
A Message to Arkansas Taxpayers

It is easier and more convenient this year for taxpayers to check the status of their 
income tax refunds.  Taxpayers may check the status of their refunds directly over the 
internet by Automated Refund Inquiry.   Your refund status information may be found 
by accessing our web site at www.arkansas.gov/dfa/  and selecting “Income Tax Re-
fund Inquiry”. You may also check the status of your refund by touch tone telephone.  
You can access the Tele-fi le system by calling 501-682-0200 (Pulaski County) or 
1-800-438-1992 (statewide).  The refund information on these sites is updated each 
day, and is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  Both sites are simple to use and 
taxpayers will receive a much faster response than when calling our help line.  

This booklet includes a Table of Contents which has not been available in previous 
years.  We hope that you will use this feature and it will assist you in fi nding the infor-
mation you need to fi le your 2006 Arkansas Individual Income Tax Return.

Other reminders for fi ling 2006 returns:
 

 Your state return is due on April 15, 2007 the same as your federal return.  

 Arkansas has not adopted federal income tax laws that were recently enacted 
by the federal Tax Increase Prevention and Reconciliation Act of 2005 and the 
Pension Protection Act of 2006

 This booklet contains an Arkansas Use Tax form for taxpayers to report and pay 
Arkansas Use tax on out of state purchases (eg. Purchases made from catalogs, 
the Internet, or by phone) where no Arkansas sales tax has been collected. 

 Arkansas continues to be one of the more successful states for electronic fi ling.  
Last year over 52% of all Arkansas returns were fi led electronically.  You can e-
fi le from home using tax preparation software accessed through our web site, or 
your tax preparer may fi le your return electronically.  Arkansas is now a member 
of the Free E-File Alliance which allows many qualifying Arkansas taxpayers to 
fi le free over the Internet.  Visit our web site at: www.arkansas.gov/dfa/ for ad-
ditional information about all available e-fi le opportunities.

   
For your convenience, the Arkansas Voter Registration Application is included in this 
booklet. This form can be used for new voter registrations or to update current reg-
istration information. If needed, complete the form and send it to the Secretary of 
State’s offi ce. Please do not mail your Voter Registration Application to the Revenue 
Division or enclose it with your tax return.

We appreciate your suggestions and constructive criticism. We want to provide you 
the best service possible. Please mail your suggestions and comments to: Manager, 
Individual Income Tax Section, P.O. Box 3628, Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-3628. 
Thank you.

Sincerely,
 Important Addresses for additional information and assistance:
 Internet:  www.arkansas.gov /dfa/
 E-mail: individual.income@rev.state.ar.us 
Tim Leathers
Commissioner of Revenue

397207
State of Arkansas
State Income Tax
P. O. Box 1000
Little Rock, AR 72203-1000
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 Phone
 
Automated refund inquiry ........................................ (501) 682-0200 
 or (800) 438-1992

Individual Income Tax Hotline ................................. (501) 682-1100
 or (800) 882-9275

By calling the automated refund lines, 24 hours a day, 7 days a 
week taxpayers may access general information about fi ling.

Representatives are available to assist callers at the numbers 
above during normal business hours (Monday through Friday - 
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.) for:

 � Taxpayer Assistance � Refunds
 � Forms � Amended Returns
 � Audit and Examination � Delinquent Income Taxes

(For Hearing Impaired Access call (501) 682-4795 using a 
Text Telephone Device.)

Other Useful Phone Numbers:
  Estimated Tax ................................. (501) 682-7272
  Withholding Tax .............................. (501) 682-7290
  Corporate Income Tax .................... (501) 682-4775
  Sales and Use Tax .......................... (501) 682-7104

  Internal Revenue Service ............... (800) 829-1040

 Walk-In
 
Representatives are available to assist walk-in taxpayers 
with income tax questions, but will not be available to pre-
pare your return.

No appointment is necessary, but plan to arrive before 4:00 
p.m. to allow suffi cient time for assistance.

The Individual Income Tax Offi ce is located in Room 2300, 
Ledbetter Building, at 1816 W. 7th St. in Little Rock.

Offi ce hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 
4:30 p.m.

Forms
To obtain forms you may:

 � Access our website at:
   www.arkansas.gov/dfa

 � Call the Individual Income Tax Hotline
  (see “phone”)

 � Obtain them at county revenue offi ces

 � Write to:
   Arkansas State Income Tax Forms
   P.O. 3628
   Little Rock, AR 72203-3628

QUICK AND EASY ACCESS TO TAX HELP AND FORMS

 Internet
 
You can access the Department of Finance and Administration’s 
website 24 hours a day 7 days a week, at:
 
 www.arkansas.gov/dfa

 � Check the status of your refund

 � Download current and prior year forms and
  instructions

 � Access latest Income Tax news and archived news

 � Get E-File information

You can e-mail questions to:

  individual.income@rev.state.ar.us

� � Mail
 
Choose the appropriate address below to mail your return:

 TAX DUE RETURN:
  Arkansas State Income Tax
  P.O. Box 2144
  Little Rock, AR 72203-2144

 REFUND RETURN:
  Arkansas State Income Tax
  P.O. Box 1000
  Little Rock, AR 72203-1000

 NO TAX DUE RETURN:
  Arkansas State Income Tax
  P.O. Box 8026
  Little Rock, AR 72203-8026

Be sure to apply sufficient postage or your return will not be 
delivered by the Postal Service.

� �
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ELECTRONIC FILING
Last year over 612,000 taxpayers used an electronic fi ling option to fi le their Arkansas Individual Income 
Tax Returns.  Electronic Filing allows you to fi le your Arkansas tax return with a tax professional, or fi le 
your own tax return using a personal computer.

 
 FEDERAL/STATE ELECTRONIC FILING

The State of Arkansas participates in the Federal/State Electronic Filing Program for Individual 
Income Tax.  The benefi ts of Electronic Filing are:

• Simultaneous Federal/State fi ling   Both your Federal and State of Arkansas Income 
Tax Returns are fi led electronically in one trans-
mission. 

• Processing If you fi le a complete and accurate return, your 
refund will be issued within ten (10) days after 
you receive your state acknowledg-
ment.

• Accuracy Computer programs catch 98% of tax return errors 
before your return is received and accepted.

• Acknowledgment The State of Arkansas notifi es your transmitter 
within two (2) days if your return has been re-
ceived and accepted.   
 

This program is available to full-year residents, certain qualifying nonresidents, and part-year 
residents fi ling a 2006 Arkansas Individual Income Tax Return.  However, fi lers claiming busi-
ness and incentive tax credits are not eligible to fi le electronically.  Electronic Filing is available 
whether you prepare your own return or use a preparer.  In addition to tax preparers, other fi rms 
are approved to offer electronic fi ling services.  Check with your tax preparer or electronic fi ling 
service to see if they are participating in the Federal/State program.

 
 ON-LINE FILING

Over 86,700 taxpayers took advantage of On-Line Filing last year. The same advantages are 
obtained by On-Line Filing as by Electronic Filing, but it does not require a preparer. For a 
nominal fee your federal and state returns can be prepared and fi led electronically.
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FOR TAXPAYERS’ INFORMATION
Individual and Corporation Income Taxes Are The Largest Source of State General Revenue.

$5,141 MILLION GENERAL REVENUE TAX
Where It Comes From:

$5,141 MILLION GENERAL REVENUE TAX
Where It Is Spent:

Sales/Use 
$2,087.2

41%

Other
$26.4

1%

Income Taxes 
$2,734.5

52%

Insurance Taxes 
$92.2

2%

Misc/Alcohol/
Tobacco
$200.7

4%

Aid to Cities
and Counties

$47.2
1%

Criminal Justice/Military 
$355.0

7%

General Government 
$181.9

4%

Health & Human 
Services
$909.5
18%

Central Services
$169.7

3%

Reserve Fund
$384.5

7%
Refunds to Taxpayers 

$372.0
7%

Public Education 
$2,721.2

53%
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SPECIAL INFORMATION FOR 2006
Due Date April 15, 2007 

If April 15 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return will be con-
sidered timely fi led if it is postmarked on the next succeeding business day 
which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. 

This year April 15 falls on a Sunday; therefore, the return is not due until the 
next business day which is April 16.  

Personal Tax Credit Increased Pursuant to Act 1819 of 
2001

Act 1819 of 2001 authorizes the indexing of the personal tax credit if certain 
budget requirements are met. The requirements have been met; therefore, 
the personal tax credit has been increased to $22. 

Health Savings Accounts Adopted and MSAs Extended 
(Act 94 of 2005)

This act adopts specifi c subdivisions of IRC §223 as in effect January 1, 2005, 
concerning Health Savings Accounts.  Health Savings Accounts are exempt 
from Arkansas income tax if the account meets the requirements of §223. The 
act amends the defi nition of “gross income” to exclude from the employee’s 
gross income, contributions by an employer to a Health Savings Account.

The act also adopts the following IRC sections as in effect on January 1, 
2005:

1.  §129 (exclusion from income of dependent care assistance),
2.  §§72, 219, 401-404, 406-416, and 457 (deductibility from income of
 contributions made to deferred compensation plans) and
3.  §220 (deductibility from income of contributions made to a Medical
 Savings Account by the taxpayer or the taxpayer’s employer.)

This act is effective on February 10, 2005 and applies to tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2004.

Certain Contributions to Deferred Tuition Savings Plan 
Allowed as Deduction (Act 1973 of 2005)

This act allows a deduction from the taxpayer’s adjusted gross income for 
contributions to a tuition savings account established under the Arkansas Tax-
Deferred Tuition Savings Program. Deductible contributions cannot exceed 
$5,000 per taxpayer per tax year.

This act is effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2005.

Withholding from Payments of Deferred Income Required 
(Act 1309 of 2005)

This act adopts IRC §3405, with certain modifi cations, to require withholding 
from certain periodic and lump sum payments of deferred income.  For state 
purposes, withholding from non-periodic payments is 3%.  Withholding from 
rollover distributions is 5%.

For additional information see the Withholding Branch’s website at:
 www.arkansas.gov/dfa/income_tax/tax_wh_forms.html

This act applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2006.

Federal Acts not adopted by the State of Arkansas

Katrina Emergency Tax Relief Act of 2005
Gulf Opportunity Zone Act of 2005
Tax Increase Prevention and Reconciliation Act of 2005
Energy Tax Incentives Act of 2005
Heroes Earned Retirement Opportunities Act 
Pension Protection Act of 2006

Income Tax Technical Corrections Act (Act 675 of 
2005)

This act amends Arkansas Code to adopt changes to the Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC).  The act adopts or readopts the following IRC Sections:  

1. Readopts IRC §2(b) regarding the defi nition of Head of Household;  
2. Readopts IRC §1033 relating to the exclusion of gain from the involuntary 

conversion of a taxpayer’s property;  
3. Readopts IRC §121 relating to the gain on the sale of property owned 

and used as a taxpayer’s principal residence;  
4. Readopts IRC §129 regarding the exclusion from income for dependent 

care assistance;  
5. Adopts IRC §134 regarding the exclusion from income of child care 

benefi ts provided to members of the United States military;  
6. Readopts Subchapter S of the Internal Revenue Code regarding small 

business corporations;  
7. Readopts IRC §§453, 453A, and 453B regarding the installment method 

of accounting;
8. Readopts IRC §§72, 219, 401-404, 406-416, and 457 relating to annui-

ties, retirement savings and employee benefi t plans;  
9. Readopts IRC §162 regarding trade or business expenses;  
10. Readopts IRC §170 regarding deductions for charitable contributions;
11. Readopts IRC §274 regarding the deductions of expenses for entertain-

ment, amusement, recreation, business meals, travel, et cetera;  
12. Readopts IRC §198 regarding the deduction of costs paid or incurred for 

the cleanup of certain hazardous substances;  
13. Adopts IRC §194 regarding the amortization of qualifi ed reforestation 

expenses;
14. Readopts IRC §§611-613, 613A, 614, 616, and 617 regarding computing 

the depletion allowance deduction for natural resources;  
15. Adopts IRC § 470 regarding leasing transactions between taxpayers;  
16. Readopts IRC § 248 regarding capitalization and amortization of a 

corporation’s organizational expenses;  
17. Adopts IRC §709 regarding amortization of a partnership’s organizational 

expenses;
18. Readopts IRC §530 relating to educational Individual Retirement Ac-

counts;  
19. Readopts IRC §152 regarding the defi nition of Dependent;  
20. Readopts IRC §21 for the purpose of determining the allowable credit 

for household and dependent care services;  
21. Readopts IRC §2(a) regarding the defi nition of Head of Household and 

Qualifying Widow or Widower with a dependent child.  

This act applies to tax years beginning January 1, 2005 and after.

Rice Straw Credit Established (Act 2247 of 2005)

This act allows an income tax credit in the amount of $15 for each ton of rice 
straw in excess of 500 tons that is purchased by an Arkansas taxpayer who 
is the end user of the straw (person who purchases and uses the straw for 
processing, manufacturing, generating energy or producing ethanol).  The 
credit is limited to 50% of the income tax due for the tax year.  Unused credit 
may be carried forward for 10 consecutive tax years following the year in 
which the credit is earned.  

This act is effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2006. 
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MILITARY PERSONNEL

Treatment of Combat Pay Clarifi ed (Act 29 of 2005):

This act adopts Sections 112 and 692 of the Internal Revenue Code as in effect on January 1, 2005 to clarify that combat 
zone compensation is exempt from Arkansas individual income tax and that the income of a member of the armed forces 
is exempt in the year of the person’s death.

This act applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2005.

The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act of 2003: 

Section 510 - Income taxes 

(a) Deferral of Tax - Upon notice to the Internal Revenue Service or the tax authority of a state or a political subdivi-
sion of a state, the collection of income tax on the income of a servicemember falling due before or during military service 
shall be deferred for a period not more than 180 days after termination of or release from military service, if a service 
member’s ability to pay such income tax is materially affected by military service. 

(b) Accrual of Interest or Penalty - No interest or penalty shall accrue for the period of deferment by reason of 
nonpayment on any amount of tax deferred under this section.

(c) Statute of Limitations - The running of a statute of limitations against the collection of tax deferred under this 
section, by seizure or otherwise, shall be suspended for the period of military service of the servicemember and for an 
additional period of 270 days thereafter.

Section 511 - Residence for tax purposes 

(a) Residence or Domicile - A servicemember shall neither lose nor acquire a residence or domicile for purposes 
of taxation with respect to the person, personal property, or income of the servicemember by reason of being absent or 
present in any tax jurisdiction of the United States solely in compliance with military orders. 

