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YOU MUST FILE BY APRIL 17, 2006

A Message to Arkansas Taxpayers

There are several tax law changes for 2005.  Some of those that impact the greatest
number of taxpayers are:

• Repeal of the 3% Income Tax Surcharge
• Increase the income exemption for military enlisted personnel from $6,000 to $9,000
• Federal tax treatment of Health Savings Accounts was adopted
• For a complete list of changes made during the 2005 Legislative Session see

pages 6 and 7 of this booklet.

Other Important information for 2005:

Your state return is due on April 15, 2006 the same as your federal return.
Since the due date is on a weekend, returns must be postmarked by Monday,
April 17th.

This booklet contains an Arkansas Use Tax form for taxpayers to report and
pay Arkansas tax on out of state purchases made from catalogs or the Internet,
or other transactions where Arkansas tax is due and has not been paid.

Arkansas continues to be one of the more successful states for Electronic
Filing.  Last year, over 50% of all Arkansas returns were filed electronically.
Arkansas is now a member of the Free E-File Alliance.  Many qualifying Ar-
kansas taxpayers may file free over the Internet.  Visit our web site at:
www.state.ar.us/dfa/ for information about on-line e-file opportunities.  If you
elect not to e-file from home, your tax preparer can e-file for you

For your convenience, the Arkansas Voter Registration Application is included in
this booklet. This form can be used for new voter registrations or to update current
registration information. If needed, complete the form and send it to the Secretary of
State’s office. Please do not mail it to the Revenue Division or enclose
it with your tax return.

We appreciate your suggestions and constructive criticism. We want to provide you the
best service possible. Please mail your suggestions and comments to: Manager, Indi-
vidual Income Tax Section, P.O. Box 3628, Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-3628. Thank
you.

Sincerely,

Tim Leathers
Commissioner of Revenue

Important addresses for additional information and assistance:
Internet: www.arkansas.gov/dfa/
E-Mail: individual.income@rev.state.ar.us
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ELECTRONIC FILING

Last year over 593,800 taxpayers used an electronic filing option to file their Arkansas Individual Income Tax Return.  Elec-
tronic filing allows you to file your Arkansas Tax Return with a tax professional or by computer.

FEDERAL/STATE ELECTRONIC FILING

The State of Arkansas participates in the Federal/State Electronic Filing Program for Individual Income Tax.  The benefits of
Electronic Filing are:

• Simultaneous Federal/State filing Both your Federal and State of Arkansas Income Tax Returns are filed elec-
tronically in one transmission.

• Processing If you file a complete and accurate return, your refund will be issued within
ten (10) days after acknowledgment. Taxpayers with Tax Due Returns
will be sent billing notices on unpaid balances as of April 17th.

• Accuracy Computer programs catch 98% of tax return errors before your return is re-
ceived and accepted.

• Acknowledgment The State of Arkansas notifies your transmitter within two (2) days that your
return has been received and accepted.

This program is available to full year residents, certain qualifying nonresidents and part-year residents filing a 2005 Arkansas
Individual Income Tax Return.  However, filers claiming business and incentive tax credits are not eligible to file electronically.
Electronic filing is available whether you prepare your own return or use a preparer.  In addition to tax preparers, other firms are
approved to offer electronic filing services.  Please check with your tax preparer or electronic filing service to see if they are
participating in the Federal/State program.

ON-LINE FILING

Over 76,500 taxpayers took advantage of On-Line Filing last year. The same advantages are obtained through On-Line Filing
as through electronic filing but it does not require a preparer. For a nominal fee your federal and state returns are prepared and
filed electronically.

TELEFILE

This service is no longer available.

PAYING YOUR TAXES BY CREDIT CARD

Taxpayers who file an Arkansas Individual Income Tax Return may now pay their tax due by credit card. Credit card payments
may be made by telephone, by calling 1-800-2PAY-TAXSM (1-800-272-9829), or over the Internet by visiting
www.officialpayments.com and clicking on the “Payment Center” link.

Both options will be processed by Official Payments Corp, a private credit card payment services provider. A convenience fee
will be charged to your credit card for the use of this service. The State of Arkansas does not receive this fee. You will be
informed of the exact amount of the fee before you complete your transaction. After you complete your transaction you will be
given a confirmation number to keep with your records.
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IMPORTANT NOTICE
FOR 2005

NOTICE OF POSSIBLE REFUND

TO:  (1) ALL FEDERAL RETIREES WHO PARTICIPATED IN THE CIVIL SERVICE RE-
TIREMENT SYSTEM OR FEDERAL EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM AND THAT
FILED ARKANSAS STATE INCOME TAX RETURNS SINCE JULY 27, 1999; (2) ALL
PERSONS REPORTING INCOME TO THE STATE, SINCE JULY 27, 1999, FROM NON-
DEDUCTIBLE INDIVIDUAL RETIREMENT ACCOUNTS; AND (3) ALL OTHER PERSONS
REPORTING INCOME TO THE STATE, SINCE JULY 27, 1999, FROM A RETIREMENT
PLAN TO WHICH THEY MADE AFTER-TAX CONTRIBUTIONS.

The Department of Finance and Administration has been ordered to refund illegally exacted taxes to all
federal retirees who participated in the Civil Service Retirement System or Federal Employees Retire-
ment System and who filed Arkansas state income tax returns since July 27, 1999; all persons reporting
income to the state, since July 27, 1999 from non-deductible individual retirement accounts, and all
other persons reporting income to the state from employer-sponsored retirement plans; in which they
made after tax contributions.  The court ordered the State to refund all illegally exacted taxes by recal-
culating each class member’s respective tax liability since July 27, 1999, and mail the refund, less
attorney’s fees and costs, directly to the taxpayer.  The State shall include a Notice of Calculation with
the refund setting forth the taxpayer’s name, address, social security number, the income adjustments,
tax adjustments, amount of tax and interest refunded for each tax year since July 27, 1999, the amount
of refund net of attorney’s fees and costs, the right to request verification or correction of information
contained therein, and enclosing a separate claim form to correct errors.

The court ruled that these class members are entitled to a refund of the tax paid on their after-tax
contributions to the extent of the net retirement income reported on line 18 of the tax returns filed since
July 27, 1999, plus interest of 10% from the due date of the tax return, less attorneys fees and costs.
This refund arises from Orders of the Honorable Collins Kilgore in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County,
Arkansas, 13th Division in the case of McFadden, et al. v. Weiss, No. OT-99-3939.  Information regard-
ing the Court ordered refund is available on the Department of Finance and Administration website at
http://www.arkansas.gov/dfa/.
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WHAT’S NEW FOR 2005

Due Date April 17, 2006

If April 15 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the return shall be
considered timely filed if it is postmarked on the next succeeding business day
which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.

This year April 15th falls on a Saturday; therefore the return is not due until the
next business day which is April 17th.

Personal Tax Credit Increased Pursuant to Act 1819 of 2001

Act 1819 of 2001 authorized the indexing of the personal tax credit if certain
budget requirements are met. The requirements have been met; therefore
the personal tax credit has been increased to $21.

Treatment of Combat Pay Clarified (Act 29 of 2005)

This act adopts Sections 112 and 692 of the Internal Revenue Code as in
effect on January 1, 2005 to clarify that combat zone compensation is ex-
empt from Arkansas individual income tax and that the income tax of a
member of the armed forces is exempt in the year of the person’s death.

This act applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2005.

Indian Ocean Tsunami Relief Contributions (Act 53 of 2005)

This act allows a taxpayer who made charitable cash contributions in Janu-
ary 2005 for the relief of Indian Ocean tsunami victims to treat the contribu-
tions as though they were made on December 31, 2004 and take the chari-
table contribution deduction on the 2004 Arkansas income tax return. Con-
tributions taken on the 2004 tax return cannot be taken on the 2005 return
also.

Income Tax Surcharge Repealed (Act 63 of 2005)

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2005, this act repeals the 3%
Income Tax surcharge imposed by Ark. Code Ann. §26-51-207 .

Health Savings Accounts Adopted and MSAs Extended (Act
94 of 2005)

This act adopts specific subdivisions of IRC §223 as in effect January 1,
2005, concerning Health Savings Accounts.  Health Savings Accounts are
exempt from Arkansas income tax as long as the account meets the re-
quirements of §223. The act amends the definition of “gross income” to
exclude from the employee’s gross income, contributions by an employer
to a Health Savings Account.

The act also adopts the following IRC sections as in effect on January 1, 2005:

1. §129 (exclusion of dependent care assistance from income),
2. §§72, 219, 401-404, 406-416, and 457 (deductibility from income of con-
tributions made to deferred compensation plans), and
3. §220 (deductibility from income of contributions made to a Medical Sav-
ings Account by the taxpayer or the taxpayer’s employer.

This act is effective on February 10, 2005 and applies to tax years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 2004.

Extension of Time to File Clarified (Act 686 of 2005)

This act allows the Director to grant an extension of time for filing an Arkan-
sas income tax return of not more than 120 days, and in extraordinary cir-
cumstances, an additional extension of 60 days.

Cost Recovery Clarified (Act 189 of 2005)

This act clarifies current law regarding cost recovery for annuitants under
the state income tax law.  The act provides that IRC §72 as in effect on
January 1, 2005 is the sole method by which a recipient of retirement ben-
efits from an employment related retirement plan may recover cost of con-
tribution for purposes of computing state income tax.   The taxpayer cannot
recover any portion of the cost of contribution that has already been recov-
ered or that the taxpayer would have been allowed to recover under any
law or court decision.

