hours above the eight(8} six (6) hours
requirements--------