(b) Military Service Compensation - Compensation of a servicemember for military service shall not be deemed 
to be income for services performed or from sources within a tax jurisdiction of the United States if the servicemember is 
not a resident or domiciliary of the jurisdiction in which the servicemember is serving in compliance with military orders.

(d) Increase of Tax Liability - A tax jurisdiction may not use the military compensation of a nonresident service-
member to increase the tax liability imposed on other income earned by the nonresident servicemember or spouse.

The Military Family Tax Relief Act of 2003:

The provisions of this act which include the sale of your principle residence, deduction for overnight travel expenses of 
National Guard and Reserve members, and exclusion from income of certain benefi ts, must be adopted by the Arkansas 
Legislature before they become effective.

Reminders:

For military personnel stationed in Arkansas with Home of Record other than Arkansas:  DO NOT include your military 
wages on your Arkansas return.  Your military income is reported to your state of residency (HOR) only and not used in 
the calculation of your Arkansas tax liability.  Your non-military wages, if any, must be included on Line 8.

U.S. Military retirement DOES NOT qualify as U.S. Military Enlisted or U.S. Military Offi cer’s compensation, and IS 
NOT eligible for the $6,000 or the $9,000 military exemption on Lines 9A or 9B.  U.S. Military retirement is eligible for 
the $6,000 retirement exclusion and should be listed on Lines 19A and/or 19B.  
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

You may get additional information on the following topics 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by 
accessing our website at:

 www.arkansas.gov/dfa/income_tax/tax_individual_faqs.html

TOPICS 

FILING REQUIREMENTS
 Who must fi le
 Which form - AR1000, AR1000NR, AR1000S
 When, where and how to fi le
 Which fi ling status
 Dependents defi ned
 Estimated tax
 Amended returns

INCOME DEFINITIONS
 Wages, salaries 
 Interest received
 Dividends received
 Alimony received
 Business income
 Capital gains and losses
 Pensions and annuities
 Farming and fi shery income
 Gambling income and expenses
 Nontaxable income
 Earnings of clergy

ADJUSTMENTS TO INCOME
 Individual Retirement Accounts [IRA(s)]
 Alimony paid
 Border city exemption (Texarkana - AR and TX)
 Permanently disabled individual
 Health Savings Accounts and 
  Archer Medical Savings Accounts
 Intergenerational trusts
 Moving expenses
 Interest paid on student loans
 
ITEMIZED DEDUCTIONS
 Should you itemize
 Medical and dental expenses
 Taxes
 Contributions
 Interest expenses
 Casualty losses
 Miscellaneous expenses
 Limitation if AGI over certain amount
 Post Secondary Tuition Deduction

TOPICS 

TAX COMPUTATION 
 Choosing the correct table
 Standard deduction
 Capital Gains Tax
 Tax credits, general
 Child care credit
 Other state tax credit
 Business and incentive credits
 Adoption credit
 Political contributions credit

GENERAL INFORMATION
 Refunds - how long to wait
 How to request copies of tax returns
 Extensions of time to fi le
  Penalty for underpayment of estimated tax
 W-2 form - what to do if not received
 Estate tax

NOTICES AND LETTERS
 Taxpayer Bill of Rights
 Billing procedures
 Penalty and interest charges
 Collection procedures

NONRESIDENT - PART-YEAR RESIDENT
 Which return to use
 How to compute tax
 How to apportion tax liability

ELECTRONIC FILING
 Electronic fi ling program
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 MARITAL FILING  GROSS
 STATUS STATUS AGE* INCOME

 Single Single under 65 $7,800
 (Including divorced
 and legally separated)  65 or over $9,300

  Head of under 65 $12,100  
  Household 65 or over $13,000 

 Married Married fi ling under 65   
  joint (both spouses) $15,500

   65 or over
   (one spouse) $15,600
   
   65 or over
   (both spouses) $16,200

  Married fi ling any age $3,999
  separately, same
  or different returns   
   
 Widowed in 2004 Qualifying under 65 $15,500
 or 2005, not Widow(er) with
 remarried in 2006  dependent child 65 or over $16,000
   
 *If you turned 65 on January 1, 2007, you are considered to be age 65 at the end of 2006.

 If your gross income was less than the amount shown in the last column for your fi ling status, you  
are not required to fi le a return. However, you must fi le a return to claim any refund 
due.

INSTRUCTIONS
THESE INSTRUCTIONS ARE FOR GUIDANCE ONLY AND DO NOT STATE THE COMPLETE LAW

A.  WHO MUST FILE A TAX RETURN

1.  IF YOU WERE A FULL YEAR RESIDENT OF ARKANSAS FOR 2006, USE THE CHART BELOW 
TO DETERMINE IF YOU MUST FILE A RETURN:

Find your marital status at the end of 2006, then read across to fi nd your fi ling status and age at the 
end of 2006. You must fi le a return if your gross income was at least the amount shown in the last 
column. Gross income means any and all income, before deductions, that you received, except 
the kinds of income specifi cally described in Section I (see Page 11).

2. IF YOU WERE A NONRESIDENT and you 
received income from Arkansas sources, you 
must fi le an Arkansas Tax Return AR1000NR 
regardless of your income level.  See Section 
H for additional information.  Attach a copy 
of your Federal return.

3. IF YOU WERE A PART-YEAR RESIDENT 
and you received taxable income while an 
Arkansas resident, you must fi le an Arkansas 
tax return AR1000NR regardless of income 
level or source of income. See Section H for 
additional information.  Attach a copy of 
your Federal return.

4. IF YOU ARE THE EXECUTOR OR ADMIN-
ISTRATOR OF THE ESTATE OF SOMEONE 
WHO DIED IN 2006, you must fi le a individual 
tax return for that person if any of the condi-
tions listed below apply between January 1st 
and the time of death:

 (a) The person was SINGLE (under age 65) and 
earned a gross income of $7,800 or more.

 
 (b) The person was SINGLE (age 65 or over) and 

earned a gross income of $9,300 or more.

 (c) The person was MARRIED (both under 
age 65) with combined gross income of 
$15,500 or more.

 (d) The person was MARRIED (one under 
age 65) with combined gross income of 
$15,600 or more.

 (e) The person was MARRIED (both age 65 
or over) with combined gross income of 
$16,200 or more. 

B. WHEN TO FILE YOUR TAX
 RETURN

1. You can fi le your Calendar Year Tax Return 
any time after December 31, 2006, but NO 
LATER THAN APRIL 15, 2007, (unless an 
extension has been granted).

2. If you fi le a Fiscal Year Tax Return, your return 
is due NO LATER THAN three and one-
half (3 ½) months following the close 
of the income year.

NOTE: The date of the postmark stamped 
by the U.S. Postal Service is the 
date you fi led your return.

3. If the due date of your return falls on a Satur-
day, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return shall 
be considered timely fi led if it is postmarked on 
the next business day which is not a Saturday, 
Sunday, or legal holiday.

4. Statute of Limitations – Refunds.  An amended 
return or verifi ed claim for refund of an over-
payment of any state tax for which the tax-
payer is required to fi le a return must be fi led 
by the taxpayer within three (3) years from the 
time the return was fi led or two (2) years from 
the time the tax was paid, whichever is later.

C. IF YOU NEED MORE TIME
 TO FILE

If you request an extension of time to fi le your 
Federal income tax return (by fi ling Federal Form 
4868 with the IRS) you are entitled to receive the 
same extension on your Arkansas income tax 
return.  In order to receive the extension for state 
purposes, when you fi le your return check the box 
on the face of the Arkansas return indicating you 
fi led a federal extension.

The Department no longer requires that a copy of 
Federal Form 4868 be attached to  your state tax 
return as long as the box is checked on the front 
of the return.  

The federal automatic extension extends the dead-
line to fi le until October 15th.  When the return is 
complete and ready to fi le, simply check the box 
on the face of the return.

NOTE: If the box on the front of the AR1000 is 
not checked, you will not receive credit 
for your federal extension.

If you do not fi le a Federal Extension, you can fi le an 
Arkansas extension using Form AR1055 before the 
fi ling due date of April 15th. Send your request to:
 
 Individual Income Tax Section 
 ATTN: Extension 
 P.O. Box 3628
  Little Rock, AR 72203-3628
 
NOTE: The maximum extension that will be 

granted on an AR1055 is one hundred 
and twenty (120) days, extending the 
due date until August 15th.

Attach a copy of your approved AR1055 extension 
to the face of your tax return WHEN YOU FILE.  
IF YOU DO NOT ATTACH YOUR EXTENSION, 
YOUR RETURN WILL BE CONSIDERED DELIN-
QUENT AND PENALTIES WILL BE ASSESSED.  

Payments made on extension should be 
made on Form AR1000ES, Voucher 5.

Inability to pay is not a valid reason to 
request an Arkansas Extension.
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Interest will be assessed if any tax due 
is not paid by April 15, 2007. 

Failure To Pay Penalty will be due on any 
unpaid balance if at least ninety percent 
(90%) of the tax due is not paid by April 
15, 2007

D. PENALTIES & INTEREST

1. If you owe additional tax, you must mail your 
tax return by April 15, 2007.  Any return not 
postmarked by April 15, 2007 (unless you 
have a valid extension) will be considered 
delinquent.  A penalty of one percent (1%) per 
month for failure to pay and fi ve percent (5%) 
per month for failure to fi le, with a maximum of 
thirty-fi ve percent (35%), will be assessed on 
the amount of tax due.  Interest of ten percent 
(10%) per year will also be assessed on any 
additional tax due, calculated from the original 
due date to the date you paid the tax due. 

 An extension to fi le is not an exten-
sion to pay. If you have not paid the amount 
due by the original due date you will be subject 
to a failure to pay penalty of 1% per month of 
the unpaid balance.

2. In addition to any penalty assessed, a penalty 
of $500 will be assessed, if any taxpayer fi les 
what purports to be a return, but the return 
does not contain information on which the 
correctness of the return may be judged, and 
such conduct is due to a position which is 
frivolous or an effort to delay or impede the 
administration of any State law.

3. If you owe additional tax in excess of $1,000, 
penalty for failure to make a declaration of 
Estimated Tax and pay on any quarterly due 
date the equivalent of ninety (90%) of the 
amount actually due, or an amount equal to 
or greater than the tax liability of the preced-
ing income tax year, a penalty of ten percent 
(10%) will be assessed.  

 Use the Arkansas Underpayment of Estimated 
Tax Form AR2210 to compute the underpay-
ment penalty or to claim an exception for 
failure to fi le a declaration of estimated tax for 
the income year. If you claim any exception, 
you must complete Part III of the AR2210 and 
write the exception number in the box on Line 
55A of the AR1000/AR1000NR. Attach the 
AR2210 to your return.

E. DEATH OF TAXPAYER OR
 DEPENDENT

An Arkansas return should be fi led for a taxpayer 
for the year in which the death occurred, regardless 
of the date of death.  Write the word “DECEASED” 
after the decedent’s name and the date of death.

A surviving spouse may fi le on the same return 
with the deceased spouse for the year of death 
if the survivor does not remarry before the end of 
that year.

If the decedent qualifi ed as your dependent for 
the part of the year before death, you may claim 
the full amount of tax credit for the dependent on 
your tax return, regardless of when death occurred 
during the year.

In each of the above circumstances you do not 
have to attach a copy of the death certifi cate to 
the return.

F. CREDIT FOR TAXES PAID TO
 ANOTHER STATE

Arkansas residents are required to report and pay 
taxes on all of their taxable income.  This includes 
the taxable portion of foreign income as well as in-
come from other states.  If you are required to report 
a part of your income to another state, you may take 
credit for the income tax portion of your out-of-state 
tax liability on Line 38 of  AR1000.  Nonresidents 
are not entitled to this credit.

Part-year residents will not be allowed this credit 
unless they continue to have taxable income 
from another state and the other state income is 
included as taxable income in Column C of the 
AR1000NR.

G. DEVELOPMENTALLY DISABLED
 INDIVIDUAL

To claim a credit for a developmentally disabled 
individual you must fi le a certifi ed AR1000RC5 
every fi ve (5) years. If credit was received on a prior 
year’s return, do not fi le another AR1000RC5 until 
the Individual Income Tax Section notifi es you.

If tax year 2006 is the fi rst year you claim the De-
velopmentally Disabled Individual Credit, you must 
attach the AR1000RC5 to your 2006 return.

H. DEFINITIONS

1. DOMICILE

This is the place you intend to have as your per-
manent home and the place you intend to return 
to whenever you are away.  You can have only 
one domicile.  Your domicile does not change until 
you move to a new location which you intend to 
make your permanent home.  If you move to a new 
location but intend to stay there only for a limited 
time (no matter how long), your domicile does not 
change.  This also applies if you are work-
ing in a foreign country.

2. FULL YEAR RESIDENT

You are a full year resident if you lived in Arkansas 
all of tax year 2006, or if you have maintained a 
domicile or Home of Record in Arkansas during 
the tax year.

3. NONRESIDENT

You are a nonresident if you did not make your 
domicile (home) in Arkansas.  A nonresident re-
ceiving income from Arkansas sources must fi le 
an Arkansas Tax Return AR1000NR regardless of 
income amount.

4. PART-YEAR RESIDENT

Any person who established a domicile (home) 
in Arkansas or moved out of the State during the 
calendar year of 2006 is considered to be a part-
year resident.

NONRESIDENTS OR PART-YEAR RESI-
DENTS MUST FILE FORM AR1000NR AND 
ATTACH A COPY OF THEIR FEDERAL 
RETURN.

5. MILITARY PERSONNEL

If Arkansas is your Home of Record (HOR) and you 
are stationed outside the State of Arkansas, you are 
still required to fi le an AR1000 reporting all of your 
income, including U.S. Military Compensation.

If you are stationed in Arkansas and your Home 
of Record is another state, Arkansas does not tax 
your U.S. Military Compensation.  

U.S. Military Compensation includes wages re-
ceived from the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine 
Corps, Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserve 
Units, and the U.S. Public Health Service.

Arkansas does tax income from Arkansas sources 
received by you or your spouse while you are 
stationed in Arkansas, including pay from non-ap-
propriated funds; (i.e., exchange, clubs, commis-
sary, etc).  This Arkansas income must be listed in 
Column C of Form AR1000NR and taxed based 
upon your Arkansas percentage of your total tax 
liability.