Income Tax Technical Corrections Act (Act 675 of 2005)

This act amends Arkansas Code to adopt changes to the Internal Revenue
Code (IRC).  The act adopts or readopts the following IRC Sections:

1. Readopts IRC §2(b) regarding the definition of Head of Household;
2. Readopts IRC §1033 relating to the exclusion of gain from the involun-

tary conversion of a taxpayer’s property;
3. Readopts IRC §121 relating to the gain on the sale of property owned

and used as a taxpayer’s principal residence;
4. Readopts IRC §129 regarding the exclusion from income for depen-

dent care assistance;
5. Adopts IRC §134 regarding the exclusion from income of child care

benefits provided to members of the United States military;
6. Readopts Subchapter S of the Internal Revenue Code regarding small

business corporations;
7. Readopts IRC §§453, 453A, and 453B regarding the installment method

of accounting;
8. Readopts IRC §§72, 219, 401-404, 406-416, and 457 relating to annu-

ities, retirement savings, and employee benefit plans;
9. Readopts IRC §162 regarding trade or business expenses;
10. Readopts IRC §170 regarding deductions for charitable contributions;
11. Readopts IRC §274 regarding the deductions of expenses for enter-

tainment, amusement, recreation, business meals, travel, et cetera;
12. Readopts IRC §198 regarding the deduction of costs paid or incurred

for the cleanup of certain hazardous substances;
13. Adopts IRC §194 regarding the amortization of qualified reforestation

expenses;
14. Readopts IRC §§611-613, 613A, 614, 616, and 617 regarding com-

puting the depletion allowance deduction for natural resources;
15. Adopts IRC § 470 regarding leasing transactions between taxpayers;
16. Readopts IRC § 248 regarding capitalization and amortization of a

corporation’s organizational expenses;
17. Adopts IRC §709 regarding amortization of partnership organizational

expenses;
18. Readopts IRC §530 relating to educational Individual Retirement Ac-

counts;
19. Readopts IRC §152 regarding the definition of Dependent;
20. Readopts IRC §21 for the purpose of determining the allowable credit

for household and dependent care services;
21. Readopts IRC §2(a) regarding the definition of Head of Household

and qualifying widow or widower with a dependent child.

This act applies to tax years beginning January 1, 2005 and after.

Sub-S Election Clarified (Act 261 of 2005)

The act requires a corporation to have elected Subchapter S treatment for
federal income tax purposes if electing Subchapter S treatment for Arkan-
sas income tax purposes for the same tax year.

The act is effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2005.

NOTE: THE FOLLOWING IS A BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF EACH ACT AND IS NOT INTENDED TO REPLACE A
CAREFUL READING OF THE ACT IN ITS ENTIRETY.



Page 7

Two New Check Offs Added for 2005 (Acts 1028 and 1821 of 2005)

This act adds the Office of Personnel Management of the Department of
Finance and Administration as a claimant agency for purposes of recover-
ing debts by obtaining a setoff of State Income Tax refunds.

Military Pay Exemption Changes (Act 2187 of 2005)

This act exempts from Arkansas income tax the first $9,000 of military pay
of enlisted personnel. Officers are exempt on only the first $6,000 of mili-
tary pay.

This act applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2005.

Organ Donor Deduction Established (Act 668 of 2005)

This act allows a taxpayer to take an income tax deduction of up to $10,000
for unreimbursed expenses incurred by the taxpayer or one of his depen-
dents related to the donation of an organ (part of a liver, pancreas, kidney,
intestine, lung, or bone marrow) to another human being.  The deduction
must be claimed for the taxable year in which the transplantation of the
organ occurs.  Allowable expenses include travel, lodging, and medical
expenses and lost wages that are related to the organ donation.  An indi-
vidual may claim the deduction only once in his or her lifetime.  This deduc-
tion does not apply to organs harvested from a deceased donor.

This act is effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2005.

Two New Check Offs Added for 2005 (Acts 1028 and 1821 of
2005)

Military Family Relief (Act 1028) - This act creates the Military Family Relief
Check-off Program on Arkansas income tax returns. Taxpayers will be able
to designate a portion of their Arkansas income tax refunds to go to the
program or make a contribution to the program. The check-off program is
effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2005 and for dona-
tions made on or after August 1, 2005.

Area Agencies on Aging (Act 1821) - This act creates an income tax check-
off for contributions of all, or a part, of the taxpayer’s income tax refund to
the Area Agencies on Aging. This act is effective for tax returns filed for tax
year 2005 and thereafter.

Payment of Interest Clarified (Act 262 of 2005)

This act clarifies that interest on overpayments of tax is to be calculated
from the due date of the return or the date the return was filed, whichever
occurs later.  The act allows the Director 90 days from the return due date
or the date the return was filed, whichever occurs later, to refund an over-
payment of tax without interest.

Certain Contributions to Deferred Tuition Savings Plan allowed
as Deduction (Act 1973 of 2005)

This act allows a deduction from the taxpayer’s adjusted gross income for
contributions to a tuition savings account established under the Arkansas
Tax-Deferred Tuition Savings Program. Deductible contributions cannot
exceed $5,000 per taxpayer per tax year.

This act is effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2005.

WHAT’S NEW FOR 2005
(Continued)

NOTE: THE FOLLOWING IS A BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF EACH ACT AND IS NOT INTENDED TO REPLACE A
CAREFUL READING OF THE ACT IN ITS ENTIRETY.

Unpaid Leave Time for Donors Authorized (Act 2235 of 2005)

This act requires private employers with one or more employees to grant an
employee an unpaid leave of absence of up to 90 days, or more, if the
employee serves as an organ or bone marrow donor and requests the leave
in writing. The act does not apply if the employee is eligible for leave under
the Family Medical Leave Act.

Withholding from Payments of Deferred Income Required (Act
1309 of 2005)

This act adopts IRC §3405, with certain modifications, to require withhold-
ing from certain periodic and lump sum payments of deferred income.  For
state purposes, withholding from non-periodic payments will be at the rate
of 3%.  Withholding from rollover distributions will be at the rate of 5%.

This act applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2006.

Rice Straw Credit Established (Act 2247 of 2005)

This act allows an income tax credit in the amount of $15.00 for each ton of
rice straw in excess of 500 tons that is purchased by an Arkansas taxpayer
who is the end user of the straw (person who purchases and uses the straw
for processing, manufacturing, generating energy or producing ethanol).
The amount of the credit is limited to 50% of the income tax due for the tax
year.  Unused credit may be carried forward for 10 consecutive tax years
following the year in which the credit is earned.

This act is effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2006

Withholding Required By Pass Thru Entities on Certain Dis-
tributions (Act 1982 of 2005)

This act requires pass-through entities to withhold income tax on the appli-
cable distributions to nonresidents that are attributable to income from
sources within the state.  A pass-through entity is a business entity (corpo-
ration treated as a Subchapter S corporation, a general partnership, limited
partnership, limited liability partnership, limited liability company, or a trust)
that is not taxed as a corporation for federal or Arkansas income tax pur-
poses.

The pass-through entity is required to file an annual return in electronic
format and remit any tax due. The annual return should show the total amount
of income distributed or credited to its nonresident members and the amount
of tax withheld.

A pass-through entity is not required to withhold tax for a nonresident mem-
ber if:

1. The member’s share of income is less than $1,000;
2. The member’s income is not subject to withholding;
3. The member elects to have the tax paid as part of a composite return
filed by the pass-through entity as allowed by the act;
4. The entity is a publicly traded partnership as defined by IRC §7704(b)
that is treated as a partnership for federal tax purposes and has agreed to
file an annual information return reporting the name, address, and taxpayer
identification number of each member with Arkansas income greater than
$500;
5. The entity has filed the member’s signed agreement to file and pay Ar-
kansas nonresident income tax; or
6. The member’s income is exempt from Arkansas income tax pursuant to
Ark. Code Ann. §26-51-202(e) (investment partnership income).

This act is effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2006.
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SPECIAL INFORMATION FOR 2005

MISSISSIPPI GAMBLING WINNINGS TAX NOT ALLOWED AS A
CREDIT

The State of Mississippi has enacted a special tax that applies exclusively
to gambling winnings. The Department has determined that this tax is sepa-
rate and distinct from Mississippi’s income tax. As such, an Arkansas tax-
payer would not be able to claim a credit against his Arkansas income tax
liability for payment of the gambling winnings tax to the State of Mississippi.

COLORED PEEL OFF LABEL

As a security measure, the colored peel off label containing
your personal information no longer includes your Social Se-
curity Number(s).  YOU MUST ENTER YOUR SOCIAL SECU-
RITY NUMBER(S) ON YOUR RETURN IN THE SPACE PROVIDED
OR YOUR RETURN CANNOT BE PROCESSED AND WILL BE
RETURNED TO YOU.

EXTENSION TO FILE

Arkansas recognizes all valid Federal extensions. If you have filed an Appli-
cation for Automatic Extension of Time to File, Federal Form 4868, it is not
necessary to attach this form to your Arkansas return.  When the return is
complete and ready to file, simply check the box on the face of your Arkan-
sas Return and mail the return prior to the final date stated on the latest
Federal Extension.  Do not mail in an incomplete AR1000 to claim
the extension to file.

PAYMENTS REQUIRED ON EXTENDED RETURNS

If you owe a tax due and the due date of your Arkansas re-
turn has been extended, you must pay at least ninety per-
cent (90%) of the tax due by April 17, 2006 or be subject to a
Failure to Pay Penalty of one percent (1%) of the unpaid tax
per month. Payments made on extension should be made on
Form AR1000ES, Voucher 5.

FEDERAL RETURN MUST BE ATTACHED TO AR1000NR

NONRESIDENTS AND PART-YEAR RESIDENTS FILING ON FORM
AR1000NR MUST ATTACH A COPY OF THEIR COMPLETE FEDERAL
RETURN OR YOUR ARKANSAS RETURN CANNOT BE PROCESSED
AND WILL BE RETURNED TO YOU.

SET OFF REFUNDS

If you owe a debt to one of the agencies listed below or if you have filed
jointly with a spouse or former spouse who owes, all or part of your refund
may be withheld to satisfy the debt.  Agencies and other entities that may
claim your refund are:

Dept. of Finance & Administration Dept. of Human Services
State of Arkansas Supported Colleges, Dept. of Higher Education

Universities & Technical Institutes UAMS and Affiliated Clinics
Arkansas Circuit, County, District Employee Benefits Division

and City Courts Child Support
DFA Office of Personnel Management Housing Authorities

If your refund is withheld, you will receive a letter stating which agency
claimed your refund and the appropriate telephone number.  You must con-
tact the agency claiming the refund to resolve any questions or differences.
Income Tax personnel will be unable to assist you regarding these matters.

