DIS | Department of Information Systems

Myers Elected to Executive Committee of National Association for State Government Information Technology Executives and Managers

Arkansas Department of Information Systems (DIS) Director Mark Myers was elected to serve as a director on the executive committee of the National Association of State Chief Information Officers (NASCIO). Myers was elected during NASCIO’s annual conference, Sept. 18-21, in Orlando, Florida.

“I am honored for the opportunity to serve alongside an esteemed group of chief information officers from across the nation to help advance NASCIO’s mission of fostering government excellence,” Myers said.

Myers was elected to a two-year term. The NASCIO Executive Committee is responsible for strategic planning, establishing membership policy, dues and approving the annual budget and business work plan of the association. The committee also establishes committees, receives recommendations and reports from various committees and monitors the performance of the association.

NASCIO represents state chief information officers and information technology executives and managers from the states, territories, and the District of Columbia. The primary state members are senior officials from state government who have executive-level and statewide responsibility for information technology leadership. NASCIO provides products and services designed to support the challenging role of the state CIO, stimulate the exchange of information and promote the adoption of IT best practices and innovations.

Myers has served as DIS director since 2015. He is also the state appointed chief technology officer, chairperson of the Arkansas State Technology Council and chairperson of the Technology Oversight Council. He is also the designated state broadband manager. Myers is a member of the Open Data and Transparency Task Force. He serves on the Arkansas Homeland Security Executive Committee, Arkansas Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Board, Information Network of Arkansas (INA) Board, and Arkansas Interoperable Communications Executive Committee.

In 2016, Myers was the recipient of a StateScoop 50 Golden Gov: State Executive of the Year award.