6. DEPENDENT  

You may claim as a dependent any person who 
received over half of his or her support from you, 
and earned less than $3,300 in gross income, 
and was your:

Child Stepchild Mother
Father Grandparent Brother
Sister Grandchild Stepbrother
Stepsister Stepmother Stepfather
Mother-In-Law Father-In-Law Brother-In-Law
Sister-In-Law Son-In-Law Daughter-In-Law

Or, if related by blood: Uncle, Aunt, Nephew, Niece 

Or, an individual (other than your spouse) who, 
for the taxable year of the taxpayer, had the same 
principal place of abode as the taxpayer and was 
a member of the taxpayer’s household.

The term “dependent” includes a foster child if the 
child had as his principle place of abode the home 
of the taxpayer and was a member of the taxpayer’s 
household for the taxpayer’s entire tax year.

The term “dependent” does not apply to anyone 
who is a citizen or subject of a foreign country 
UNLESS that person is a resident of Mexico or 
Canada.

If your child/stepchild was under age 19 at the end 
of the year, the $3,300 gross income limitation does 
not apply.  Your child/stepchild may have earned 
any amount of income and still be your dependent 
if the other dependency requirements in this sec-
tion were met.
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If you received this booklet in the mail and there 
is a colored peel off label inside, place the colored 
label in the identifi cation block of the tax return only 
if it is correct.  If it is not correct or you do not have 
a label, enter name, address and Social Security 
Number(s) for you and your spouse.  You MUST 
enter your Social Security Number(s) on 
your return in the space provided, or your 
return cannot be processed and will be 
returned to you. 

NOTE: If you are married, fi ling on the same 
form, and using different last names, 
separate the last names by using a 
slash.

 EXAMPLE: 
 John Q. and Mary M. Doe/Smith, or
 Mary M. and John Q. Smith/Doe

 Be sure the placement of the last name 
matches placement of the fi rst name. 
(You must be legally married to fi le in 
this manner.)

FILING STATUS
DETERMINE YOUR FILING STATUS

                                           

BOX 1. Filing Status 1 (Single)

Check this box if you are SINGLE or UNMARRIED 
and DO NOT qualify as HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD.  
(Read the instructions for BOX 3 to determine if you 
qualify for HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD.)  Check the 
boxes on LINE 7A that describe you.

                                           

BOX 2. Filing Status 2 (Married Filing  
 Joint)

Check this box if you were MARRIED and are fi ling 
jointly.  IF YOU ARE FILING A JOINT RETURN, 
YOU MUST ADD BOTH SPOUSES’ INCOME 
TOGETHER.  Enter the total amount in column A 
on Lines 8 through 23 under “Your/Joint Income”.  
Check the boxes on Line 7A that describe 
you and your spouse.

MARRIED COUPLES READING THIS MAY 
SAVE MONEY.

If you and your spouse had separate incomes, you 
might save money by fi guring your tax separately 
using one of the following two methods.  Use the 
method that suits you best.

METHOD A. List your income separately under 
Column A (“Your Income”). List your 
spouse’s income separately under 
Column B (“Spouse’s Income”). Fig-
ure your tax separately and then add 
your taxes together. See instruc-
tions for Married Filing Separately 
on the Same Return, Box 4.

If you use Method A, your result will be either a COM-
BINED REFUND or a COMBINED TAX DUE.

METHOD B. File separate individual tax returns.  
See instructions for Married Filing 
Separately on Different Returns, 
Box 5.

If your child/stepchild was a student under age 24 
at the end of the calendar year, the $3,300 gross 
income limitation does not apply.  The other require-
ments in this section still must be met.

To qualify as a student, your child/stepchild must 
have been a full-time student for fi ve (5) months 
during the calendar year at a qualifi ed school, as 
defi ned by the Internal Revenue Service.

For death of a dependent during the tax year, refer 
to Section E for instructions.

Arkansas has adopted Internal Revenue Code 
§151(c)(6) regarding the tax treatment of kid-
napped children.

I. GROSS INCOME

Gross income is any and all income (before de-
ductions) that you received, except the kinds of 
income specifi cally described below.

1. Money you received from a life insurance 
policy because of the death of the person who 
was insured is exempt from tax.

NOTE: You must include as taxable income any 
interest payments made to you from the 
insurer (the insurance company that is-
sued the policy).

2. Money you received from life insurance, an en-
dowment, or a private annuity contract for which 
you paid the premiums is allowed cost recovery 
pursuant to Internal Revenue Code §72.    

3. Amounts you received as child support pay-
ments are exempt.

4. Gifts, inheritances, bequests, or devises are 
exempt from tax.

5. Scholarships, grants, and fellowships are 
taxed pursuant to Internal Revenue Code 
§117.  Stipends are taxed in their entirety.  
For additional information on scholarships, 
fellowships, and stipends see instructions for 
Line 22.

6. Interest you received from direct United States 
obligations, its possessions, the State of 
Arkansas, or any political subdivision of the 
State of Arkansas is exempt from tax.  Obli-
gations include bonds and other evidence of 
debt issued pursuant to a government unit’s 
borrowing power.  (Interest received on tax 
refunds is not exempt income, because it did 
not result from a debt issued by the United 
States, the State of Arkansas, or any political 
subdivision of the State of Arkansas.)  Interest 
from government securities paid to individuals 
through a mutual fund is exempt from tax.

7. Social Security benefi ts, VA benefi ts, Workers’ 
Compensation, Unemployment Compensa-
tion, Railroad Retirement benefi ts and related 
supplemental benefi ts are exempt from tax.

8. The rental value of a home or the housing 
allowance paid to a duly ordained or licensed 
minister of a recognized church is exempt to 
the extent that it was used to rent or provide a 
home.  The rental value of a home furnished 
to a minister includes utilities furnished to the 

minister as part of compensation.  The hous-
ing allowance paid to a minister includes an 
allowance for utilities paid to the minister as 
part of compensation to the extent it is to be 
used to furnish utilities in the home.

9. Disability Income may be exempt from tax 
pursuant to Internal Revenue Code §104. 

J. INCOME EXEMPT FROM TAX

NOTE: List exempt income on AR4, 
Part III and include the total on 
AR1000, Line 56.

1. The fi rst $9,000 of U.S. Military En-
listed Compensation is exempt from 
tax. The fi rst $6,000 of U.S. Military 
Offi cer’s Compensation is exempt 
from tax.

 
2. If you received income from an employer 

sponsored retirement plan, including dis-
ability retirement, that is not exempt under 
IRC §104, the fi rst $6,000 is exempt from 
tax. For tax years 2003 and later, if 
you contributed after-tax dollars to your plan, 
you are allowed to recover your cost (invest-
ment) in your retirement plan in accordance 
with Internal Revenue Code §72, then the fi rst 
$6,000 of the balance is exempt from tax.  If 
you received income from military retirement, 
you may adjust your fi gures if the payment 
includes Survivor’s Benefi t Payments.  The 
amount of adjustment must be listed on the 
income statement, and supporting documen-
tation must be submitted with the return.  

3. If you received an IRA distribution after reach-
ing the age of fi fty-nine and one-half (59 1/2), 
the fi rst $6,000 is exempt from tax. Your IRA 
distribution may be adjusted for nondeduct-
ible IRA contributions, if any, by completing 
Federal Form 8606 and attaching it to your 
Arkansas return. Premature distributions 
made on account of the participant’s death 
or disability also qualify for the exemption.  
All other premature distributions or early 
withdrawals including, but not limited to, those 
taken for medical expenses, higher education 
expenses or a fi rst-time home purchase do 
not qualify for the exemption. 

A surviving spouse qualifi es for the exemption; how-
ever he/she is limited to a single $6,000 exemption.

NOTE: The total exemptions from all plans 
described under 2 and 3 cannot exceed 
$6,000 per taxpayer, not including recov-
ery of cost.

K. HOW TO COMPLETE YOUR
 ARKANSAS RETURN

Residents of Arkansas must complete Form 
AR1000.  Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents 
must to complete Form AR1000NR.  The follow-
ing instructions will apply to both returns unless a 
specifi c designation is made.

STAPLE all required W-2s, 1099s, schedules, and 
explanations to your return.  Use only BLUE or 
BLACK INK or TYPE.
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If you use Method B, one of you may owe tax and 
the other may get a refund.  The tax due must be 
paid with the proper tax return and the refund will be 
due on the other return.  YOU MAY NOT OFFSET 
ONE AGAINST THE OTHER.

                                           

BOX 3. Filing Status 3 (Head of House- 
 hold)

To fi le as Head of Household you must have been 
unmarried or legally separated on December 31, 
2006 and meet either 1 or 2 below.  The term “Un-
married” includes certain married persons who live 
apart, as discussed at the end of this section.

1. You paid over half the cost of keeping a home 
for the entire year that was the main home of 
your parent whom you can claim as a depen-
dent.  Your parent did not have to live with you 
in your home. 

 
 OR

2.  You paid over half the cost of keeping a home 
in which you lived, and in which one of the fol-
lowing also lived, for more than six (6) months 
of the year (temporary absences, such as 
vacation or school, are counted as time lived 
in the home):

 a.  Your unmarried child, grandchild, great-
grandchild, adopted child or stepchild.  
This child did not have to be your depen-
dent, but your foster child had to be your 
dependent.

 
 b.  Your married child, grandchild, adopted 

child or stepchild.  This child had to be 
your dependent.

 c. Any other relative whom you could claim 
as a dependent.

Check the box on Line 3 and the two (2) or 
more boxes on Line 7A that describe you.

MARRIED PERSONS WHO LIVED APART

Even if you were not divorced or legally separated 
in 2006, you may be considered unmarried and 
fi le as Head of Household.  See Internal Revenue 
Service instructions for Head of Household to 
determine if you qualify.

                                           

BOX 4. Filing Status 4 (Married Filing  
 Separately on the Same Return)

Check this box if you were Married and are fi ling 
SEPARATELY ON THE SAME TAX RETURN. This 
method of tax computation may reduce your tax 
liability if both spouses had income. The result will 
be either a combined refund or a combined tax due.  
Check the boxes on Line 7A that describe 
you and your spouse.

IF ONE SPOUSE HAD A TOTAL NEGATIVE 
INCOME, YOU MUST FILE, MARRIED FILING 
JOINTLY.

                                           

BOX 5. Filing Status 5 (Married Filing  
 Separately on Different Returns)

Check this box if you were married and are fi ling 
separate tax returns.  Check the box or boxes 
that describe only you on Line 7A.

                                           

BOX 6.  Filing Status 6 [Qualifying 
 Widow(er)]

Check this box if you are a QUALIFYING 
WIDOW(ER).  Check the box or boxes that 
describe you on Line 7A.

You are eligible to file as a QUALIFYING 
WIDOW(ER) if your spouse died in 2004 or 2005 
and you meet each of the following tests:

1. You were entitled to fi le MARRIED FILING 
JOINTLY or MARRIED FILING SEPARATELY 
ON THE SAME RETURN with your spouse for 
the year your spouse died.  It does not matter 
whether you actually fi led a joint return.

2. You did not remarry before the end of the tax 
year.

3. You had a child, stepchild, adopted child, or 
foster child who qualifi ed as your dependent 
for the year.

4. You paid more than half the cost of keeping 
a home, which was the main home of that 
child for the entire year except for temporary 
absences.

                                           

PERSONAL TAX
CREDITS

THE PERSONAL TAX CREDITS HAVE 
INCREASED FROM $21 to $22 FOR TAX 
YEARS BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2006.

                                           

LINE 7A.  You can claim additional Personal Tax 
Credits if you can answer “Yes” to any of these 
questions:

 On January 1, 2007, were you age 65 or over?
 On December 31, 2006, were you deaf?
 On December 31, 2006, were you blind?

Check the box or boxes that apply to you and/or 
your spouse.  You CANNOT claim any of these 
credits for your children or dependents.

Blindness is defi ned as being unable to tell light 
from darkness, having eyesight in the better eye 
not exceeding 20/200 with corrective lens, or having 
a fi eld of vision limited to an angle of 20 degrees.  
You can claim the Deaf Credit only if the average 
loss in speech frequencies (500 to 2000 Hertz) in 
the better ear is 86 decibels, I.S.O., or worse.

Any taxpayer age 65 and over not claiming a retire-
ment income exemption on Line 19 is eligible for 
an additional $22 (per taxpayer) tax credit.  Check 
the box(es) marked “65 Special”.

Add the number of boxes you checked on Line 7A.  
Write the total in the box provided.  Multiply the num-
ber by $22 and write amount in space provided.

                                           

LINE 7B.  List the name(s) of your dependent(s) 
in the space provided.  DO NOT INCLUDE YOUR-
SELF AND/OR YOUR SPOUSE.  The individual(s) 
you can claim as dependent(s) are described in 
Section H, Number 6, of these instructions.

Add the number of boxes you checked on Line 
7B.  Write the total in the box provided.  Multiply 
the number by $22 and write that amount in the 
space provided.

                                           

LINE 7C.  If one or more of your dependents were 
developmentally disabled individuals, enter how 
many in the box on Line 7C and multiply by $500.  
Enter the total in the space provided.  (See Section 
G of the instructions for additional information.)

                                           

LINE 7D.  Total the tax credits from Lines 7A, 
7B, and 7C.  Enter the total on this line and on 
Line 36.

THE FOLLOWING LINE-BY-LINE INSTRUC-
TIONS REFER TO BOTH THE AR1000 
FULL YEAR RESIDENT FORM AND THE 
AR1000NR NONRESIDENT/PART-YEAR 
RESIDENT FORM.

If your fi ling status is Married Filing Separately on 
the Same Return, both Column (A) and Column 
(B) will be used.  Write your income in Column (A) 
and your Spouse’s income in Column (B).  For all 
other fi ling statuses, write your income in Column 
(A) only.

NONRESIDENTS AND PART-YEAR RESIDENTS 
MUST USE THE AR1000NR.  ATTACH A COPY 
OF YOUR FEDERAL RETURN, OR YOUR 
ARKANSAS RETURN WILL NOT BE PRO-
CESSED.
 
Complete Column (A) and Column (B) of the 
AR1000NR the same as full year residents listed 
above.  You must list all of your income as if you 
were a full year resident.  List all of your income 
from all sources for the entire year in these two 
columns.

List in Column (C) the total combined income for 
both spouses earned while Arkansas residents 
and/or income derived from Arkansas sources.