If you owe a debt for Arkansas income tax, your federal re-
fund may be captured to satisfy this state debt.

NOTICE TO MARRIED TAXPAYERS

If only one of the married taxpayers owes the debt, the taxpayer who is not
liable can avoid having his/her refund applied to the debt if both taxpayers
file status 5, married filing separately on different returns.  (See Instruc-
tions for filing Status 5).

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL AND THEIR DEPENDENTS
In 2003 there were two important pieces of federal legislation that protected taxpayers that are serving in the military. The two acts and the provisions that
change Arkansas individual income taxation are as follows:

The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act of 2003:

Following is the text of the law dealing with income tax issues;

Section 510 - Income taxes 
(a) DEFERRAL OF TAX- Upon notice to the Internal Revenue Service or the tax authority of a State or a political subdivision of a State, the collection of
income tax on the income of a servicemember falling due before or during military service shall be deferred for a period not more than 180 days after
termination of or release from military service, if a servicemember’s ability to pay such income tax is materially affected by military service.
(b) ACCRUAL OF INTEREST OR PENALTY- No interest or penalty shall accrue for the period of deferment by reason of nonpayment on any amount of
tax deferred under this section.
(c) STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS- The running of a statute of limitations against the collection of tax deferred under this section, by seizure or otherwise,
shall be suspended for the period of military service of the servicemember and for an additional period of 270 days thereafter.

Section 511 - Residence for tax purposes 
(a) RESIDENCE OR DOMICILE- A servicemember shall neither lose nor acquire a residence or domicile for purposes of taxation with respect to the
person, personal property, or income of the servicemember by reason of being absent or present in any tax jurisdiction of the United States solely in
compliance with military orders.
(b) MILITARY SERVICE COMPENSATION- Compensation of a servicemember for military service shall not be deemed to be income for services
performed or from sources within a tax jurisdiction of the United States if the servicemember is not a resident or domiciliary of the jurisdiction in which the
servicemember is serving in compliance with military orders.
(d) INCREASE OF TAX LIABILITY- A tax jurisdiction may not use the military compensation of a nonresident servicemember to increase the tax liability
imposed on other income earned by the nonresident servicemember or spouse subject to tax by the jurisdiction.

The Military Family Tax Relief Act of 2003:

The provisions of this act which include the sale of your principle residence, deduction for overnight travel expenses of National Guard and Reserve
members and exclusion from income of certain benefits must be adopted by the Arkansas Legislature before they become effective.
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The State of Arkansas’ automated telephone information system allows taxpayers to listen to recorded messages about general filing information. It is
recommended that you have your tax information on hand as well as a pencil to write down important information.  The different services and telephone
numbers are listed below.

AUTOMATED REFUND INQUIRY

(501) 682-0200 or 1-800-438-1992 (In Arkansas only)

This service allows taxpayers with a touch-tone telephone to check the current status of their refund.  The system will ask for information from your tax return
so have a copy of your  return with you when you call.  If you electronically filed your return, your refund will be mailed within two (2) weeks. The average time
to process a paper return is approximately six (6) to eight (8) weeks.  This time could vary based on how early you file your return or if there is a mistake in
preparing the return.

This service is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and is updated weekly.

TAX INFORMATION HOT-LINE

(501) 682-1100 or 1-800-882-9275 (In Arkansas only)

This system is designed to allow taxpayers to access 24 hours a day general information about filing.  Personal assistance will be available during our normal
business hours (Monday through Friday - 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.).  The areas that can be reached by this system are as follows:

Taxpayer Assistance Branch Refund Group Amended Group
Audit and Examination Branch Delinquent Income Tax Group Forms Group

Hearing Impaired Access for Information, Assistance and Forms (501) 682-4795
(This number can only be reached by use of a Text Telephone Device)

TELE-TAX

(501) 682-0200 or 1-800-438-1992 (In Arkansas Only)

In addition to the Tax Information Hot-Line for recorded general filing information, the State of Arkansas has a Tele-Tax information service to access more
specific information.  Listed below are topics of additional information or explanation.  Using a touch-tone telephone, you can enter the three-digit code to
access additional information.

This service is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

# FILING REQUIREMENTS
100 Who must file?
101 Which form - AR1000,

AR1000NR, AR1000S?
102 When, where and how to file
103 Which filing status?
104 Dependents defined
105 Estimated tax
106 Amended returns

INCOME DEFINITIONS
200 Wages, salaries and tips
201 Interest received
202 Dividends received
203 Alimony received
204 Business income
205 Capital gains and losses
206 Pensions and annuities
209 Farming and fishery income
300 Gambling income and expenses
301 Nontaxable income
302 Earnings of clergy

ADJUSTMENTS TO INCOME
400 Individual Retirement

Accounts (IRA)
401 Alimony paid
402 Border city exemption

(Texarkana - AR and TX)

# ADJUSTMENTS TO INCOME
(CONT.)

403 Permanently disabled individual
404 Archer Medical Savings Accounts
405 Intergenerational trusts
406 Moving expenses
407 Interest Paid on Student Loans

ITEMIZED DEDUCTIONS
500 Should you itemize?
501 Medical and dental expense
502 Taxes
503 Contributions
504 Interest expense
505 Casualty losses
507 Miscellaneous expense
508 AGI over $145,950 adjustment
509 Post Secondary Tuition deduction

TAX COMPUTATION
600 Choosing the correct table
601 Standard deduction
603 Tax credits, general
604 Child care credit
605 Other state tax credit
606 Business and incentive credits
607 Adoption credit
608 Income tax surcharge

# GENERAL INFORMATION
700 Substitute tax forms
701 Refunds - how long to wait
702 How to request copies of

tax returns
703 Extensions of time to file
704 Penalty for underpayment

of estimated tax
705 W-2 forms - what to do if

not received
706 Estate tax

NOTICES AND LETTERS
800 Taxpayer Bill of Rights
801 Billing procedures
802 Penalty and interest charges
803 Collection procedures

NONRESIDENT - PART-YEAR
RESIDENT

900 Which return to use
901 How to compute tax
902 How to compute apportionment

ELECTRONIC FILING
909 Arkansas electronic filing

program



Page 10

2005 ARKANSAS INCOME TAX
Guide to Instructions

A _______________________________
Adjustments to Income ................................. 16
Adoption Expense Credit .............................. 18
Alimony Paid ................................. AR1000ADJ
Alimony Received ......................................... 15
Amended Return, (Audited by IRS) ............. 20
Amount You Owe or Refund Due ................. 19
Annuities .................................................. 13, 15
Apportionment, Tax ....................................... 18
Archer Medical Savings Accts ...... AR1000ADJ
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2. IF YOU WERE A NONRESIDENT and you re-
ceived income from Arkansas sources, you must
file an Arkansas Tax Return AR1000NR regard-
less of your income level.  See Section I for addi-
tional information. Attach a copy of your
Federal return.

3. IF YOU WERE A PART-YEAR RESIDENT and
you received taxable income while an Arkansas
resident or after becoming an Arkansas resident,
you must file an Arkansas tax return AR1000NR
regardless of income level or source of the in-
come. See Section I for additional information.
Attach a copy of your Federal return.

4. The EXECUTOR OR ADMINISTRATOR OF
THE ESTATE OF SOMEONE WHO DIED LAST
YEAR, you must file a tax return for the person
who died if any of the conditions listed below apply
to that person.

(a) The person was SINGLE (under age 65)
and earned a gross income of $7,800 or
more between January 1 and the time of
death.

(b) The person was SINGLE (age 65 and older)
and earned a gross income of $9,300 or
more between January 1 and the time of
death.

(c) The person was MARRIED (both under age
65) with a combined gross income of
$15,500 or more.

(d) The person was MARRIED (one under age
65) with a combined gross income of
$15,600 or more.

(e) The person was MARRIED (both age 65
and older) with a combined gross income
of $16,200 or more.

5. Even if you do not have to file, you should file to
get a refund if Arkansas Income Tax was with-
held from any payments to you.

THE ONLY WAY YOU CAN GET YOUR REFUND IS
TO FILE AN ARKANSAS TAX RETURN.

B. WHEN TO FILE YOUR TAX RETURN

1. You can file your Calendar Year Tax Return any
time after December 31, 2005, but NO LATER
THAN APRIL 17, 2006, (unless an extension
has been granted).  PLEASE FILE EARLY.  If the
State owes you a refund and you wait until APRIL
17th to file, it will take longer for you to receive
your refund.

2. If you file a Fiscal Year Tax Return, your return is
due NO LATER THAN three and one-half
(3 ½) months following the close of the
income year.

If the due date of your return falls on a Saturday,
Sunday, or a legal holiday, the return shall be con-
sidered timely filed if it is postmarked on the next
succeeding business day which is not a Saturday,
Sunday, or legal holiday.

NOTE: The date of the postmark stamped by the
U.S. Postal Service is the date you filed your
return.   Be sure to apply enough postage
or your return will not be delivered by the
Postal Service. The Income Tax Section
does not refuse mail – that is done at the
Post Office.

3. Statute of Limitations – Refunds.  An amended
return or verified claim for refund of an overpay-
ment of any state tax for which the taxpayer is
required to file a return shall be filed by the tax-
payer within three (3) years from the time the
return was filed or two (2) years from the time the
tax was paid, whichever of the periods expires
the later.

C. MAILING INFORMATION

1. If you owe tax to the State, mail your TAX DUE
RETURN and check or money order to:

Arkansas State Income Tax
P.O. Box 2144
Little Rock, AR 72203-2144

Make your check or money order payable to: De-
partment of Finance and Administration.  Write
your Social Security Number on the check.

