DIS | Department of Information Systems

DIS Leaders, K-12 Broadband Upgrade Receive Top 50 Awards

LITTLE ROCK-Executive leaders from the Arkansas Department of Information Systems (DIS) and the project to upgrade the Arkansas Public School Computer Network (APSCN) to high-speed broadband were recognized with top awards from StateScoop, a government information technology media company in Washington D.C., Tuesday, April 23, in Crystal City, Virginia. The state received a total of seven nominations in several award categories.

DIS Director Yessica Jones was selected from a field of 31 state chief information officers (CIOs) and governors in StateScoop’s annual 50 Awards for a 2017 Golden Gov: State Executive of the Year award. DIS Chief State Security Officer Frank Andrews was chosen as a winner from among 15 other nominees in the 2017 StateScoop 50 State Cybersecurity Leader category. The K-12 APSCN broadband upgrade project won an award in the Innovation of the Year category.

Arkansas nominees in the State Leadership category were Nancy Jauernig, DIS customer relations administrator and Shelby Johnson, geographic information officer for the Arkansas Geographic Information Systems Office. Bob Sanders of INA was nominated in the Industry Leadership category. Sanders and Johnson also received nominations in their respective categories in 2016. The mobile app Gov2Go, developed by the Information Network of Arkansas (INA), was also nominated in the Innovation of the Year category. It won the award in 2016.

StateScoop engages top leaders from across government, academia and the tech industry to discuss ways technology can improve government, and to exchange best practices and identify ways to achieve common goals.

StateScoop is a division of Scoop News Group publisher of FedScoop and EdScoop, and producer of numerous public sector IT events, including FedTalks, which draw top leaders from the White House, federal agencies, distinguished members of Congress, and from industry.

For more information visit http://statescoop.com/