Use all three columns to calculate the amount of Ar-
kansas tax liability. The total tax must be computed 
on the income totals in Columns (A) and (B).  After 
all allowable tax credits have been subtracted from 
the total tax, prorate the remaining balance.  See 
instructions for Lines 44A, 44B, 44C, and 44D.

                                           

INCOME
Round all amounts to the nearest dollar.  
(For example, if your W-2 Form shows $10,897.50, 
round to $10,898.  If your W-2 Form shows 
$10,897.49, round to $10,897.)

Staple the state copy of each of your W-
2(s) and 1099-R(s) to the front left margin 
of the return.
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The gain on the sale of your personal residence 
is exempt up to $250,000 per taxpayer ($500,000 
for married couples fi ling on the same return).  
The property must, during the 5 year period end-
ing on the day of sale, be owned and used by the 
taxpayer(s) as the principal residence for periods 
aggregating 2 years or more.

                                           

LINE 17.  Enter the ordinary gain or (loss) from 
Part II of Federal Form 4797. Adjust for any 
basis difference due to differences in 
Arkansas and federal depreciation. The 
$3,000 capital loss limit does not apply.

                                           

LINE 18.  Use this line to report taxable lump-
sum distributions, annuities, and regular IRA 
distributions. Include early withdrawal of IRA 
distributions on this line. List only the amount 
of withdrawal and attach the Federal Schedule 
5329 showing the tax on premature distribution.  
Also, enter ten percent (10%) of the tax from the 
Federal Schedule 5329, Part I and Part II, on Line 
34. If you received a distribution which does not 
qualify for the Lump-Sum Distribution Averaging 
Schedule (AR1000TD), list the total distribution 
received in 2006. (See AR1000TD to determine 
if you qualify to use the averaging method.) At-
tach 1099-R(s).

Premature distributions are amounts you withdrew 
from your IRA, deferred compensation, or thrift 
savings plans before you were either age 59 ½ 
or disabled.  Rollovers of premature distributions 
are tax exempt.

                                           

McFadden Claimants Only: If a claim was 
fi led on your behalf under McFadden v. Weiss, 
your Arkansas basis (cost of contributions) in 
your retirement plan has changed.  If you had 
zero (0) basis in your retirement after your McFad-
den Adjustment, then for Arkansas tax purposes 
your taxable amount will be the same as your 
gross distribution regardless of what your 1099R 
reports. Deduct the $6,000 exemption from your 
gross distribution and include this amount on line 
19A or 19B.  Refer to the worksheet on 
page 21 to calculate the Arkansas basis 
in your retirement plan.

LINE 19A.  If you had income from an employ-
ment-related pension plan or a qualifi ed IRA dis-
tribution, enter the gross amount(s) from Box 1 of 
your 1099-R(s) in the space provided. Enter the 
federal taxable amount from Box 2a of your 1099-
R(s) in the space provided. If Box 2a is blank, use 
the Simplifi ed Method Worksheet in the Federal 
1040 Instruction Booklet to calculate the taxable 
amount of your distribution. You are entitled to a 
$6,000 exemption from the taxable amount; the 
balance is taxable to Arkansas. Enter the balance 
on Line 19A, Column A.  Attach 1099-R(s).

FILING STATUS 2 (Married Filing Joint) 
ONLY:  If you and your spouse both had income 
from a retirement plan and/or qualifi ed IRA distri-
bution, enter the combined gross income amount 
from Box 1 of your 1099-R(s). Enter the combined 
federal taxable amount from Box 2a of your 1099-
R(s). If Box 2a is blank, use the Simplifi ed Method 
Worksheet in the Federal 1040 Instruction Booklet 
to calculate the taxable amount of your distribu-
tion. Both you and your spouse are entitled to a 

LINE 8.  Add the wages, salaries, tips, etc. re-
ported on your W-2(s).  Enter the total on this line.  
Attach W-2(s).

Enter U. S. Military Compensation on Line 9 or 
Line 10.  Enter U.S. Military Retirement  
on Line 19.

                                           

LINE 9A.  If you had U.S. Military Offi cer’s 
Compensation, enter gross income in space 
provided.  You are entitled to a $6,000 ex-
emption from your gross income.  The balance 
is taxable.  Attach W-2(s).  

Filing Status 2 (Married Filing Joint):
If you and your spouse both had U.S. Military 
Compensation, enter your gross income in 
the appropriate space provided on Line 9A.  
You and your spouse are each entitled to an 
exemption from your respective gross incomes 
depending on whether the income is Offi cer’s 
pay or Enlisted pay. The balance is taxable.

                                           

LINE 9B.  (Filing Status 4 Only)  If your 
spouse had U.S. Military Offi cer’s Compensa-
tion, enter gross income in the space provided.  
Your spouse is entitled to a $6,000 exemp-
tion from his/her gross income.  The balance is 
taxable.  Attach W-2(s).

                                           

LINE 10A.  If you had U.S. Military Enlisted 
Compensation, enter gross income in the 
space provided.  You are entitled to a $9,000 
exemption from your gross income.  The balance 
is taxable.  Attach W-2(s). 

Filing Status 2 (Married Filing Joint):
If you and your spouse both had U.S. Military 
Compensation, enter your gross income 
in the appropriate space provided on Line 
10A.  You and your spouse are each entitled 
to an exemption from your respective gross 
incomes depending on whether the income 
is Offi cer’s pay or Enlisted pay. The balance 
is taxable.

                                           

LINE 10B.  (Filing Status 4 Only)  If your 
spouse had U.S. Military Enlisted Compensa-
tion, enter gross income in the space provided.  
Your spouse is entitled to a $9,000 exemp-
tion from his/her gross income.  The balance is 
taxable.  Attach W-2(s).

If you received enlisted pay and offi cer’s 
pay in the same year, prorate each ex-
emption by the number of days you re-
ceived each type of pay divided by total 
days of the year you received military 
pay. 

FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL STATIONED 
IN ARKANSAS WITH HOME OR RECORD 
OTHER THAN ARKANSAS:  DO NOT IN-
CLUDE YOUR MILITARY WAGES.  Your 
income is reported to your state of resi-
dency only and not used in the calcula-
tion of your Arkansas tax liability. 

Your non-military wages, if any, must be 
included on Line 8.

                                           

LINE 11.  If you are a duly ordained or licensed 
minister, you received a housing allowance from 
your church, and you do not fi le a Federal Schedule 
C or C-EZ, enter your gross compensation from 
the ministry less rental value of your home.  The 
balance is subject to tax.  Attach W-2(s) if not 
using Federal Schedule C or C-EZ.

                                           

LINE 12.  If you received interest from bank de-
posits, notes, mortgages, corporation bonds, sav-
ings and loan association deposits, and credit union 
deposits, enter all interest received or credited to 
your account during the year. If the total is over 
$1,500, complete and attach Form AR4.

                                           

LINE 13.  If you received dividends and other 
distributions, enter amounts received as dividends 
from stocks in any corporation.  If the total is over 
$1,500, complete and attach Form AR4.

                                           

LINE 14.  Enter alimony or separate maintenance 
received as the result of a court order.

                                           

LINE 15.  If you had business or professional 
income and fi led a Federal Schedule C or C-EZ, 
enter the total dollar amount(s) of net income (or 
loss) from your Federal Schedule C or C-EZ.  If you 
did not fi le a Federal Schedule C or C-EZ, submit 
a similar schedule and enter the net income (or 
loss).  Business income may not be split 
between you and your spouse unless a 
partnership is legally established.  Report 
Partnership Income on Form AR1050 and attach 
K-1(s) for each partner.  If you fi led a Federal 
Schedule C or C-EZ, attach it to your 
return.

Include on Line 22, Other Income, any 
depreciation adjustment resulting from 
Arkansas’ not adopting the bonus depreci-
ation and higher Section 179 expense pro-
visions of the Internal Revenue Code. 

                                           

LINE 16.  If you had gains or losses from the sale 
of real estate, stocks or bonds, or gains or losses 
from capital assets from Partnerships, S Corpora-
tions, or Fiduciaries, enter your taxable share. 
Adjust the amount of gain or loss for any 
federal/state depreciation differences.

If, after the netting process, you had a capital gain 
or loss reported on the Federal Schedule D or on 
Form 1040/1040A, use Arkansas Form AR1000D to 
determine the taxable amount to enter on AR1000/
AR1000NR, Line 16. Attach Federal Schedule 
D and Form AR1000D to your return.

The amount of capital loss that can be deducted 
after offsetting capital gains is limited to $3,000. 
If your capital loss was more than the yearly limit 
on capital loss deductions, you can carry over the 
unused part to later years until used up.
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NOTE: Taxpayers who claim this exemption 
must fi le using their street address in 
Texarkana, Arkansas or Texarkana, 
Texas.  If  you use a Post Offi ce 
Box, this exemption will not be 
allowed.

If you lived within the city limits of Texarkana, Arkan-
sas, you are allowed a full exemption from Arkansas 
income taxation.  Part-year Texarkana residents 
claim the exemption only on income earned while 
a resident of Texarkana, Arkansas.

If you lived within the city limits of Texarkana, Texas, 
you are allowed to deduct the income you earned 
in the city limits of Texarkana, Arkansas.  All other 
Arkansas income is taxable to you.

                                           

LINE 25. If you have other allowable adjustments, 
use Form AR1000ADJ and include the total on this 
line. Attach Form AR1000ADJ.

                                           

LINE 26. Add Lines 24 and 25 and enter total on 
this line. This is your Total Adjustments.

                                           

LINE 27.  Subtract the total on Line 26, Total 
Adjustments, from the total on Line 23, Total 
Income.  Enter balance on this line.  This is your 
Adjusted Gross Income (AGI).

                                           

TAX COMPUTATION
LINE 28.  Enter the amounts from Lines 27(A) 
and (B), page AR1/NR1 (Adjusted Gross Income) 
on this line.

                                           

LINE 29.  SELECT THE PROPER TAX TABLE 
and check the appropriate box. You will be in one 
of the following categories:

 1) You qualify for the Low Income Table, or
 2) You must use the Regular Tax Table

YOU QUALIFY FOR THE LOW INCOME 
TABLE IF you meet the requirements below 
and your Adjusted Gross Income falls within the 
following limits:

$0 - $11,400 Filing Status 1 - (Single)

$0 - $16,200 Filing Status 2 – (Married Filing 
Joint) or Filing Status 6 – (Quali-
fying Widow(er) with dependent 
child)

$0 - $16,200  Filing Status 3 – (Head of Household)

NOTE: Taxpayers fi ling Status 4 or 5 
MAY NOT use the Low Income 
Tax Table.

Part-year residents and nonresidents qualify to use 
the Low Income Tax Table if their income from all 
sources meets the Low Income Tax Table income 
requirements.

and radio contest winnings (cash or merchandise), 
and gambling winnings.  You must report reim-
bursement of medical expenses from a previous 
year, if you itemized deductions in that year and it 
reduced your tax.

Include amounts you recovered on bad debts that 
you deducted in an earlier year.

Include any depreciation adjustment that 
arises from Arkansas not adopting the 
bonus depreciation and higher Section 
179 expense provisions of the Internal 
Revenue Code. 

If you had a net operating loss (NOL) in an earlier 
year to carry forward to 2006, enter it as a nega-
tive amount on this line.  Attach a statement 
showing how you calculated the amount 
of loss and the year the loss occurred. 
A net operating loss may be carried forward for 
fi ve (5) years.

Scholarships, fellowships, and stipends: 

A scholarship or fellowship is exempt from tax 
only if: 
 
 1) You are a candidate for a degree at an 

educational institution, and 
 2) The grant is a qualifi ed scholarship or 

fellowship.

A qualified scholarship or fellowship is any 
amount you received as a scholarship or 
fellowship grant that was used under the terms 
of the grant for:
 
 1) Tuition and fees required for enrollment, or 
 2) Fees, books, supplies and equipment 

required for the course(s) at the educational 
institution. (These items must be required of 
all students in that course.)

Foreign students who are exempt from federal 
taxes because of a tax treaty must fi le and pay tax 
on all income including non qualifi ed scholarship 
or fellowship income.

Stipends are taxable.
                                           

LINE 23.  Add Lines 8 through 22 and enter total 
in the appropriate columns on this line.  This is your 
Total Income. 

                                           

ADJUSTMENTS
LINE 24.  To claim the Texarkana exemption, you 
must fi le a return and report all Arkansas income 
you received during the year. Enter the exempt 
income on Line 24. 

For W-2 income you must attach Form AR-TX 
supplied by your employer.

The Form AR-TX is not required for non 
wage income such as interest, dividends, 
Schedule C (sole proprietor), Schedule F (farm), 
Schedule E (rents, royalties, partnerships, etc.) or 
retirement. Additional information may be required 
for verifi cation if an adjustment for these types of 
income is allowed.  

$6,000 exemption from your respective taxable 
retirement plan income; the balance is taxable to 
Arkansas. Enter the balance on Line 19A. Attach 
1099-R(s).

                                           

LINE 19B.  FILING STATUS 4 (Married 
Filing Separately on the Same Return) 
ONLY:  If your spouse had income from an em-
ployment related pension plan or a qualifi ed IRA 
distribution, enter the gross income from Box 1 
of his or her 1099-R(s). Enter the federal taxable 
amount from Box 2a of his or her 1099-R(s). If Box 
2a is blank, use the Simplifi ed Method Worksheet 
in the Federal 1040 Instruction Booklet to calculate 
the taxable amount of his or her distribution. Your 
spouse is entitled to a $6,000 exemption from 
the taxable amount; the balance is taxable to Ar-
kansas. Enter the balance on Line 19B.  Attach 
1099-R(s).

You are eligible for the $6,000 exemption for retire-
ment or disability benefi ts provided the distribution 
was from public or private employment-related 
retirement systems, plans, or programs.  (The 
recipient need not be retired.)  The method 
of funding is irrelevant.  The exemption may be from 
either lump-sum or installment payments.  The early 
withdrawal penalty may be applicable even though 
the exemption is granted.

If you received an IRA distribution after reaching 
the age of fi fty-nine and one-half (59 1/2), the fi rst 
$6,000 is exempt from tax. Premature distribu-
tions made on account of the participant’s death 
or disability also qualify for the exemption. All 
other premature distributions or early withdraw-
als including, but not limited to, those taken for 
medical expenses, higher education expenses, 
or a fi rst-time home purchase do not qualify for 
the exemption.

Note: If you made nondeductible contributions to 
your IRA, enter taxable amount from Federal Form 
8606 in the space provided.  Attach Federal 
Form 8606 to your return.