2. If you do not owe tax to the State mail your NO
TAX DUE RETURN to:

Arkansas State Income Tax
P.O. Box 8026
Little Rock, AR 72203-8026

3. If you are expecting a refund, mail your
REFUND RETURN to:

Arkansas State Income Tax
P.O. Box 1000
Little Rock, AR 72203-1000

D. FORMS

The Department of Finance and Administration mails
a tax booklet to most taxpayers which includes forms

INSTRUCTIONS

THESE INSTRUCTIONS ARE FOR GUIDANCE ONLY AND DO NOT STATE THE COMPLETE LAW

A.  WHO MUST FILE A TAX RETURN

1. IF YOU WERE A FULL YEAR RESIDENT OF ARKANSAS FOR 2005, USE THE CHART BELOW
TO SEE IF YOU MUST FILE A RETURN.

To use the chart, first find your marital status at the end of 2005. Then, read across to find your filing
status and age at the end of 2005. You must file a return if your gross income was at least the amount
shown in the last column. Gross income means any and all income, before deductions, that you
receive except the kinds of income specifically described in Section J, items 1 through 8 of these
instructions (see Page 13).

MARITAL FILING GROSS
STATUS STATUS AGE* INCOME

Single Single under 65 $7,800
(including divorced

and legally separated) 65 or older $9,300

Head of under 65 $12,100
Household 65 and older $13,000

Married Married filing under 65
joint (both spouses) $15,500

65 or older
(one spouse) $15,600

65 or older
(both spouses) $16,200

Married filing any age $3,999
separately, same

or different returns

Widowed in 2003 Qualifing under 65 $15,500
or 2004, not Widow(er) with

remarried in 2005  dependent child 65 or older $16,000

*If you turned 65 on January 1, 2006, you are considered to be age 65 at the end of 2005.

If your gross income is less than the amount shown in the last column for your filing status, you are not
required to file a return. However, you must file a return to claim any refund due.
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and instructions for residents, part-year and nonresi-
dents.  If you need forms, you may get them at your
county revenue office, or on our website at:

www.arkansas.gov/dfa/

You may also obtain forms by writing:

Arkansas State Income Tax Forms
P.O. Box 3628
Little Rock, AR 72203-3628

If you wish to call for forms, the telephone numbers
are; (501) 682-1100 and Text Telephone Device ( Hear-
ing Impaired Access) (501) 682-4795.

E. PENALTIES & INTEREST

1. If you owe any additional tax, you must mail your
tax return by April 17, 2006.  Any return not post-
marked by April 17, 2006, unless you have a valid
extension, will be considered delinquent.  A pen-
alty of one percent (1%) per month for failure to
pay and five percent (5%) per month for failure to
file, with a maximum of thirty-five percent (35%),
will be assessed on the amount of tax due.  Inter-
est of ten percent (10%) per annum will also be
assessed on any additional tax due, calculated
from the original due date to the date you filed
your return.

An extension to file is not an extension
to pay. If you have filed an extension, you must
pay at least ninety percent (90%) of the amount
due by the original due date or be subject to a
failure to pay penalty of 1% per month of the un-
paid balance.

2. In addition to any penalty assessed, a penalty of
$500 will be assessed, if any taxpayer files what
purports to be a return, but the return does not
contain information on which the correctness of
the return may be judged, and such conduct is
due to a position which is frivolous, or an effort to
delay or impede the administration of any State
law.

3. If you owe additional tax in excess of $1,000, pen-
alty for failure to make a declaration of Estimated
Tax and pay on any quarterly due date the equiva-
lent of ninety (90%) of the amount actually due,
or an amount equal to or greater than the tax
liability of the preceding income tax year, a pen-
alty of ten percent (10%) will be assessed.

Exception: Individuals whose income from
farming for the income year can reasonably be
expected to amount to at least two-thirds (2/3) of
the total income from all sources for the income
year, may file such declaration and pay the esti-
mated tax on or before the fifteenth (15th) day of
the third (3rd) month after the close of the income
year.

An Arkansas Underpayment of Estimated Tax
Form AR2210 should be used to compute the
underpayment penalty or to claim an exception
for failure to file a declaration of estimated tax for
the income year.

F. DEATH OF TAXPAYER OR DEPENDENT

An Arkansas return should be filed for the taxpayer for
the year in which the death occurred, regardless of the

date of death.  The word “DECEASED” should appear
after the decedent’s name along with the date of death.
A surviving spouse may file on the same return with
the deceased spouse for the year of death if the survi-
vor does not remarry before the end of that year.

If the decedent qualified as your dependent for the
part of the year before death, you may claim the full
amount of tax credit for such dependent on your tax
return, regardless of when death occurred during the
year.

In each of these circumstances you do not have to
attach a copy of the death certificate to the return.

G. CREDIT FOR TAXES PAID TO ANOTHER
STATE

Arkansas residents are required to report and pay taxes
on all of their taxable income.  This includes the tax-
able portion of foreign income as well as income from
other states.  If you are required to report a part of your
income to another state, you may take credit for the
income tax portion of your out-of-state tax liability on
Line 38 of  AR1000.  A copy of the out-of-state
return must be attached.  The credit claimed
cannot exceed what the tax would be if calculated at
Arkansas tax rates. Nonresidents are not en-
titled to this credit.

Part-year residents will not be allowed this credit un-
less they continue to have taxable income from an-
other state and the other state income is included as
taxable income in Column C of the AR1000NR.

H. DEVELOPMENTALLY DISABLED
INDIVIDUAL

To claim a credit for a developmentally disabled indi-
vidual you must file a certified AR1000RC5 every five
(5) years. If credit was received on a prior year’s re-
turn, you do not need to file another AR1000RC5 until
the Individual Income Tax Section notifies you to re-
certify.

If tax year 2005 is the first year you claim the develop-
mentally disabled individual credit then you must at-
tach the AR1000RC5 to your 2005 return.

I. DEFINITIONS

1. DOMICILE

This is the place you intend to have as your perma-
nent home, the place you intend to return to whenever
you are away.  You can have only one domicile.  Your
domicile does not change until you move to a new
location and definitely intend to make your permanent
home there.  If you move to a new location but intend
to stay there only for a limited time (no matter how
long), your domicile does not change.  This also ap-
plies if you are working in a foreign country.

2. FULL-YEAR RESIDENT

You are a full-year resident if you lived in Arkansas all
of tax year 2005, or if you have maintained a domicile
or Home of Record in Arkansas during the tax year.

3. MILITARY PERSONNEL

U.S. Military Compensation Pay includes wages re-
ceived from the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps,
Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserve Components,
and the U.S. Public Health Service.

If Arkansas is your Home of Record (HOR) and you
are stationed outside the State of Arkansas, you are
still required to file an AR1000 reporting all your in-
come, including U.S. Military Compensation Pay.

If you are stationed in Arkansas and your Home of
Record is another state, Arkansas does not tax your
U.S. military compensation Pay.  For additional infor-
mation, see the instructions for Lines 9 and 10 on page
15.

Arkansas does tax income from Arkansas sources
received by you or your spouse while you are stationed
in Arkansas, including pay from non-appropriated funds;
i.e., exchange, clubs, commissary, etc.  This Arkan-
sas income will be listed in Column C of the Form
AR1000NR and taxed based upon your Arkansas per-
centage of the total tax liability.

4. NONRESIDENT

You are a nonresident if you did not make your domi-
cile (home) in Arkansas.  A nonresident receiving in-
come from Arkansas sources must file an Arkansas
Tax Return AR1000NR regardless of income level.
After the tax has been computed on the total income,
it must be prorated to determine the amount of liability
apportioned to Arkansas.

5. PART-YEAR RESIDENT

Any person who established a domicile (home) in Ar-
kansas or moved out of the State during the calendar
year of 2005 is considered a part-year resident.  After
the tax has been computed on the total income, it must
be prorated to determine the amount of liability appor-
tioned to Arkansas.

NONRESIDENTS OR PART-YEAR RESIDENTS
MUST FILE ON FORM AR1000NR AND ATTACH
A COPY OF THEIR FEDERAL RETURN.

6. DEPENDENTS.

You may claim as a dependent any person who re-
ceived over half of his or her support from you, and
earned less than $3,200 in gross income, and was
your:

Child Stepchild Mother
Father Grandparent Brother
Sister Grandchild Stepbrother
Stepsister Stepmother Stepfather
Mother-In-Law Father-In-Law Brother-In-Law
Sister-In-Law Son-In-Law Daughter-In-Law

Or, if related by blood: Uncle, Aunt, Nephew, Niece

Or, an individual (other than your spouse) who, for the
taxable year of the taxpayer, has the same principal
place of abode as the taxpayer and is a member of the
taxpayer’s household.

The term dependent includes a Foster Child if the child
has as his principle place of abode the home of the
taxpayer and is a member of the taxpayer’s household
for the taxpayer’s entire tax year.

Arkansas has adopted Internal Revenue Code
§151(c)(6) regarding the tax treatment of kidnapped
children.

The term “dependent” does not apply to anyone who
is a citizen or subject of a foreign country UNLESS
that person is a resident of the United States, Mexico
or Canada.
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For death of a dependent during the tax year, refer to
Section F for instructions.

If your child/stepchild is under age 19 at the end of the
year, the $3,200 gross income limitation does not ap-
ply.  Your child may have any amount of income and
still be your dependent if the other dependency re-
quirements in paragraph 6 are met.

7. STUDENT

If your child/stepchild is a student under age 24 at the
end of the calendar year, the $3,200 gross income
limitation does not apply.  The other requirements in
paragraph 6 still must be met.

To qualify as a student, your child/stepchild must be a
full-time student for five (5) months during the calen-
dar year at a qualified school, as defined by the cur-
rent Internal Revenue Service directives.

8. GROSS INCOME

Gross income means any and all income (before de-
ductions) that you receive except the kinds of income
specifically described in Section J of these instructions.

