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20-17-706.  Cost of embalming and transportation.

  (a) If the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences determines that there is a need for the body,
that the body is suitable for anatomical science or study, and that the body has not been embalmed,
then the university, at its expense, shall immediately arrange for proper embalmment of the body by
a licensed embalmer, either with the person having possession, charge, or control thereof if the
person is a licensed embalmer or licensed funeral director or with any other licensed embalmer or
licensed funeral director.

(b) If the body has been embalmed prior to the claim of the University of Arkansas for Medical
Sciences, as is customary, or the body is embalmed by its direction according to the provisions of this
subchapter, the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences shall pay twenty-five dollars ($25.00) as
a reimbursement of embalming expenses and shall assume costs for transportation of the body when
shipment is at its direction.

(c) Should the body be embalmed prior to legal claim, any person or organization asserting legal
claim to the body within forty-eight (48) hours after death as provided in this subchapter shall
assume responsibility for at least twenty-five dollars ($25.00) of the cost thereof, together with
reasonable costs for transportation of the body which may have been incurred.

(d) If the deceased had provided for the use of his or her body for medical science under the
Arkansas Anatomical Gift Act, § 20-17-601 et seq., and provided funds in his or her estate for burial,
the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences shall be free of all claims for the expenses as
ordinarily provided under subsections (a)-(c) of this section.

HISTORY: Acts 1959, No. 22, §§ 3, 14; A.S.A. 1947, §§ 82-405.1, 82-405.6; Acts 1993, No. 403, §
13.