                                           

LINE 20.  If you had income from rents, royal-
ties, estates or trusts, profi ts (whether received or 
not) from partnerships, fi duciaries, small business 
corporations, etc., enter the amounts as reported 
on your Federal Schedule E.  If you are fi ling a 
return for a taxable year that is not the same as 
the annual accounting period of your partnership 
or trust, report your distributive share(s) of net 
profi ts in the accounting period that ends in your 
taxable year.

Nonresident benefi ciaries pay tax only on Arkansas 
income.

                                           

LINE 21.  If you had farm income, enter the 
amount reported on your Federal Schedule F.  
Farm income may not be split between 
you and your spouse unless a partnership 
is legally established.  Partnership income 
must be reported on Form AR1050, with K-1(s) 
for each partner.

                                           

LINE 22.  Enter all taxable income for which no 
other place is provided on the return. Attach a 
statement explaining the source and amount of 
the income.  Examples are: prizes, awards, TV 
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If you use an exclusion for military compensation, 
employer sponsored pension income, or a quali-
fied IRA distribution, you do not qualify for the Low 
Income Tax Table.  You may elect NOT TO USE 
the exclusion(s) to which you are entitled and use 
the Low Income Tax Table if you fall within the 
income limits.

Caution: If you qualify to use the Low 
Income Tax Table, enter zero 
(0) on Line 29A. (The Standard 
Deduction is already built into 
the table.)  

YOU MUST USE THE REGULAR TABLE IF 
you do not qualify for the Low Income Tax Table. 
Enter the larger of your itemized deductions or your 
Standard Deduction on Line 29.

Itemized Deductions:

To compute your itemized deductions, complete 
Form AR3.  Make sure that your total itemized 
deductions exceed the Standard Deduction.

NOTE: If you are filing Status 4 or 5 and one 
spouse itemizes, then both spouses 
must itemize.

Standard Deduction.

To determine your Standard Deduction, find your 
filing status below:

Status 1: $2,000, or amount of 
(Single) AGI on Line 28 if less  
 than $2,000.

Status 2: $4,000, or amount of 
(Married Filing Joint) AGI on Line 28 if less  
 than $4,000.

Status 3: $2,000, or amount of 
(Head of Household) AGI on Line 28 if less  
 than $2,000. 

Status 4: $2,000 each or  
(Married Filing Separately amount of AGI on  
on Same Return) Line 28A and 28B  
 if  less than $2,000. 

Status 5: $2,000, or amount of 
(Married Filing Separately  AGI on Line 28 if less  
on Different Returns) than $2,000. 

Status 6: $2,000, or amount  
Qualifying Widow(er) of AGI on Line 28 if  
 less than $2,000.

NOTE: The $2,000 Standard Deduction does 
not apply to taxpayer’s dependent(s).
                                           

LINE 30.  Subtract Line 29 from Line 28.  This is 
your Net Taxable Income.

                                           

LINE 31. IF YOU QUALIFY FOR THE LOW 
INCOME TAX TABLE, find the amount of your 
income on the Low Income Tax Table.  Locate the 
tax on your income under the column that describes 
your filing status.  Enter the tax on Line 31, page 
AR2/NR2.

IF YOU DO NOT QUALIFY FOR THE LOW IN-
COME TAX TABLE, find the amount of your taxable 
income on the Regular Tax Table.  Enter the tax 
on Line 31(A) if Filing Status 1, 2, 3, 5 or  6.  Use 
Lines 31(A) and 31(B) if Filing Status 4, Married 
Filing Separately on the Same Return.

                                           

LINE 32.  Add Lines 31(A) and 31(B) and enter 
the total.

                                           

LINE 33.  If you received a lump-sum (total) 
distribution from a qualified retirement plan during 
2006, you may be eligible to use the averaging 
method to figure some of your tax at a lower 
rate. Read the instructions on the back of Form 
AR1000TD to determine if you are eligible to use 
this method.  If so, complete Form AR1000TD and 
enter amount on Line 33, Form AR1000. Attach 
Form AR1000TD.

                                           

LINE 34.  Taxpayers subject to IRA or employer 
qualified retirement plan penalties and tax on their 
federal return are subject to penalties and tax on 
their state return.  Enter ten percent (10%) of the 
federal penalty amount from Part I of Federal Form 
5329.  Be sure to enter total distribution(s) from Part 
I, Form 5329, on Line 18 or 19, page AR1/NR1.

If you are subject to a penalty on a distribution from 
a Coverdell Education Savings Account, include 
ten percent (10%) of the federal penalty amount 
from Part II of Federal Form 5329 on this line. Be 
sure to include the taxable amount of the Coverdell 
Education Savings Account distribution on Line 22, 
page AR1/NR1 (Other Income).

                                             

LINE 35. Add Lines 32 through 34 and enter 
the total.

                                           

TAX CREDITS
LINE 36.  Enter the total personal tax credits 
from Line 7D.

                                           

LINE 37.  Enter the amount of allowable State 
Political Contributions Credit(s) on this line. The 
allowable credit(s) cannot exceed $50 for an indi-
vidual filing Status 1, 3, 5 or 6 or $100 for spouses 
filing Status 2 or 4.  Attach Form AR1800 (or your 
own schedule) and include the candidate(s) name, 
office(s) sought, amount(s) of the contribution(s), 
and total of all political contributions.

                                           

LINE 38.  If you are an Arkansas resident and 
included income on your Arkansas Return that was 
also taxed by another state, you may claim a credit 
for the income tax portion of taxes paid to the other 
state on that income.

The income tax withheld from your wages by 
another state is NOT the amount of tax you owed 
the other state.  For that reason, YOU MUST AT-
TACH A SIGNED COPY OF THE TAX RETURN(S) 
YOU FILED WITH THE OTHER STATE(S) to your 
Arkansas Return.  Enter the amount of net income 
tax liability to the other state(s).

NOTE: This credit cannot exceed the Arkansas In-
come Tax on the same income and cannot 
exceed the total tax you owe Arkansas.  
Nonresidents cannot claim this 
credit on their Arkansas Return.  
If you were a part-year resident see ad-
ditional instructions on Page 12.

A tax credit is allowed for a resident shareholder’s 
pro rata share of any net income tax paid by a Sub 
S Corporation to a state that does not recognize 
Sub S Corporation status.

The State of Mississippi enacted a special tax that 
applies exclusively to gambling winnings.  This tax 
is separate and distinct from Mississippi’s income 
tax.  As such, an Arkansas taxpayer cannot claim a 
credit against his/her Arkansas income tax liability 
for payment of the gambling winnings tax to the 
State of Mississippi.

                                           

LINE 39.  The Child Care Credit allowed is twenty 
percent (20%) of the amount allowed on your 
federal return.  A copy of the “Credit for Child and 
Dependent Care Expenses,” Federal Form 2441, 
or a copy of your 1040A, Schedule 2, must be at-
tached to your Arkansas return.  (If this credit 
is for Approved Early Childhood Credit, 
see instructions for Line 48.)

                                           

LINE 40.  The Adoption Expense Credit allowed 
is twenty percent (20%) of the amount allowed on 
your federal return.  A copy of Federal Form 8839 
must be attached to your Arkansas return.

                                           

LINE 41.  Enter the allowable Phenylketonuria 
Disorder Credit.  Attach Form AR1113. 

                                           

LINE 42.  From the Business and Incentives Tax 
Credits Summary Schedule (AR1020BIC), enter 
the total allowable credits.  Credits available are 
listed below:
 
 Affordable Neighborhood Housing
 Biotechnology Development
 Capital Development Corporation
 County & Regional Industrial Development 
 Economic Development
 Emerging Energy Technology
 Employer-Provided Early Childhood Program
 Enterprise Zone Program
 Equipment Donation or Sale Below Cost
 Family Savings Initiative
 Investment Income
 Job Creation
 Manufacturing Investment
 Low Income Housing
 Payroll Income
 Private Wetland & Riparian Zone
 Public Roads Improvement
 Tourism Project Development
 Tuition Reimbursement
 Venture Capital Investment 
 Waste Reduction & Recycling Equipment
 Water Resource Conservation
 Workforce Training
 Youth Apprenticeship
 Rice Straw
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NOTE: For details on tax credits, refer to the Busi-
ness and Incentive Tax Credit Pkg. which 
contains forms for each credit.  Business 
Tax Credit forms may be obtained from 
the Department of Finance and Admin-
istration, Tax Credits, Box 1272, Little 
Rock, AR 72203, (501) 682-7106.
                                           

LINE 43.  Add Lines 36 through 42 and enter the 
total on Line 43.

                                           

LINE 44.  Subtract Line 43 from Line 35.  This is 
your Net Tax.  If Line 43 is greater than Line 35, 
enter zero (0).

IF FILING A FULL YEAR RESIDENT RE-
TURN, go to instructions for Line 45.

NONRESIDENTS AND PART-YEAR RESI-
DENTS ONLY, read the following  instructions 
to determine your correct Arkansas Tax Liability.  
Attach a complete copy of your federal 
return.

The instructions for Line 44A through Line 44D ap-
ply only to nonresidents and part-year residents.  

                                           

LINE 44A.  Enter total income from Line 27, 
Column (C).

                                           

LINE 44B.  Add the total of Columns (A) and (B) 
from Line 27.  

                                           

LINE 44C.  Divide the amount on Line 44A by the 
amount on Line 44B to arrive at your Arkansas per-
centage of income.  Unless your percentage 
is less than 1%, enter your percentage as 
a whole number, rounding the percentage 
to the nearest whole percent.  

If your percentage is less than 1%: Do not 
round to one (1) or zero (0). Carry the number out 
to six places to the right of the decimal.
Example:  $2,500/$525,000 = .00476190476 
 (Enter as 00.476190)

                                           

LINE 44D.  Multiply amount on Line 44 by percent-
age on Line 44C for AR apportioned tax liability.

                                           

PAYMENTS
LINE 45.  Enter Arkansas Tax withheld on your 
W-2(s).  You have already paid this amount of tax 
during the year.  If you have MORE THAN ONE 
W-2, be sure to combine the Arkansas Income Tax 
withheld on all W-2(s).  Enter the total withheld.

IF YOU AND YOUR SPOUSE ARE FILING ON 
THE SAME RETURN, add the Arkansas State 
Income Tax withheld on all your W-2(s).  Enter the 
combined total withheld.

If you did not receive (or lost) your W-2(s) and 
Arkansas tax was withheld from your income, ask 
your employer(s) for copies of your W-2(s).

If you have made a reasonable effort to get your W-
2(s) and still do not have one, complete a Federal 
Form 4852.  On the Federal Form 4852, report the 
amount of Arkansas State Income Tax withheld.  At-
tach a copy of a check stub or other documentation 
to support your amounts. 

CAUTION: You WILL NOT receive credit for 
tax withheld or receive a tax refund, 
unless you attach CORRECT AND 
LEGIBLE W-2(s) or other documen-
tation to your tax return.

DO NOT include FICA, Federal Income Tax, or tax 
paid to another state on Line 45.

DO NOT correct a W-2 yourself.  Your employer 
must issue you a corrected W-2.  

                                           

LINE 46.  If you made an Estimated Declaration 
and paid estimated tax payments on 2006 income 
OTHER THAN wages, salaries, tips, etc., write the 
amounts paid in this space.  The only amounts to 
enter here are payments you made on a 2006 Dec-
laration of Estimated Income Tax (includes January 
15, 2007 installment and/or credit brought forward 
from 2005 tax return).

DO NOT include PENALTIES OR INTEREST as 
part of the amount paid.  

If you and your spouse filed a JOINT decla-
ration and you and your spouse choose to 
file your annual returns on separate forms 
this year, payments made under the joint 
declaration of estimate will be credited to 
the primary filer.

NOTE: If  you are filing prior year tax re-
turns past the due date of  the tax 
return, the refund/overpayment 
from those tax returns cannot be 
carried forward as estimated tax.  
These amounts will be refunded to you.  If 
you were due a refund from a prior year 
return and did not receive it, do not list that 
amount on the estimated carry forward line 
of your current year tax return.  (Contact 
the Individual Income Tax Section concern-
ing the status of the prior year refund.)
                                           

LINE 47.  If you filed an extension request with 
the state and paid tax with your request, enter the 
amount paid.

                                           

LINE 48.  Enter the APPROVED early childhood 
credit (twenty percent (20%) of the Federal Child 
Care Credit) for individuals with a dependent child 
placed in an APPROVED Child Care Facility while 
the parent or guardian worked or pursued gainful 
employment.  (An approved child care facility is a 
facility approved by the Arkansas Department of 
Education as having an appropriate Early Child-
hood Program as defined by Arkansas law.)  Enter 
the certification number and attach Federal Form 
2441 or 1040A, Schedule 2 and Certification Form 
AR1000EC. Contact your child care facility 
for Form AR1000EC.

                                           

LINE 49.  Add the amounts on Lines 45, 46, 47 
and 48. This is your TOTAL TAX PAID.

                                             

FIGURE YOUR TAX
DUE OR TAX REFUND

LINE 50. If Line 49 is more than Line 44 on the 
AR1000 or Line 44D on the AR1000NR, you over-
paid your tax.  Write the difference on Line 50.  If 
you want a refund only, skip Lines 51 and 52 and 
enter the amount of your refund on Line 53.

If you itemized on your 2005 federal income tax 
return and you received a refund for state taxes paid 
in 2005, you may be required to claim all or part of 
the refund as income on your 2006 federal income 
tax return. Consult federal income tax instructions 
for further information.

                                           

LINE 51.  You can apply part or all of the tax you 
OVERPAID in 2006 to your tax in 2007.  Enter the 
amount you want carried forward.  The overpay-
ment will be applied directly to your 2007 Estimated 
Account.  If you wish to apply only part of Line 50 
to pay 2007 tax, you will be issued a refund for the 
balance of your overpayment.

NOTE: The amount you carry over to pay 2007 
taxes will only be credited to the 
primary filer.  It cannot be divided 
between the primary filer and spouse.
                                           

LINE 52.  If you wish to contribute a portion or 
all of your overpayment to the Arkansas Disaster 
Relief Program, the U.S. Olympic Committee 
Program, the Arkansas Schools for the Blind and 
Deaf, the Baby Sharon’s Children’s Catastrophic 
Illness Program, the Organ Donor’s Awareness 
Education Program, the Area Agencies on Aging 
Program, or  the Military Family Relief Program, 
complete Schedule AR1000-CO and enter total 
amount of your donation(s).  Attach Schedule 
AR1000-CO after the AR2/NR2.