NOTE: If all or part of your income is described in
Section J, the described portion is exempt.
You do not pay tax on it.  You must read
this very carefully.

J. INCOME EXEMPT FROM TAX

NOTE: List exempt income on AR4, Part
III and include the total on AR1000,
Line 56.

1. Money you receive from a life insurance policy
because of death of the person who was insured
is exempt from tax.

NOTE: You must include any interest payments
made to you from the insurer (the insurer is
the insurance company that issued the
policy) as taxable income.

2. Money you receive from LIFE INSURANCE, an
ENDOWMENT, or a PRIVATE ANNUITY CON-
TRACT, for which you paid the premiums, is al-
lowed cost recovery pursuant to Internal Rev-
enue Code §72.

3. Amounts you receive as child support payments
are exempt.

4. You do not pay taxes on gifts, inheritances, be-
quests or devises. Scholarships, grants and fel-
lowships are taxed pursuant to Internal Revenue
Code §117.  Stipends are taxable in their entirety.

5. Interest you receive from direct United States
obligations, its possessions, the State of Arkan-
sas, or any political subdivision of the State of
Arkansas is exempt from tax.  Obligations include
bonds and other evidence of debt issued pursu-
ant to a government unit’s borrowing power.  (In-
terest due on tax refunds is not exempt income
because it does not result from a debt issued by
the United States, the State of Arkansas or any
political subdivision of the State of Arkansas.)  In-
terest from government securities paid to indi-
viduals through a mutual fund is exempt from
tax.

6. Social Security benefits, VA benefits, workers’
compensation, unemployment compensation,
railroad retirement benefits and related supple-
mental benefits are exempt from tax.

7. The rental value of a home or the housing allow-
ance paid to a duly ordained or licensed minister
of a recognized church to the extent that it is used
to rent or provide a home.  The rental value of a
home furnished to a minister includes utilities
which are furnished to the minister as part of com-
pensation.  The housing allowance paid to a min-
ister includes an allowance for utilities paid to the
minister as part of compensation to the extent it
is to be used to furnish utilities in the home.

8. Disability Income may be exempt from tax pur-
suant to Internal Revenue Code §104.

9. The first $9,000 of U.S. Military Enlisted
Compensation is exempt from tax. The
first $6,000 of U.S. Military Officer’s
Compensation is exempt from tax.

10. If you received income from an employer spon-
sored retirement plan, including disability retire-
ment, that is not exempt under IRC §104, the
first $6,000 is exempt from tax. For tax years
2003 and later, if you contributed after-tax dol-
lars to your plan, you are allowed to recover your
cost (investment) in your retirement plan in ac-
cordance with Internal Revenue Code §72, then
the first $6,000 of the balance is exempt from
tax.  If you receive income from military retire-
ment, you may adjust your figures if the payment
includes Survivor’s Benefit Payments.  The
amount of adjustment will have to be listed on
the income statement and supporting documen-
tation will have to be submitted with the return.

11. If you received an IRA distribution after reaching
the age of fifty-nine and one-half (59 1/2), the first
$6,000 is exempt from tax. Your IRA distribution
may be adjusted for nondeductable IRA contri-
butions, if any, by completing federal form 8606
and attaching to your Arkansas return. Prema-
ture distributions made on account of the
participant’s death or disability also qualify for the
exemption.  All other premature distributions or
early withdrawals including, but not limited to,
those taken for medical-related expenses, higher
education expenses, or a first-time home pur-
chase do not qualify for the exemption.

A surviving spouse qualifies for the exemption. How-
ever a surviving spouse is limited to a single $6,000
exemption.

NOTE: The total exemptions from all plans de-
scribed under 10 and 11 cannot exceed
$6,000 per taxpayer not including recovery
of cost.

K. IF YOU NEED MORE TIME TO FILE

If you request an extension of time to file your Federal
income tax return (by filing Federal Form 4868 with the
IRS) you are entitled to receive the same extension on
your Arkansas income tax return.  In order to take ad-
vantage of the Federal  Extension for state purposes,
you must check the appropriate box on the face of the
Arkansas return indicating that you have filed a federal
extension.

The Department no longer requires that a copy of Fed-
eral Form 4868 be attached to  your state tax return as
long as the appropriate box is checked on the front of
the return.

The federal automatic extension extends the deadline
to file until October 15th.  When the return is complete
and ready to file, simply check the appropriate box on
the face of the return.

NOTE: If the appropriate box on the front of the
AR1000 is not checked, you will not receive
credit for your federal extension.

If you do not file a Federal Extension, you must file an
Arkansas extension using Form AR1055 before the
filing due date of April 17th.

Send your request to:

Manager
ATTN: Extension
Individual Income Tax Section
P.O. Box 3628
Little Rock, AR 72203-3628

NOTE: The maximum extension that will be
granted on an AR1055 is one hundred and
twenty (120) days extending the due date
until August 15th.

The date of the postmark stamped by the U.S. Postal
Service is the date you filed your return or request for
extension.

Attach a copy of your approved AR1055 extension to
the face of your tax return WHEN YOU FILE.  IF YOU
DO NOT ATTACH YOUR EXTENSION, YOUR RE-
TURN WILL BE CONSIDERED DELINQUENT AND
PENALTIES WILL BE ASSESSED.  Inability to
pay is not a valid reason to request an Ar-
kansas Extension.

Interest will be due if any tax due is not
paid by April 17, 2006.

Failure To Pay Penalty will be due on any
unpaid balance if at least ninety percent
(90%) of the tax due is not paid by April 17,
2006.

L. HOW TO COMPLETE YOUR ARKAN-
SAS RETURN

Residents of Arkansas need to complete Form
AR1000.  Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents need
to complete Form AR1000NR.  The following instruc-
tions will apply to both returns unless a specific desig-
nation is made.

Please note the instructions marked for Residents only,
or Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents only.

STAPLE all required W-2’s, 1099’s, schedules and ex-
planations to your return.  Use only BLUE or
BLACK INK, or TYPE.

If you received your income tax return through the mail
and there is a colored peel off label inside the booklet,
use the colored label only if all the information on the
label is correct.   As a security measure, the
label no longer includes your social secu-
rity number(s).  You MUST enter your so-
cial security number(s) on your return, in
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the space provided, or your return cannot
be processed and will be returned to you.

Be sure that your name(s) and address are correct.
Place the colored label in the identification block of the
tax return only if it is correct.  If it is not correct or you do
not have a label, enter the name, address, and Social
Security Number for you and your spouse.  Be sure to
enter the telephone number for your home and your
work.

NOTE: If you are married filing on the same form
and using different last names, you must
separate the last names by using a slash.

EXAMPLE: John Q. and Mary M.
Doe/Smith or Mary M. and John Q.
Smith/Doe.

Be sure that the placement of the last
name matches placement of the first
name. You must be legally married to file
in this manner.

FILING  STATUS
DETERMINING YOUR FILING STATUS

LINE 1, Filing Status 1

Check this box if you are SINGLE or UNMARRIED
and DO NOT qualify as HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD.
(Read the section for “Line 3” to determine if you qualify
for HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD.)  Check the boxes on
LINE 7A that describe you.

LINE 2, Filing Status 2

Check this box if you are MARRIED and are filing jointly.
IF YOU ARE FILING A JOINT RETURN, YOU MUST
ADD BOTH SPOUSES’ INCOME TOGETHER.  EN-
TER THE TOTAL AMOUNT IN “COLUMN A” on Line
8 through Line 23 UNDER YOUR INCOME.  Check
the boxes on Line 7A that describe you.

LINE 3, Filing Status 3

To claim yourself as the Head of Household you must
have been unmarried or legally separated on Decem-
ber 31, 2005 and meet either 1 or 2 below.  The term
“Unmarried” includes certain married persons who live
apart, as discussed below.

1. You paid over half the cost of keeping up a home
for the entire year, that was the main home of
your parent whom you can claim as a depen-
dent.  Your parent did not have to live with you in
your home, OR

2. You paid over half the cost of keeping a home in
which you lived and in which one of the following
also lived for more than six (6) months of the
year (temporary absences, such as vacation or
school, are counted as time lived in the home):

a. Your unmarried child, grandchild, great-
grandchild, etc., adopted child, or stepchild.
This child does not have to be your depen-
dent, but your foster child must be your de-
pendent.

b. Your married child, grandchild, etc., adopted
child, or stepchild.  This child must be your
dependent.

c. Any other relative whom you can claim as
a dependent.

Check the box on Line 3 and check the two (2) or more
boxes on Line 7A that describe you.

MARRIED PERSONS WHO LIVE APART

Even if you were not divorced or legally separated in
2005, you may be considered unmarried and file as
Head of Household.  See Internal Revenue Service
instructions for Head of Household to determine if you
qualify.

MARRIED COUPLES READING THIS MAY
SAVE MONEY.

If you and your spouse have separate incomes, you
will probably want to figure your tax separately.

Couples often save money by figuring their tax this
way. Explained below are two different methods to fig-
ure your taxes separately.  Use the ONE that suits you
best.

METHOD A. List your income separately under
Column A (Your Income). List
spouse’s income separately under
Column B (Spouse Income). Figure
your tax separately and then add your
taxes together. See instructions for Fil-
ing Status 4, Line 4 below.

If you use Method A, your net result will be either a
COMBINED REFUND or a COMBINED TAX DUE.

METHOD B. File separate individual tax returns.
See instructions for Line 5, Filing Sta-
tus 5.

If you use Method B, one of you may owe tax and the
other may get a refund.  In that case, you will have two
different situations. Each one must be handled as a
separate transaction. The tax due must be paid with
the proper tax return and the refund will be made on
the other one. YOU MAY NOT OFFSET ONE
AGAINST THE OTHER.

Line 4, Filing Status 4

Check this box if you are Married and filing SEPA-
RATELY ON THE SAME TAX RETURN. This is a
method of tax computation which may reduce the tax
liability if both spouses have income. The net result will
be either a combined refund or a combined tax due.