                                           

LINE 53.  Subtract Lines 51 and 52 from Line 
50.  This is the amount of your Refund.  If your 
refund is less than $1.00, you must write a letter 
requesting the refund.

The Director is allowed 90 days from the 
return due date or the date the return was 
filed, whichever occurs later, to refund an 
overpayment of tax without interest (Act 
262 of 2005).

                                           

SET OFF REFUNDS
If you, your spouse, or former spouse owes a debt 
to the Department of Finance and Administration, 
state supported colleges, universities, and technical 
institutes, Office of Child Support Enforcement, the 
Department of Human Services, the Department of 
Higher Education, Arkansas circuit, county, district, 
or city courts,  the Employee Benefits Division of 
the Department of Finance and Administration, 
any housing authority, or the Office of Personnel 
Management of the Department of Finance and 
Administration and you have filed an Arkansas 
State Income Tax return, your refund is subject to 
being withheld to satisfy the debt. You may have all 
or part of your income tax refund withheld.



Page 17

If the tax you owe is less than $1.00, no remittance 
is required.

                                           

LINE 56.  Enter the total amount from Form AR4, 
Part III in the space provided.  

Your tax return will not be legal and can-
not be processed unless you SIGN IT.  
Write in the DATE.  If you and your spouse are filing 
a joint tax return or filing separately on the same 
return, both of you must sign it.

If someone else prepares your return, that person 
must sign and complete the Preparer Information 
section on page AR2/NR2.  If you prepare your 
own return, DO NOT use this section.

                                           

INSTRUCTIONS FOR 
ITEMIZED

DEDUCTIONS
(FORM AR3)

MEDICAL AND DENTAL EXPENSES

List only amounts you paid and for which you were 
not reimbursed.

                                           

LINE 1.  Enter total medical and dental expenses, 
less reimbursements from insurance or other 
sources.  Include amounts you paid for doctors, 
dentists, nurses, hospitals, prescription medicine,  
and insulin.  Also include the amount you paid for 
insurance premiums for medical and dental care, 
amounts paid for transportation and lodging, and 
other expenses such as hearing aids, dentures, 
eyeglasses and contact lenses.

                                           

LINE 2.  Enter total amount from Form AR1000/
AR1000NR, Line 28(A) and 28(B).  

                                           

LINE 3.  Multiply Line 2 by 7.5% (.075).
                                           

LINE 4.  Subtract Line 3 from Line 1.
                                           

TAXES

LINE 5.  You may deduct taxes you paid on 
property you own that was not used for business.  
Do not include any special assessment or levy 
taxes.

You cannot deduct Arkansas income taxes, sales 
tax, federal income taxes, estate taxes, improve-
ment taxes, federal Social Security taxes, hunting 
and fishing licenses, dog licenses, cigarette and 
beverage taxes, or car tags.

                                           

LINE 6.  You may deduct personal property 
taxes, taxes paid to a foreign country on income 
taxed on this return, and/or city income tax.

                                           

LINE 7.  Add the amounts on Lines 5 and 6.
                                           

INTEREST EXPENSE

LINE 8.  You may deduct the home mortgage inter-
est paid to a bank or other financial institution.

The deduction is generally limited to interest at-
tributable to a debt for not more than the cost 
of the principal, and/or second residence, plus 
improvements.

                                           

LINE 9.  Deduct home mortgage interest paid 
to an individual on this line, and list that person’s 
name and address.

                                           

LINE 10.  Enter the amount of deductible points 
on this line.  Deductible points are those that:

1. Are incurred in the purchase or improvement 
of the taxpayer’s principal residence;

2. Reflect an established business practice 
of charging points in the geographical area 
where the loan is made; and

3. Do not exceed the number of points generally 
charged for the type of transaction.  (Points 
paid in refinancing a mortgage must be am-
ortized over the life of the loan.)

NOTE: In order to deduct the full amount of the  
points paid, payment of the points must 
be made from separate funds brought to 
the loan closing.
                                           

LINE 11.  Enter deductible investment inter-
est.  The deduction is limited to the amount of 
investment income.  Interest that is disallowed 
because of the limitation can be carried forward 
to the next year and deducted to the extent of the 
limitation in the carryover year.  Attach Federal 
Form 4952.

                                           

LINE 12.  Add Lines 8, 9, 10 and 11.
                                           

If your refund has been applied to a debt of one of 
these agencies, you will receive a letter advising 
which agency has claimed all or part of your refund.  
If the debt has already been satisfied, it is the 
agency’s responsibility to refund any set 
off amount paid to the agency in error.  
Contact the agency at the telephone number fur-
nished to you on your “Adjustment Letter” to resolve 
any questions or differences.

If you owe a debt for Arkansas income 
tax, your federal refund may be cap-
tured to satisfy your state income tax 
debt.

NOTICE TO MARRIED TAXPAYERS:
If only one of the married taxpayers owes the debt, 
the taxpayer who is not liable can avoid having 
his/her refund applied to the debt if both taxpayers 
file Status 5, married filing separately on different 
returns.

                                           

LINE 54.  If Line 44 of the AR1000 or Line 44D 
of the AR1000NR is more than Line 49, you have 
additional tax to pay.  Subtract Line 49 from Line 
44 of the AR1000 or Line 44D of the AR1000NR.  
Write the amount on Line 54.  This is the TAX 
YOU OWE.  

You may have to pay a penalty if the tax 
you owe is more than $1,000,  and you did 
not file a Declaration of Estimated Tax, or you did 
not pay adequate installments on your estimated 
tax.

                                           

LINE 55A.  Enter the exception number from Part 
3, or the computed penalty from Line 18 of AR2210 
in the appropriate box.

NOTE: Form AR2210 must be attached and the 
exception number entered in the box on 
Line 55A to claim any exclusion from the 
Underestimate Penalty.
                                           

LINE 55B.  Enter amount of penalty from Line 
18, Form AR2210.

                                           

LINE 55C.  Add Lines 54 and 55B.  Enter total 
on this line.

Attach a check or money order to your return.  
Write your Social Security Number on the check or 
money order, and make your check payable to the 
Department of Finance and Administration.  Mail on 
or before April 15, 2007.  Do not send currency or 
coin by mail.  Taxpayers may also pay their tax due 
by credit card. Credit card payments may be made 
by telephone, by calling 1-800-2PAY-TAXSM 

(1-800-272-9829), or over the Internet by visiting 
www.officialpayments.com and clicking on 
the “Payment Center” link.

Both options will be processed by Official Payments 
Corporation, a private credit card payment services 
provider. A convenience fee will be charged to your 
credit card for the use of this service. The State 
of Arkansas does not receive this fee. You will be 
informed of the exact amount of the fee before you 
complete your transaction. After you complete your 
transaction you will be given a confirmation number 
to keep with your records.
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CONTRIBUTIONS

LINE 13.  Enter the total contributions you made 
by cash or check.  If you gave $3,000 or more to 
any one organization, list the donee and amount 
given.  If you have non-cash contributions of $500 
or more, attach Federal Form 8283.

                                           

LINE 14.  In addition to other contributions, a 
deduction is allowed for the donated value of ar-
tistic, literary, and musical creations.  The following 
qualifications must be met in order for the deduction 
to be allowed:

1. The taxpayer making the donation must have 
derived at least fifty percent (50%) of his/her 
current or prior year income from an art related 
profession.

2. The fair market value of the art work must 
exceed $1,000 and be verified by an approved 
independent appraiser.

3. The taxpayer must attach the donation receipt 
with estimated value or appraisal document.

4. The donation must have been made to a museum, 
art gallery, or non profit charitable organization 
located in Arkansas and qualified under Section 
501(C)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

5. The donated art work cannot exceed fifteen 
percent (15%) of taxpayer’s gross income for 
calendar year of donation.

                                           

LINE 15.  Deduct any check-off contributions 
made on your 2005 Arkansas return to the Arkan-
sas Disaster Relief Program, the U.S. Olympic 
Committee Program, the Arkansas Schools for 
the Blind and Deaf, the Baby Sharon’s Children’s 
Catastrophic Illness Program, Organ Donor Aware-
ness Education Program, Area Agencies on Aging 
Program, or Military Family Relief Program.

                                           

LINE 16.  List other deductible contributions:

1. Unreimbursed amounts spent to maintain an 
elementary or high school student (other than 
a dependent or relative) in a taxpayer’s home 
under a program sponsored by a charitable 
organization.

2. A gift of property to a non-profit organization.  
Attach a description of the property, date of 
gift, and method of valuation.  For each gift in 
excess of $500, list any conditions attached 
to the gift, manner of acquisition, and cost or 
basis if owned by you for less than five (5) 
years. Attach a signed copy of appraisal.

NOTE: Payments to private academies or other 
schools for the education of dependents 
are not deductible as contributions.
                                           

LINE 17.  If you made contributions in excess of 
fifty percent (50%) of your adjusted gross income, 
you may carry the excess deduction over for a 
period of five (5) years.

If you are deducting an excess contribution from 
a previous year, enter the amount and year of the 
original contribution.

                                           

LINE 18.  Add lines 13, 14, 15, 16 and 17.
                                           

CASUALTY AND THEFT LOSSES

LINE 19.  The method of computing casualty or 
theft losses is the same as Federal method (with 
the $100 exclusion).  Attach Federal Form 4684 and 
supporting documents.  The amount of each loss 
must exceed ten percent (10%) of your adjusted 
gross income.

If you have a Disaster Loss in 2007 on property 
located in an area designated by the President of 
the United States as a disaster area, you may elect 
to deduct the loss as an itemized deduction in 2006.  
Attach a Federal schedule listing the disaster loss. 
If you elect to report the loss on your 2006 return, 
you cannot report the loss on your 2007 return.

A disaster loss is the only loss which may be car-
ried back.  You may amend your 2005 return to 
report a disaster loss incurred in 2006.  If you elect 
to amend your 2005 return, you cannot report the 
loss on your 2006 return.

                                           

LINE 20.  List your Post-Secondary Education 
Tuition Deduction and attach Form AR1075(s).

                                           

MISCELLANEOUS DEDUCTIONS 
SUBJECT TO THE 2% AGI LIMI-
TATIONS

LINE 21.  List unreimbursed employee business 
expenses.  Attach Federal Form 2106.  Arkansas 
recognizes the federal mileage allowance for com-
puting business travel expenses.

                                           

LINE 22.  Other deductions, include (a) union or 
professional dues, (b) tax return preparation fees, 
(c) expenses for safety equipment, (d) expenses 
of entertaining customers (e) tools and supplies, 
and (f) fees paid to employment agencies.  Attach 
supporting schedule or statements.

                                           

LINE 23.  Add Lines 21 and 22.
                                           

LINE 24.  Enter combined amount from Form 
AR1000/AR1000NR, Lines 28(A) and 28(B).

                                           

LINE 25.  Multiply Line 24 by 2%.(.02).
                                           

LINE 26.  Subtract Line 25 from Line 23.  This 
amount is your total allowable miscellaneous 
deductions.

                                           

OTHER MISCELLANEOUS
DEDUCTIONS

LINE 27. Enter on this line the amount of miscel-
laneous deductions not subject to the 2% AGI limit. 
Attach detailed schedule of each deduction.

                                           

LINE 28.  Add Lines 4,7,12,18,19,20,26 and 27.    
If the amount(s) on AR1000/AR1000NR Line 28(A) 
and 28(B) are greater than $150,500 ($75,250 
if married filing separately on separate returns), 
then complete the itemized deduction worksheet 
to calculate the amount you may deduct.

                                           

PRORATED ITEMIZED
DEDUCTIONS

LINE 29.  If you are filing separately, Status 4 or 5, 
you must prorate your itemized deductions between 
spouses. Enter your AGI from Line 28, Column (A) 
and your spouse’s AGI from Line 28, Column (B) 
of the AR1000/AR1000NR. 

                                           

LINE 30.  Add Lines 29(A) and 29(B).
                                           

LINE 31.  Divide Line 29(A) by Line 30 and enter 
the percentage here. Round to the nearest whole 
percent.

                                           

LINE 32.  Multiply the total itemized deductions 
reported on Line 28 by your percentage in Line 31. 
Enter result here and on AR1000/AR1000NR, Line 
29, Column (A).

                                           

LINE 33.  Subtract Line 32 from Line 28. Enter 
result here and on AR1000/AR1000NR, Line 29, 
Column (B). If you and your spouse are using Filing 
Status 5, this is the amount of the total itemized 
deductions your spouse is allowed to claim on 
his/her tax return.
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(Keep for your records)

Page AR3, Line 28
Taxpayers with higher incomes may not be able to deduct all of their itemized deductions. If the combined AGI amount on Form AR1000/
AR1000NR, Lines 27(A) and 27(B), is more than $150,500 ($75,250 if fi ling status 5), use the worksheet below to fi gure the amount you 
may deduct.

1. Add the amounts on page AR3, Lines 4, 7, 12, 18, 19, 20, 26, and 27, and enter the total .............................. 1. ______________

2. Add the amounts on page AR3, Lines 4, 11, and 19,
 plus any gambling losses included on Line 27 and enter the total .................................................................... 2. ______________

3. Is the amount on Line 2 less than the amount on Line 1?

   NO. Your deduction is not limited.  Enter the amount from Line 1 above on Form AR3, Line 28.

   YES. Subtract Line 2 from Line 1 ....................................................................................................................3. ______________

4. Multiply the amount on Line 3 above by 80% (.80) and enter the result ........................................................... 4. ______________

5. Enter the amount from Columns (A) and (B) of AR1000/AR1000NR, Line 27.
 (Enter total of columns A and B if fi ling Status 4) .................................................................................................. 5. ______________

6. Enter $150,500 if fi ling status is 1, 2, 3, 4 or 6 ($75,250 if fi ling status is 5) ..................................................... 6. ______________

7. Is the amount on Line 6 less than the amount on Line 5?

   NO. Your deduction is not limited.  Enter the amount from Line 1 above on Form AR3, Line 28.

   YES. Subtract Line 6 from Line 5 ....................................................................................................................7. ______________
 
8. Multiply the amount on Line 7 above by 3% (.03) and enter the result ............................................................. 8. ______________

9. Enter the SMALLER of Line 4 or Line 8 .......................................................................................................... 9. ______________

10. Total Itemized Deductions. Subtract Line 9 from Line 1.
 Enter the result here and on page AR3, Line 28.  See Note below. .............................................................. 10. ______________ 

  NOTE: Also enter on Form AR1000/AR1000NR, Line 29, the larger of the amount you entered on page AR3, Line 28, or your
   standard deduction. 