IF ONE SPOUSE HAS A TOTAL NEGATIVE INCOME,
YOU MUST FILE STATUS 2, MARRIED FILING
JOINTLY.

LINE 5, Filing Status 5

Check this box if you are married and filing separate
tax returns.  Check the box or boxes that describe only
you on Line 7A.

LINE 6, Filing Status 6

Check this box if you are a QUALIFYING WIDOW(ER).
Check the box or boxes that describe you on Line 7A.

You are eligible to claim yourself as a QUALIFYING
WIDOW(ER) if your spouse died in 2003 or 2004 and
you have not remarried and meet the following tests:

1. You were entitled to file a MARRIED FILING
JOINTLY or MARRIED FILING SEPARATELY
ON THE SAME RETURN, with your spouse for
the year your spouse died. (It does not matter
whether you actually filed a joint return.)

2. You did not remarry before the end of the tax
year.

3. You have a child, stepchild, adopted child or fos-
ter child who qualified as your dependent for the
year.

4. You paid more than half the cost of keeping up
your home, which is the main home of that child
for the entire year except for temporary absences.

PERSONAL
TAX CREDITS

THE PERSONAL TAX CREDITS HAVE IN-
CREASED FROM $20 to $21 FOR TAX YEARS
BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2005.

LINE 7A.  You can claim additional Personal Tax Cred-
its if you can answer “Yes” to any of these questions:

On January 1, 2006, were you age 65 or
older?

On December 31, 2005, were you deaf?

On December 31, 2005, were you blind?

Check the box or boxes that apply to you and/or your
spouse.  You CANNOT claim any of these credits for
your children or dependents.

Blindness is defined as any person who cannot tell
light from darkness or whose eyesight in the better
eye does not exceed 20/200 with corrective lens, or
whose field of vision is limited to an angle of 20 de-
grees.  You can claim the Deaf Credit only if the aver-
age loss in speech frequencies (500 to 2000 Hertz) in
the better ear is 86 decibels, I.S.O., or worse.

Any taxpayer age 65 and older not claiming a retire-
ment income exemption on Line 19, is eligible for an
additional $21 (per taxpayer) tax credit.  Check the
block marked “65 Special”.

Add the number of boxes you checked on Line 7A.
Write the total in the box provided.  Multiply the num-
ber by $21 and write your final answer in the space
provided.

LINE 7B.  List the name(s) of your dependent(s) in
the space provided on this line.  DO NOT INCLUDE
YOURSELF AND/OR YOUR SPOUSE.  The individu-
als you can claim as dependents are described in Sec-
tion I, Number 6, of these instructions.

Add the number of boxes you checked on Line 7B.
Write the total in the box provided.  Multiply the num-
ber by $21 and write your final answer in the space
provided.

LINE 7C.  If one or more of your dependents are
developmentally disabled individuals, enter the num-
ber in the box on Line 7C and multiply by $500.  Enter
the total at the end of this line. (See item H of the in-
structions for additional information.)
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LINE 7D.  Total the tax credits from Lines 7A, 7B
and 7C.  Enter the total on this line and on Line 36.

THE FOLLOWING LINE-BY-LINE IN-
STRUCTIONS REFER TO BOTH THE
AR1000 FULL YEAR RESIDENT AND THE
AR1000NR NONRESIDENT/PART-YEAR
RESIDENT FORMS.

FULL YEAR RESIDENTS MUST USE THE AR1000.

If your filing status is Single, Married Filing Joint,
Head of Household, Married Filing Separately on
Different Returns, or Qualifying Widow(er), only
Column A will be used.  Write your income in Col-
umn A only.  If your filing status is Married Filing
Separately on the Same Return both Column A and
Column B will be used.  Write your income in Col-
umn A and your Spouse’s in Column B.

NONRESIDENTS AND PART-YEAR RESIDENTS
MUST USE THE AR1000NR.  ATTACH A COPY
OF YOUR FEDERAL RETURN OR YOUR
RETURN WILL NOT BE PROCESSED.

Complete Column A and Column B of the AR1000NR
the same as full year residents listed above.  You
must list all of your income as if you were a full
year resident.  List all of your income from all sources
for the entire year in these two columns.

The income to be listed in Column C is the total
combined income for both spouses earned while
Arkansas residents and/or income derived from
Arkansas sources.

Use all three columns to calculate the amount of
Arkansas Tax Liability. The total tax must be com-
puted on the income totals in Columns A and B.
After all allowable tax credits have been subtracted
from the total tax, the remaining balance will be
prorated. The proration percentage is determined
by dividing Column C by the total of Columns A and
B.

INCOME
Round off all income figures to the near-
est dollar amounts.  For example, if your W-2
Form shows $10,897.50, round to $10,898.  If the
amount on the W-2 Form is $10,897.49, round to
$10,897.

LINE 8.  Add the wages, salaries, tips, etc. listed
on your W-2(s).  Enter the total on this line.

Enter U. S. Military Compensation Pay on Line 9 or
Line 10, page AR1 or NR1, and/or U.S. Military Com-
pensation Retired Pay on Line 19, page AR1 or
NR1.

Be sure you staple the State copy of each
of your W-2(s) and a copy of your 1099-R(s)
to the front left margin of the return.

LINE 9A.  If you have U.S. Military Officer’s
Compensation Pay, enter gross income in the space
provided.  You are entitled to a $6,000 exemption
from the gross income.  The balance is taxable.
Attach W-2(s).

LINE 9B.  (FILING STATUS 4 ONLY).  If
your spouse has U.S. Military Officer’s Com-

pensation Pay, enter gross income in the space
provided.  Your spouse is entitled to a $6,000
exemption from the gross income.  The balance
is taxable.  Attach W-2(s).

LINE 10A.  If you have U.S. Military Enlisted
Compensation Pay, enter gross income in the
space provided.  You are entitled to a $9,000
exemption from the gross income.  The balance
is taxable.  Attach W-2(s).

LINE 10B.  (FILING STATUS 4 ONLY).  If
your spouse has U.S. Military Enlisted Com-
pensation Pay, enter gross income in the space
provided.  Your spouse is entitled to a $9,000
exemption from the gross income.  The balance
is taxable.  Attach W-2(s).

If your receive enlisted pay and officers
pay in the same year, prorate each ex-
emption by the number of days you re-
ceived each type of pay divided by total
days in the year.

LINE 9 AND 10, FILING STATUS 2 ONLY
If you and your spouse both have U.S. Military Com-
pensation Pay, enter your gross incomes in the
appropriate spaces provided on Lines 9 and/or 10.
You and your spouse are each entitled to an ex-
emption from your respective gross income de-
pending on whether the income is Officer’s pay or
Enlisted pay. The balance is taxable.  Attach W-
2(s).

FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL STATIONED
IN ARKANSAS WITH STATE OF RESI-
DENCE OTHER THAN ARKANSAS:

Do not include your military wages on
Lines 9 or 10. Your income is reported
to your state of residency only and should
not be used in the calculation of your Ar-
kansas liability.

Your non-military wages, if any, must be
included on Line 8.

LINE 11.  If you are a duly ordained or licensed
minister receiving a housing allowance from your
church and you do not file a Schedule C or C-EZ,
complete this line by entering your gross compen-
sation from the ministry less rental value of a home.
The balance is subject to tax.  Attach W-2(s) if
not using Schedule C or C-EZ.

LINE 12.  If you have interest from bank deposits,
notes, mortgages, corporation bonds, savings and
loan association deposits, and credit union depos-
its, enter all interest received or credited to your
account during the year on the line provided. If the
amount is over $1,500, complete form AR4.

LINE 13.  If you have dividends and other distri-
butions, enter amounts received as dividends from
stocks in any corporation in the space provided.  If
the amount is over $1,500, complete form AR4.

LINE 14.  If you received alimony or separate
maintenance as the result of a court order, enter
the total amount in the space provided.

LINE 15.  If you have business or professional
income and file a Federal Schedule C or C-EZ, at-
tach a copy of your Federal Schedule.  If you choose

this method, enter the total dollar amount(s), net
income (or loss), from your Federal Schedule C or
C-EZ in the spaces provided.  If you do not attach
a copy of your Federal Schedule C or C-EZ as
described above, you must submit a similar sched-
ule and enter the net income (or loss) in the space
provided.  Business income may not be split be-
tween you and your spouse unless a partnership
is legally established.  Report Partnership Income
on Form AR1050 and attach K-1’s for each partner.

Include any depreciation adjustment that
arises from Arkansas not adopting the
bonus depreciation and higher Section
179 expense provisions of the Internal
Revenue Code on Line 22, Other Income.

LINE 16.  If you have gains or losses from the
sale of real estate, stocks, bonds, or gains or losses
from capital assets from Partnerships, S Corpora-
tions or Fiduciaries, enter your taxable share in the
space provided. Be sure to adjust the
amount of gain or loss for any federal/
state depreciation differences.

If, after the netting process, you have a capital gain
or loss reported on the Federal Schedule D or on
Form 1040/1040A, use Arkansas Form AR1000D
to determine the taxable amount to enter on AR1000/
AR1000NR, Line 16. Be sure to attach the
federal schedule and Form AR1000D to
your return.

The amount of capital loss that can be deducted
after offsetting capital gains is limited to $3,000. If
your capital loss is more than the yearly limit on
capital loss deductions, you can carry over the
unused part to later years until it is completely used
up.

The gain on the sale of your personal residence is
exempt up to $250,000 per taxpayer ($500,000 for
Status 2 and 4 filers).  The property must, during the 5
year period ending on the day of sale, be owned and
used by the taxpayer(s) as the principal residence for
periods aggregating 2 years or more.

LINE 17.  Enter the ordinary gain or (loss) from
Part II of Federal Form 4797. Adjust for any
basis difference due to differences in Ar-
kansas and federal depreciation. The
$3,000 capital loss limit does not apply.

LINE 18.  Use this line to report taxable lump-sum
distributions, annuities, and regular IRA distributions.
Include early withdrawal of IRA distributions in your
gross income on this line. List only the amount of
withdrawal and attach the Federal schedule show-
ing the tax on premature distribution.  Also, enter
ten percent (10%) of the tax from the Federal sched-
ule 5329, Part I and Part II, on Line 34. If you re-
ceived a distribution which does not qualify for the
Lump-sum Distribution Averaging Schedule
(AR1000TD), list the total distribution received in
2005. See AR1000TD to determine if you qualify to
use the averaging method. Attach 1099-R(s).

Premature distributions are amounts you withdraw
from your IRA, Deferred Compensation, or Thrift
Savings plans you receive from your employer’s
plan before you are either age 59 ½ or disabled.
Rollovers of premature distributions are tax ex-
empt.
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LINE 19A.  You are eligible for the $6,000 exemp-
tion for retirement or disability benefits provided
the distribution is from public or private employment
related retirement systems, plans or programs.  (The
recipient need not be retired.)  The method of fund-
ing is irrelevant.  The exemption may be from either
lump-sum or installment payments.  The early with-
drawal penalty may be applicable even though the
exemption is granted.

If you received an IRA distribution after reaching
the age of fifty-nine and one-half (59 1/2), the first
$6,000 is exempt from tax. Premature distributions
made on account of the participant’s death or dis-
ability also qualify for the exemption. All other pre-
mature distributions or early withdrawals includ-
ing, but not limited to, those taken for medical-re-
lated expenses, higher education expenses, or a
first-time home purchase do not qualify for the
exemption.

If you have income from an Employment Related
Pension Plan or a qualified IRA distribution, enter
the gross amount from Box 1 of your 1099R(s) in
the space provided. Enter the federal taxable
amount from Box 2a of your 1099R(s) in the space
provided. If Box 2a is blank, then use the Simplified
Method Worksheet provided in your federal 1040
Instruction booklet to calculate the taxable amount
of your distribution. You are entitled to a $6,000
exemption from the federal taxable amount, the
balance is taxable to Arkansas. Enter the balance
on Line 19A, Column A.  Attach 1099-R(s).

(FILING STATUS 2 ONLY).  If you and your spouse
both have income from a retirement plan or a quali-
fied IRA distribution, enter the combined gross in-
come amount from Box 1 of your 1099R(s) in the
space provided. Enter the combined federal tax-
able amount from Box 2a of your 1099R(s) in the
space provided. If Box 2a is blank, then use the
Simplified Method Worksheet provided in your fed-
eral 1040 Instruction booklet to calculate the tax-
able amount of your distribution. Both you and your
spouse are entitled to a $6,000 exemption from
your respective federal taxable retirement plan in-
come.  The balance is taxable to Arkansas. Enter
the balance on Line 19A. Attach 1099-R(s).

LINE 19B.  (FILING STATUS 4 ONLY).  If your spouse
has income from an Employment Related Pension
Plan or a qualified IRA distribution, enter the gross
income from Box 1 of his or her 1099R(s) in the
space provided. Enter the federal taxable amount
from Box 2a of his or her 1099R(s) in the space
provided. If Box 2a is blank, then use the Simplified
Method Worksheet provided in your federal 1040
Instruction booklet to calculate the taxable amount
of his or her distribution. Your spouse is entitled to
a $6,000 exemption from the federal taxable in-
come. The balance is taxable to Arkansas. Enter
the balance on Line 19B. Attach 1099-R(s).

Note: If you made nondeductible contributions to
your IRA, enter taxable amount from federal form
8606 in the space provided.  Attach the federal
Form 8606 to your return.

McFadden Claimants Only: If you were en-
titled to a claim under McFadden v. Weiss, your
Arkansas basis (cost of contributions) in your re-
tirement plan has changed.

Retirees that retired in 1999 or prior will have zero
(0) basis in their retirement, therefore their taxable
amount will be the same as their gross distribution
regardless what the 1099R indicates. Deduct the
$6,000 exemption from your gross distribution and
include this amount on line 19A or 19B.

Retirees that retired in 2000 or later may still have
some basis in their retirement. Use the worksheet
below to determine the amount of cost recovery
you can deduct for 2005.

LINE 20.  If you have income from rents and
royalties, an estate or trust, profits (whether re-
ceived or not) from partnerships, fiduciaries, small
business corporations, etc., enter the amount as
reported on your Federal Schedule E in the space
provided.  If you are filing a return on a taxable year
that is not the same as the annual accounting pe-
riod of your partnership or trust, include in the re-
turn your distributive share of net profits in the
accounting period that ends with your taxable year.

Nonresident beneficiaries pay tax only on Arkan-
sas income.

LINE 21.  If you have farm income, enter the
amount reported on your Federal Schedule F in the
space(s) provided.  Farm income may not be split
between you and your spouse unless a partner-
ship is legally established.  Partnership income must

be reported on Form AR1050, with K-1(s) for each
partner.

LINE 22.  Enter all taxable income for which no
other place is provided on the return. Attach a state-
ment explaining the source and amount of the in-
come.  Examples of income to be reported on this
line are: prizes, awards, T.V. and radio contest
winnings (cash or merchandise), and gambling win-
nings.  You must report reimbursement of medical
expenses from a previous year, if you itemized
deductions and it reduced your tax.

Include amounts you recovered on bad debts that
you deducted in an earlier year.

Include any depreciation adjustment that
arises from Arkansas not adopting the
bonus depreciation and higher Section
179 expense provisions of the Internal
Revenue Code.

Scholarships, fellowships, and stipends:

A scholarship or fellowship is exempt from tax only
if:

1) You are a candidate for a degree at an
educational institution, and
2) The grant is a qualified scholarship or
fellowship.

A qualified scholarship or fellowship is any amount
you receive as a scholarship or fellowship grant
that is used under the terms of the grant for:

1. Tuition and fees required to enroll in, or
2. Fees, books, supplies, and equipment that are
required for, the courses at the educational
institution. These items must be required of all
students in your course instruction.

Foreign students who are exempt from federal
taxes because of a tax treaty must file and pay tax
on all income including nonqualified scholarship or
fellowship income.

Stipends are taxable.

If you had a net operating loss (NOL) in an earlier
year to carry forward to 2005, enter it as a nega-
tive amount on this line.  Attach a statement show-
ing how you calculated the amount of loss and the
year the loss occurred. A net operating loss may
be carried forward for five (5) years.

LINE 23.  Add Lines 8 through 22 and enter the
totals in the appropriate columns on this line.  This
is your Total Income.

Full year residents must use the AR1000.  Nonresi-
dents and part year residents must use the
AR1000NR.  Column A is used for Filing Status 1, 2,
3, 5 and 6; Columns A and B are used if Filing Status
4.  On the AR1000NR Column C will be the total
income earned while an Arkansas resident and/or
income derived from Arkansas sources.

ADJUSTMENTS
Use Form AR1000ADJ to report allow-
able adjustmants that are not referred
to in these instructions.

1. Enter your total
cost of contributions to
your retirement plan. ........... 1 _________

2. Enter the amount of allowable
claims under
McFadden v. Weiss. ............ 2 _________

3. Subtract Line 2 from Line 1
(If zero or less, enter -0-) ... 3 _________
Note: If Line 3 is -0-, you do not
have any Arkansas basis in your plan.

4. Enter amount of cost
recovery claimed on your
2003 Arkansas return. ........ 4 _________

5. Enter amount of cost
recovery claimed on your
2004 Arkansas return. ........ 5 _________

6. Subtract Line 4 and 5 from
Line 3.
(If zero or less, enter -0-) ... 6 _________
Note: If Line 6 is -0-, you do not have any
Arkansas basis in your plan.

7. Enter amount of cost recovery for
2005 from your 1099R or by using
the Simplified Method. ......... 7 _________

8. Enter the lesser of Line 6
or Line 7 ............................... 8 _________
Note: This is your allowable cost recovery
deduction for 2005. Subtract this amount from
your gross distribution to determine your tax-
able amount before your $6,000 exemption.

9. Subtract Line 8 from Line 6.
(If zero or less, enter -0-) ... 9 _________
Note: This is your cost of contribution
carryover. If Line 9 is -0-, you do not have a
carryover.

MCFADDEN CLAIMANT
WORKSHEET
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Caution: If you qualify to use the low in-
come table, enter zero (0) on
Line 29A. The Standard deduc-
tion is already calculated for
you and is built into the low in-
come tax table.

• YOU USE THE REGULAR TABLE

If you do not qualify for the low income table, enter
the larger of your itemized deductions or your Stan-
dard deduction.

Itemized Deductions.

To compute your itemized deductions, complete form
AR3.  Please make sure that your total itemized
deductions exceed the amount of the standard de-
duction.

NOTE: If you use filing Status 4 or 5, and one
spouse itemizes, then both taxpayers
must itemize.

Standard Deduction.

To compute your Standard deduction, find your fil-
ing status below:

Single: $2,000 or amount of
AGI on Line 28 if less
than $2,000.

Married Filing Joint: $4,000 or amount of
AGI on Line 28 if less
than $4,000.

Head of Household: $2,000 or amount of
AGI on Line 28 if less
than $2,000.

Married Filing Separately $2000 each or
on Same Return: amount of AGI on

Line 28A and 28B
if  less than $2,000.

Married Filing Separately $2,000 or amount of
on Different Return: AGI on Line 28 if less

than $2,000.

Qualifying Widow(er): $2,000 or amount of
AGI on Line 28 if less
than $2,000.

NOTE: The $2,000 Standard Deduction does
not apply to taxpayer’s dependents.

You must subtract your Standard Deduction from
your Adjusted Gross Income to arrive at your Net
Taxable Income, just like you do on your Federal
return.

LINE 30.  Subtract Line 29 from Line 28.  This is
your Net Taxable Income.

LINE 31. IF YOU QUALIFY FOR THE LOW IN-
COME TAX TABLE, find the amount of your income
on Tax Table 1.  Locate the tax on your income
under the column that describes your Filing Status.
Enter the tax you owe on Line 31, page AR2/NR2.