(Keep for your records)

1. Enter the amount paid in 2006 for health insurance for you, your spouse, and your dependents. .................... 1 ______________ 
 
2. Enter your net profi t and any other income* from the business under which the insurance plan is established,
 less any deductions you will claim on Form AR1000ADJ, Line 8. .............................................................. 2 ______________

3. Enter the smaller of Line 1 or Line 2 here and on Form AR1000ADJ, Line 7.
 (Do not include this amount in fi guring your medical expense deduction on the Itemized Deduction Schedule.) ... 3 ______________

 * Earned income includes net earnings and gains from the sale, transfer, or licensing of property you created. It does not include
 capital  gain income. If you were more than a 2% shareholder in an S Corporation, earned income is your wages from that
 corporation.

SELF-EMPLOYED HEALTH INSURANCE DEDUCTION

WORKSHEET FOR TOTAL ITEMIZED DEDUCTIONS
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Depletion Allowance
 Depletion (gas and oil) ................Same as Federal
  (15% for most gas and oil production)

1. Enter the total interest you paid in 2006 on qualified student loans ....................................... 1 ___________

2. Enter the smaller of Line 1 above or $2,500. ..........................................................................2 ___________
 
3. Enter the amount(s) from AR1000/AR1000NR, Line(s) 23A and 23B .................................... 3 ___________

4. Enter AGI amount without regard to the Deduction for Interest Paid
  on Student Loans, Line 4, AR1000ADJ ..................................................................................4 ___________

5. Modified AGI. Subtract Line 4 from Line 3 ..............................................................................5 ___________
  Note: If line 5 is $65,000 or more and you are filing Status 1, 3, or 6 or $135,000 or more
  and you are filing Status 2 or 4, STOP HERE, you cannot take the deduction.

6. Enter: $50,000 if filing Status 1, 3, or 6; $105,000 if filing Status 2 or 4 ................................. 6 ___________

7. Subtract Line 6 from Line 5.
  If zero or less, enter -0- here and on Line 9, skip Line 8, and go to Line 10 ........................... 7 ___________

8. Divide Line 7 by $15,000 ($30,000 if filing status 2 or 4.)
  Enter result as a decimal (rounded to at least three places) .................................................. 8 ___________

9. Multiply Line 2 by Line 8 .........................................................................................................9 ___________

10. Allowable Deduction: Subtract Line 9 from Line 2.
  Enter result here and on Form AR1000ADJ, Line 4. ............................................................ 10 ___________   

Mileage Allowance
  Business ..................................44.5 cents per mile 
  
  Charitable ...................................14 cents per mile
  Mail Carrier (rural): ........ Reimbursement received
  Medical and Moving ....................18 cents per mile

Phases Out When AGI 
Exceeds: 

Will Be
Zero When AGI Is:

$50,000

$75,000

$0

$150,000

$60,000

$85,000

$10,000

$160,000

IF YOUR FILING 
STATUS IS:

YOUR ALLOWABLE
IRA DEDUCTION

Single, 
Head of Household 

Married Filing on Same 
Return (Status 2 or 4), or Qualifying Widow(er)

Married Filing on Separate Returns

Nonactive Spouse
(Income Computed Jointly)

MILEAGE AND DEPLETION ALLOWANCES

IRA PHASE OUT CHART

STUDENT LOAN INTEREST WORKSHEET
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McFADDEN vs. WEISS
LAWSUIT INFORMATION

 1. Enter your total cost
  of contributions to your retirement plan ...........................1 _________
 2. Enter amount of federal cost
  recovery used prior to 1999 tax year
  (Commencement date through December 31, 1998) ......2 _________
 3. Enter amount of allowable
  adjustments under McFadden v. Weiss ...........................3 _________
 4. Subtract Lines 2 and 3 from Line 1
  (If zero or less, enter -0-) .................................................4 _________
   Note: If Line 4 is -0-, you do not
   have any Arkansas basis in your plan.
 5. Enter total of cost recovery
  claimed on your 2003 through 2005 Arkansas returns ....5 _________
 6. Subtract Line 5 from Line 4
  (If zero or less, enter -0-) .................................................6 _________
   Note: If Line 6 is -0-, you do not have
   any Arkansas basis in your plan.
 7. Enter amount of cost recovery for 2006 from
  your 1099R or by using the Simplified Method ................7 _________
 8. Enter the lesser of Line 6 or Line 7 .................................8 _________
   Note: This is your allowable cost recovery deduction for 2006.   
   Subtract this amount from your gross distribution to determine
   your taxable amount before your $6,000 exemption.
 9. Subtract Line 8 from Line 6
  (If zero or less, enter -0-) .................................................9 _________
   Note: This is your cost of contribution carryover.
   If Line 9 is -0-, you do not have a carryover.

MCFADDEN CLAIMANT
WORKSHEET

ATTENTION RETIREES
Notice of Refund Calculation 

Maples v. Weiss

The Pulaski County Chancery Court has ordered an income tax refund in Maples, et al v. Weiss, a class action lawsuit filed in 
Pulaski County Chancery Court Case No. CV 04-3685. Pursuant to the Court’s decision, the State of Arkansas will pay income 
tax refunds for the 2003 and 2004 tax years to qualifying class members in that case. The class members represented in 
the case include all persons who filed a tax return with the State of Arkansas for tax years 2003 and 2004, and who reported 
income from an employment-related retirement plan in which they made after-tax contributions. This class includes all federal 
retirees who participated in the Civil Service Retirement System or Federal Employees Retirement System and all other persons 
reporting income to the state from an employment-related retirement plan in which they made after-tax contributions.  This 
decision is currently on appeal with the Arkansas Supreme Court, and your right to the refund referenced above will depend 
upon the Supreme Court’s decision.

The court held that the State of Arkansas unconstitutionally taxed the after-tax contributions made to retirement plans.  Under 
this refund methodology, you are entitled to deduct your after-tax contributions you did not deduct in tax years before 2003 to 
the extent of your retirement income received during the tax years 2003 and 2004.  Refunds will be calculated by excluding 
such amounts of retirement income from the amount of income that is subject to Arkansas income tax.   If you fully recovered 
your cost of contribution as a result of the McFadden v. Weiss lawsuit, you will not be entitled to a refund in the Maples v. 
Weiss case.  The recovery of your after-tax contributions for tax years 2003 and 2004 is not limited to the IRS §72 deduction 
you may have used on your federal income tax return during the same tax years.  

Additional information concerning this case will be available at the state website, www.arkansas.gov/dfa/ and will be updated 
and posted as it becomes available.

The court ordered the state to make refunds to retirees who 
had any unrecovered cost of contribution as of January 1, 
1999.

The costs of contributions to be recovered were from after tax 
contributions to your retirement plan.  The court ordered that 
the recovery be paid using “front end loaded” payments.

This means that any cost remaining unrecovered on January 
1, 1999, was to be recovered in full by offsetting the front end 
loaded recovery figure against previously reported annuity 
amounts.

Therefore, the recovery shown on the letter you received is 
not an amount that is shown on any federal or state income 
tax return you have filed, or will file.

Federal rules for recovery of cost were used to calculate your 
unrecovered cost of contribution as of January 1, 1999.

The information used to calculate refunds was supplied by 
the McFadden Retiree Claim Form you submitted.

For retirees receiving benefits from federal retirement system 
paid through OPM, your refund was calculated using data 
supplied by OPM.



Page 22

BEFORE YOU MAIL YOUR RETURN

If the Internal Revenue Service examines your return for any tax year and changes your net 
taxable income, you must report the changes to the Arkansas Department of Finance and 
Administration within thirty (30) days from the receipt of the notice and demand for payment 
by the Internal Revenue Service.

File Arkansas Form AR1000A/AR1000ANR Amended Individual Income Tax Return, for the 
year(s) involved reporting the changes to your state return.  Attach a copy of the federal 
changes. 

If you fail to notify this Department within thirty (30) days and do not file the required amended 
return, the Statue of Limitations will remain open for eight (8) years on the year(s) in ques-
tion.  Additional interest will be figured on any tax you owe the State of Arkansas.

 This checklist is to help you make sure that your form is filled out correctly. Errors may 
delay your refund.

 1. Is your name and address correct on the preprinted label? If not, did you enter   
  the name(s) and address for you and your spouse in the space provided?

 2. Did you enter the Social Security Number(s) for you and your spouse in the   
  space(s) provided?

 3. Did you use the correct filing status column and the correct taxable income to   
  find your tax from the tax table?

 4. Did you attach all W-2(s) and 1099 Forms?

 5. Did you add and subtract correctly when calculating your refund or amount you  
  owe?

 6. Did you sign and date your return?

 7. If you are filing Form AR1000NR, did you attach a copy of your federal return?

 8. Did you keep a complete copy of your return for your records?
 
 9. Have you mailed your return by APRIL 15, 2007?   

IN CASE THE IRS AUDITS YOU
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 0 12,100 0
 12,101 12,200 42.00
 12,201 12,300 43.00
 12,301 12,400 44.00
 12,401 12,500 45.00
 12,501 12,600 46.00
 12,601 12,700 47.00
 12,701 12,800 48.00
 12,801 12,900 49.00
 12,901 13,000 50.00
 13,001 13,100 84.00
 13,101 13,200 85.00
 13,201 13,300 87.00
 13,301 13,400 88.00
 13,401 13,500 90.00
 13,501 13,600 91.00
 13,601 13,700 93.00
 13,701 13,800 94.00
 13,801 13,900 96.00
 13,901 14,000 97.00
 14,001 14,100 99.00
 14,101 14,200 100.00
 14,201 14,300 102.00
 14,301 14,400 103.00
 14,401 14,500 105.00
 14,501 14,600 106.00
 14,601 14,700 108.00
 14,701 14,800 109.00
 14,801 14,900 111.00
 14,901 15,000 112.00
 15,001 15,100 114.00
 15,101 15,200 115.00
 15,201 15,300 203.00
 15,301 15,400 205.00
 15,401 15,500 208.00
 15,501 15,600 210.00
 15,601 15,700 213.00
 15,701 15,800 215.00
 15,801 15,900 218.00
 15,901 16,000 220.00
 16,001 16,100 223.00
 16,101 16,200 * 225.00

Head of Household
(FILING STATUS 3)

FROM TO TAX

*Above $16,200, use Standard or Itemized Deductions and Regular Tax Table 2

IF YOUR ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME IS

Single Taxpayer
(FILING STATUS 1)

IF YOUR ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME IS

FROM TO TAX

 0 7,800 0
 7,801 7,900 21.00
 7,901 8,000 22.00
 8,001 8,100 33.00
 8,101 8,200 35.00
 8,201 8,300 36.00
 8,301 8,400 38.00
 8,401 8,500 39.00
 8,501 8,600 41.00
 8,601 8,700 42.00
 8,701 8,800 44.00
 8,801 8,900 45.00
 8,901 9,000 47.00
 9,001 9,100 48.00
 9,101 9,200 50.00
 9,201 9,300 51.00
 9,301 9,400 79.00
 9,401 9,500 81.00
 9,501 9,600 83.00
 9,601 9,700 85.00
 9,701 9,800 87.00
 9,801 9,900 89.00
 9,901 10,000 91.00
 10,001 10,100 94.00
 10,101 10,200 96.00
 10,201 10,300 98.00
 10,301 10,400 100.00
 10,401 10,500 102.00
 10,501 10,600 104.00
 10,601 10,700 106.00
 10,701 10,800 108.00
 10,801 10,900 110.00
 10,901 11,000 112.00
 11,001 11,100 115.00
 11,101 11,200 118.00
 11,201 11,300 120.00
 11,301 11,400 * 123.00

*Above $11,400, use Standard or Itemized Deductions and Regular Tax Table 2

Married Filing Joint/Qualifying Widow(er)
(FILING STATUS 2 OR 6)

IF YOUR ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME IS

FROM TO TAX

 0 15,500 0
 15,501 15,600 80.00
 15,601 15,700 81.00
 15,701 15,800 83.00
 15,801 15,900 84.00
 15,901 16,000 86.00
 16,001 16,100 116.00
 16,101 16,200 * 118.00

*Above $16,200, use Standard or Itemized Deductions and Regular Tax Table 2

2006 Low Income Tax Table
QUALIFICATIONS:
1. Your total income from all sources must fall within the limits of this table based on your filing status.
2. Married couples must file a joint return (Filing Status 2) to qualify to use this table.
3. If you use an exclusion for military compensation or employment related pension income, you do not qualify.
4. If you itemize your deductions or take the standard deduction, you must use Regular Tax Table 2.
5. Find your Adjusted Gross Income from Line 28, AR1000/AR1000NR, in the table below.  Your tax is to the right of this amount.  Enter the tax   
 amount on Line 31, AR1000/AR1000NR.
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  If Your Income  If Your Income  If Your Income
 on Line 30 is on Line 30 is on Line 30 is
 YOUR YOUR YOUR
 As Much But Less TAX As Much But Less TAX As Much But Less TAX  
 As  Than IS As  Than IS As  Than IS

 5,000 10,000

 0 100 1 5,000 5,100 72 10,000 10,100 226
 100 200 2 5,100 5,200 75 10,100 10,200 229
 200 300 3 5,200 5,300 77 10,200 10,300 233
 300 400 4 5,300 5,400 80 10,300 10,400 236
 400 500 5 5,400 5,500 82 10,400 10,500 240
 500 600 6 5,500 5,600 85 10,500 10,600 243
 600 700 7 5,600 5,700 87 10,600 10,700 247
 700 800 8 5,700 5,800 90 10,700 10,800 250
 800 900 9 5,800 5,900 92 10,800 10,900 254
 900 1,000 10 5,900 6,000 95 10,900 11,000 259

 1,000 6,000 11,000  
 1,000 1,100 11 6,000 6,100 97 11,000 11,100 263
 1,100 1,200 12 6,100 6,200 100 11,100 11,200 268
 1,200 1,300 13 6,200 6,300 102 11,200 11,300 272
 1,300 1,400 14 6,300 6,400 105 11,300 11,400 277
 1,400 1,500 15 6,400 6,500 107 11,400 11,500 281
 1,500 1,600 16 6,500 6,600 110 11,500 11,600 286
 1,600 1,700 17 6,600 6,700 112 11,600 11,700 290
 1,700 1,800 18 6,700 6,800 115 11,700 11,800 295
 1,800 1,900 19 6,800 6,900 117 11,800 11,900 299
 1,900 2,000 20 6,900 7,000 120 11,900 12,000 304

  2,000 7,000 12,000  
 2,000 2,100 21 7,000 7,100 122 12,000 12,100 308
 2,100 2,200 22 7,100 7,200 125 12,100 12,200 313
 2,200 2,300 23 7,200 7,300 128 12,200 12,300 317
 2,300 2,400 24 7,300 7,400 131 12,300 12,400 322
 2,400 2,500 25 7,400 7,500 135 12,400 12,500 326
 2,500 2,600 26 7,500 7,600 138 12,500 12,600 331
 2,600 2,700 27 7,600 7,700 142 12,600 12,700 335
 2,700 2,800 28 7,700 7,800 145 12,700 12,800 340
 2,800 2,900 29 7,800 7,900 149 12,800 12,900 344
 2,900 3,000 30 7,900 8,000 152 12,900 13,000 349
 3,000 8,000 13,000
 3,000 3,100 31 8,000 8,100 156 13,000 13,100 353
 3,100 3,200 32 8,100 8,200 159 13,100 13,200 358
 3,200 3,300 33 8,200 8,300 163 13,200 13,300 362
 3,300 3,400 34 8,300 8,400 166 13,300 13,400 367
 3,400 3,500 35 8,400 8,500 170 13,400 13,500 371
 3,500 3,600 36 8,500 8,600 173 13,500 13,600 376
 3,600 3,700 37 8,600 8,700 177 13,600 13,700 380
 3,700 3,800 40 8,700 8,800 180 13,700 13,800 385
 3,800 3,900 42 8,800 8,900 184 13,800 13,900 389
 3,900 4,000 45 8,900 9,000 187 13,900 14,000 394

 4,000 9,000 14,000
 4,000 4,100 47 9,000 9,100 191 14,000 14,100 398
 4,100 4,200 50 9,100 9,200 194 14,100 14,200 403
 4,200 4,300 52 9,200 9,300 198 14,200 14,300 407
 4,300 4,400 55 9,300 9,400 201 14,300 14,400 412
 4,400 4,500 57 9,400 9,500 205 14,400 14,500 416
 4,500 4,600 60 9,500 9,600 208 14,500 14,600 421
 4,600 4,700 62 9,600 9,700 212 14,600 14,700 425
 4,700 4,800 65 9,700 9,800 215 14,700 14,800 430
 4,800 4,900 67 9,800 9,900 219 14,800 14,900 434
 4,900 5,000 70 9,900 10,000 222 14,900 15,000 439
(Rev 10/06)

2006 Regular Tax Table 2
Instructions:
1. Find your net taxable income from Line 30, AR1000/AR1000NR, in the table below. Your tax is to the right of this amount. Enter tax amount on Line 31.
2. Married couples must use the same filing status and tax table.  If one spouse uses Regular Tax Table 2, then both must use Regular Tax Table 2.
3. Be sure to subtract your standard deduction or your itemized deductions from Line 28 before using the tax table.  If you and your spouse use Filing 

Status 4 or 5, make sure you prorate your itemized deductions between you and your spouse.

Current year indexed tax brackets are available on the Individual Income Tax website at www.arkansas.gov/dfa/income_tax/tax_individual.html.
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2006 Regular Tax Table 2

(Rev 10/06)

  If Your Income  If Your Income  If Your Income
 on Line 30 is on Line 30 is on Line 30 is
 YOUR YOUR YOUR
 As Much But Less TAX As Much But Less TAX As Much But Less TAX
 As  Than IS As  Than IS As  Than IS

 15,000 21,000 27,000
 15,000 15,100 443 21,000 21,100 759 27,000 27,100 1,119
 15,100 15,200 448 21,100 21,200 765 27,100 27,200 1,125
 15,200 15,300 452 21,200 21,300 771 27,200 27,300 1,131
 15,300 15,400 457 21,300 21,400 777 27,300 27,400 1,137
 15,400 15,500 461 21,400 21,500 783 27,400 27,500 1,143
 15,500 15,600 466 21,500 21,600 789 27,500 27,600 1,149
 15,600 15,700 470 21,600 21,700 795 27,600 27,700 1,155
 15,700 15,800 475 21,700 21,800 801 27,700 27,800 1,161
 15,800 15,900 479 21,800 21,900 807 27,800 27,900 1,167
 15,900 16,000 484 21,900 22,000 813 27,900 28,000 1,173

 16,000 22,000 28,000
 16,000 16,100 488 22,000 22,100 819 28,000 28,100 1,179
 16,100 16,200 493 22,100 22,200 825 28,100 28,200 1,185
 16,200 16,300 497 22,200 22,300 831 28,200 28,300 1,191
 16,300 16,400 502 22,300 22,400 837 28,300 28,400 1,197
 16,400 16,500 506 22,400 22,500 843 28,400 28,500 1,203
 16,500 16,600 511 22,500 22,600 849 28,500 28,600 1,209
 16,600 16,700 515 22,600 22,700 855 28,600 28,700 1,215
 16,700 16,800 520 22,700 22,800 861 28,700 28,800 1,221
 16,800 16,900 524 22,800 22,900 867 28,800 28,900 1,227
 16,900 17,000 529 22,900 23,000 873 28,900 29,000 1,233

 17,000 23,000 29,000
 17,000 17,100 533 23,000 23,100 879 29,000 29,100 1,239
 17,100 17,200 538 23,100 23,200 885 29,100 29,200 1,245
 17,200 17,300 542 23,200 23,300 891 29,200 29,300 1,251
 17,300 17,400 547 23,300 23,400 897 29,300 29,400 1,257
 17,400 17,500 551 23,400 23,500 903 29,400 29,500 1,263
 17,500 17,600 556 23,500 23,600 909 29,500 29,600 1,269
 17,600 17,700 560 23,600 23,700 915 29,600 29,700 1,275
 17,700 17,800 565 23,700 23,800 921 29,700 29,800 1,281
 17,800 17,900 569 23,800 23,900 927 29,800 29,900 1,287
 17,900 18,000 574 23,900 24,000 933 29,900 30,000 1,293
 18,000 24,000 30,000
 18,000 18,100 579 24,000 24,100 939 30,000 30,100 1,299
 18,100 18,200 585 24,100 24,200 945 30,100 30,200 1,306
 18,200 18,300 591 24,200 24,300 951 30,200 30,300 1,313
 18,300 18,400 597 24,300 24,400 957 30,300 30,400 1,320
 18,400 18,500 603 24,400 24,500 963 30,400 30,500 1,327
 18,500 18,600 609 24,500 24,600 969 30,500 30,600 1,334
 18,600 18,700 615 24,600 24,700 975 30,600 30,700 1,341
 18,700 18,800 621 24,700 24,800 981 30,700 30,800 1,348
 18,800 18,900 627 24,800 24,900 987 30,800 30,900 1,355
 18,900 19,000 633 24,900 25,000 993 30,900 31,000 1,362

 19,000 25,000 31,000
 19,000 19,100 639 25,000 25,100 999 31,000 31,100 1,369
 19,100 19,200 645 25,100 25,200 1,005 31,100 31,200 1,376
 19,200 19,300 651 25,200 25,300 1,011 31,200 31,300 1,383
 19,300 19,400 657 25,300 25,400 1,017 31,300 31,400 1,390
 19,400 19,500 663 25,400 25,500 1,023 31,400 31,500 1,397
 19,500 19,600 669 25,500 25,600 1,029 31,500 31,600 1,404
 19,600 19,700 675 25,600 25,700 1,035 31,600 31,700 1,411
 19,700 19,800 681 25,700 25,800 1,041 31,700 31,800 1,418
 19,800 19,900 687 25,800 25,900 1,047 31,800 31,900 1,425
 19,900 20,000 693 25,900 26,000 1,053 31,900 32,000 1,432

 20,000 26,000  32,000
 20,000 20,100 699 26,000 26,100 1,059 32,000 32,100 1,439
 20,100 20,200 705 26,100 26,200 1,065 32,100 32,200 1,446 
 20,200 20,300 711 26,200 26,300 1,071 32,200 32,300 1,453 
 20,300 20,400 717 26,300 26,400 1,077 32,300 32,400 1,460 
 20,400 20,500 723 26,400 26,500 1,083 32,400 32,500 1,467 
 20,500 20,600 729 26,500 26,600 1,089 32,500 32,600 1,474 
 20,600 20,700 735 26,600 26,700 1,095 32,600 32,700 1,481 
 20,700 20,800 741 26,700 26,800 1,101 32,700 32,800 1,488 
 20,800 20,900 747 26,800 26,900 1,107 32,800 32,900 1,495 
 20,900 21,000 753 26,900 27,000 1,113 32,900 33,000 1,502
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  If Your Income  If Your Income  If Your Income
 on Line 30 is on Line 30 is on Line 30 is
 YOUR YOUR YOUR
 As Much But Less TAX As Much But Less TAX As Much But Less TAX
 As  Than IS As  Than IS As  Than IS

 33,000 39,000 45,000
 33,000 33,100 1,509 39,000 39,100 1,929 45,000 45,100 2,349
 33,100 33,200 1,516 39,100 39,200 1,936 45,100 45,200 2,356
 33,200 33,300 1,523 39,200 39,300 1,943 45,200 45,300 2,363
 33,300 33,400 1,530 39,300 39,400 1,950 45,300 45,400 2,370
 33,400 33,500 1,537 39,400 39,500 1,957 45,400 45,500 2,377
 33,500 33,600 1,544 39,500 39,600 1,964 45,500 45,600 2,384
 33,600 33,700 1,551 39,600 39,700 1,971 45,600 45,700 2,391
 33,700 33,800 1,558 39,700 39,800 1,978 45,700 45,800 2,398
 33,800 33,900 1,565 39,800 39,900 1,985 45,800 45,900 2,405
 33,900 34,000 1,572 39,900 40,000 1,992 45,900 46,000 2,412

 34,000 40,000 46,000
 34,000 34,100 1,579 40,000 40,100 1,999 46,000 46,100 2,419
 34,100 34,200 1,586 40,100 40,200 2,006 46,100 46,200 2,426
 34,200 34,300 1,593 40,200 40,300 2,013 46,200 46,300 2,433
 34,300 34,400 1,600 40,300 40,400 2,020 46,300 46,400 2,440
 34,400 34,500 1,607 40,400 40,500 2,027 46,400 46,500 2,447
 34,500 34,600 1,614 40,500 40,600 2,034 46,500 46,600 2,454
 34,600 34,700 1,621 40,600 40,700 2,041 46,600 46,700 2,461
 34,700 34,800 1,628 40,700 40,800 2,048 46,700 46,800 2,468
 34,800 34,900 1,635 40,800 40,900 2,055 46,800 46,900 2,475
 34,900 35,000 1,642  40,900 41,000 2,062 46,900 47,000 2,482
 35,000 41,000 47,000 
 35,000 35,100 1,649 41,000 41,100 2,069 47,000 47,100 2,489
 35,100 35,200 1,656 41,100 41,200 2,076 47,100 47,200 2,496
 35,200 35,300 1,663 41,200 41,300 2,083 47,200 47,300 2,503
 35,300 35,400 1,670 41,300 41,400 2,090 47,300 47,400 2,510
 35,400 35,500 1,677 41,400 41,500 2,097 47,400 47,500 2,517
 35,500 35,600 1,684 41,500 41,600 2,104 47,500 47,600 2,524
 35,600 35,700 1,691 41,600 41,700 2,111 47,600 47,700 2,531
 35,700 35,800 1,698 41,700 41,800 2,118 47,700 47,800 2,538
 35,800 35,900 1,705 41,800 41,900 2,125 47,800 47,900 2,545
 35,900 36,000 1,712 41,900 42,000 2,132 47,900 48,000 2,552

 36,000 42,000 48,000
 36,000 36,100 1,719 42,000 42,100 2,139 48,000 48,100 2,559
 36,100 36,200 1,726 42,100 42,200 2,146 48,100 48,200 2,566
 36,200 36,300 1,733 42,200 42,300 2,153 48,200 48,300 2,573
 36,300 36,400 1,740 42,300 42,400 2,160 48,300 48,400 2,580
 36,400 36,500 1,747 42,400 42,500 2,167 48,400 48,500 2,587
 36,500 36,600 1,754 42,500 42,600 2,174 48,500 48,600 2,594
 36,600 36,700 1,761 42,600 42,700 2,181 48,600 48,700 2,601
 36,700 36,800 1,768 42,700 42,800 2,188 48,700 48,800 2,608
 36,800 36,900 1,775 42,800 42,900 2,195 48,800 48,900 2,615
 36,900 37,000 1,782 42,900 43,000 2,202 48,900 49,000 2,622

 37,000 43,000 49,000
 37,000 37,100 1,789 43,000 43,100 2,209 49,000 49,100 2,629
 37,100 37,200 1,796 43,100 43,200 2,216 49,100 49,200 2,636
 37,200 37,300 1,803 43,200 43,300 2,223 49,200 49,300 2,643
 37,300 37,400 1,810 43,300 43,400 2,230 49,300 49,400 2,650  
 37,400 37,500 1,817 43,400 43,500 2,237 49,400 49,500 2,657
 37,500 37,600 1,824 43,500 43,600 2,244 49,500 49,600 2,664
 37,600 37,700 1,831 43,600 43,700 2,251 49,600 49,700 2,671
 37,700 37,800 1,838 43,700 43,800 2,258 49,700 49,800 2,678
 37,800 37,900 1,845 43,800 43,900 2,265 49,800 49,900 2,685
 37,900 38,000 1,852 43,900 44,000 2,272 49,900 50,000 2,692

 38,000 44,000
 38,000 38,100 1,859 44,000 44,100 2,279
 38,100 38,200 1,866 44,100 44,200 2,286
 38,200 38,300 1,873 44,200 44,300 2,293
 38,300 38,400 1,880 44,300 44,400 2,300
 38,400 38,500 1,887 44,400 44,500 2,307
 38,500 38,600 1,894 44,500 44,600 2,314
 38,600 38,700 1,901 44,600 44,700 2,321
 38,700 38,800 1,908 44,700 44,800 2,328
 38,800 38,900 1,915 44,800 44,900 2,335
 38,900 39,000 1,922 44,900 45,000 2,342

2006 Regular Tax Table 2

(Rev 10/06)

PLEASE NOTE:

For $50,000 and over, your 
tax is  $2,692 + 7% of the 
excess over $49,999. 