1. Enter the total interest you
paid in 2005 on qualified
student loans. ...................... 1 _________

2. Enter the smaller of Line 1
above or $2,500. ................. 2 _________

3. Enter the amount(s) from
AR1000/AR1000NR, Line(s)
23A and 23B ........................ 3 _________

4. Enter AGI amount without
regard to the Deduction for
Interest Paid on Student
Loans, Line 4, AR1000ADJ . 4 _________

5. Modified AGI. Subtract Line
4 from Line 3 ....................... 5 _________
Note: If line 5 is $65,000 or more and you
are filing Status 1, 3, or 6 or $135,000 or
more and filing Status 2 or 4, STOP HERE,
you cannot take the deduction.

6. Enter: $50,000 if filing Status
1, 3, or 6; $105,000 if filing
Status 2 or 4 ........................ 6 _________

7. Subtract Line 6 from Line 5.
If zero or less, enter -0- here
and on Line 9, skip Line 8,
and go to Line 10 ................. 7 _________

8. Divide Line 7 by $15,000 ($30,000 if using
filing Status 2 or 4.) Enter the result as a
decimal (rounded to at least three
 places). ............................... 8 _________

9. Multiple Line 2 by Line 8 ..... 9 _________
10. Allowable Deduction. Subtract

Line 9 from Line 2. Enter the
result here and on Form
AR1000ADJ, Line 4. .......... 10 _________

STUDENT LOAN INTEREST
WORKSHEET

LINE 24.  To claim the Texarkana exemption, you
must file a return and report all the Arkansas in-
come you received during the year. Enter the ex-
empted income on Line 24 as an adjustment.

For W-2 income you must attach Form AR-TX sup-
plied by your employer with your W-2(s).

The Form AR-TX is not required for non wage in-
come such as Interest, Dividends, Schedule C (sole
proprietor), Schedule F (farm), Schedule E (rents,
royalties, partnerships, etc.) or retirement, etc. Ad-
ditional information may be required to verify if an
adjustment for these types of income is allowed.

NOTE: Taxpayers who claim this exemption
must file using their street address in
Texarkana, AR or Texarkana, TX.  If you
use a P.O. Box, this exemption will  not
be allowed.

If you live within the city limits of Texarkana, AR,
you are allowed a full exemption from Arkansas
income taxation.  Part-year Texarkana residents
should claim the exemption only on the income
earned while a resident of Texarkana, AR.

If you live within the city limits of Texarkana, Texas,
you are allowed to deduct only the income you
earned in the city limits of Texarkana, Arkansas.  All
other Arkansas income is taxable to you.

LINE 25. If you have other allowable adjustments,
use Form AR1000ADJ and include the total on this
line. Attach Form AR1000ADJ.

LINE 26. Add Lines 24 and 25 and enter the total
on this line. This is your Total Adjustments.

LINE 27.  Subtract the total on Line 26, Total
Adjustments, from the total on Line 23, Total
Income.  Enter the balance on this line.  This is
your Adjusted Gross Income (AGI).

TAX COMPUTATION
LINE 28.  Enter the amounts from Line 27 A and B,
page AR1/NR1 (Adjusted Gross Income) on this
line.

LINE 29.  SELECT THE PROPER TAX TABLE
Check the appropriate box. You will fall into one of
the categories listed:

(1) You qualify for the Low Income Table
(2) You use the Regular Tax Table

• YOU QUALIFY FOR THE LOW INCOME
TABLE

If you meet the requirements below and your Adjusted
Gross Income falls within the following limits:

$0 - $11,400 Filing Status 1 - (Single)

$0 - $16,200 Filing Status 2 – (Married Filing
Joint – all income reported in col-
umn A) or Filing Status 6 –
(QualifyingWidow(er) with de-
pendent child)

$0 - $16,200 Filing Status 3 – (Head of House-
hold)

NOTE: Taxpayers filing Status 4 or 5
MAY NOT use the Low Income
Tax Table 1.

Part-year residents and nonresidents do qualify to
use the low income tax table if their income from all
sources meets the Low Income Tax Table income
requirements.

If you use an exclusion for military compensation
pay, the employer sponsored pension income or
qualified IRA distribution, you do not qualify for the
Low Income Tax Tables. You may elect NOT TO
USE the exclusion(s) to which you are entitled and
use the Low Income Tax Table if you fall within the
income limits.

Phases Out
When AGI
Exceeds

Will Be Zero
When AGI

Is

$50,000

$70,000

$0

$150,000

$60,000

$80,000

$10,000

$160,000

IF YOUR FILING
STATUS IS:

YOUR ALLOWABLE IRA
DEDUCTION

Single,
Head of Household,

Married Filing Joint
Return (Status 2 or 4),
Qualifying Widow(er)

Married Filing
Separate Return

Nonactive Spouse
(Income Computed Jointly)

IRA PHASE OUT CHART
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IF YOU DO NOT QUALIFY FOR THE LOW INCOME
TAX TABLE, find the amount of your taxable in-
come on Regular Table 2. After you have found the
correct tax, enter the amount on Line 31A if Filing
Status is 1, 2, 3, 5 or  6.  Use Lines 31A and 31B if
Filing Status 4, Married Filing Separately on the same
return.

LINE 32.  Add Lines 31A and 31B together.  Enter
total on Line 32.

LINE 33.  If you received a lump-sum (total) distri-
bution from a qualified retirement plan during 2005,
you may be eligible to use the averaging method to
figure some of your tax at a lower rate. Please
read the instructions on the back of Form AR1000TD
carefully to be sure you are eligible to use this
method.  Complete the Form AR1000TD and enter
the amount on Line 33, Form AR1000. Attach
Form AR1000TD

LINE 34.  Taxpayers subject to IRA, or employer
qualified retirement plan penalties and tax on their
Federal Return are subject to penalties and tax on
their State Return.  Enter ten percent (10%) of the
Federal penalty amount from Part I of the Federal
Form 5329 on this line.  Be sure to enter total distri-
butions from Part I Form 5329, on Line 18 or 19,
page AR1/NR1.

If you are subject to a penalty on a distribution from
a Coverdell education savings account, include ten
percent (10%) of the Federal penalty amount from
Part II of the Federal Form 5329 on this line. Be sure
to include the taxable amount of the Coverdell edu-
cation savings account distribution on Line 22, page
AR1/NR1 (Other Income).

LINE 35. Add Lines 32 through 34.  Enter the total
on this line.

TAX CREDITS
LINE 36.  Enter the total personal tax credits from
Line 7D in the space provided.

LINE 37.  Enter the amount of allowable State
Political Contributions Credit on this line. The allow-
able credit shall not exceed fifty dollars ($50) on an
individual’s return who is filing status 1, 3, 5 or 6;
one hundred dollars ($100) on a joint return filing
status 2 or 4.  Attach Form AR1800 or you may
attach your own schedule which must include the
candidate’s name, office sought, the amount of the
contribution and the total of all political contribu-
tions.

LINE 38.  If you are an Arkansas resident and
included income on your Arkansas Return that was
also taxed by another state, you may claim a credit
for the income tax portion of taxes paid to the other
state on that income.

A tax credit is allowed for a resident shareholder’s
pro rata share of any net income tax paid by a Sub
S Corporation to a state that does not recognize
Sub S Corporation status.

The income tax withheld from your wages by an-
other state is NOT the amount of tax you owed the
other state.  For that reason, YOU MUST ATTACH A
COPY OF THE TAX RETURN YOU FILED WITH THE
OTHER STATE(S) to your Arkansas Return.  Make

sure it is signed.  Write the amount of the net in-
come tax liability to the other state(s) in the space
provided.

NOTE: This credit cannot exceed the Arkan-
sas Income Tax on the same income
and cannot exceed the total tax you owe
Arkansas.  Nonresidents cannot claim
this credit on their Arkansas Return. Part
Year residents see additional instruc-
tions on Page 12

LINE 39.  Child Care Credit allowed on the Arkan-
sas Return is computed by taking twenty percent
(20%) of the amount allowed on your Federal Re-
turn.  A copy of the “Credit for Child and Dependent
Care Expenses” Federal Form 2441 or a copy of
your 1040A, Schedule 2 must be attached to your
Arkansas Return.  If this credit is for Approved
Early Childhood Credit, see instructions for Line 48.

LINE 40.  The Adoption Expense Credit is com-
puted by taking twenty percent (20%) of the amount
taken on your Federal Return.  A copy of Federal
Form 8839 must be attached to your Arkansas Re-
turn.

LINE 41.  Enter the allowable Phenylketonuria
Disorder Credit on this line. Attach Form AR1113.

LINE 42.  Business and Incentives Credit.  From
the Business and Incentives Tax Credits summary
schedule (AR1020BIC), enter the total allowable
credits in the space provided.  The various credits
available are listed below:

Biotechnology Development
Capital Development Corporation
County & Regional Industrial Development
Economic Development
Employer Provided Early Childhood Program
Enterprise Zone Program
Equipment Donation or Sale Below Cost
Family Savings Initiative
Manufacturing Investment
Private Wetland & Riparian Zone
Public Roads Improvement
Tourism Project Development
Tuition Reimbursement
Venture Capital Investment
Waste Reduction & Recycling Equipment
Water Resource Conservation
Workforce Training
Youth Apprenticeship
Rice Straw

NOTE: For details on each of these tax credits,
please refer to the Business and Incen-
tive Tax Credit Package which contains
forms required for each credit adminis-
tered by the Division.  Business Tax
Credit forms may be obtained from the
Department of Finance and Administra-
tion, Tax Credits Section, P. O Box 1272,
Little Rock, Arkansas 72203, telephone
number (501) 682-7106.

LINE 43.  Add Lines 36 through Line 42.  Enter the
total on Line 43.

LINE 44.  Subtract Line 43 from Line 35.  This is
your Net Tax.  If Line 43 is greater than Line 35,
enter zero (0).

IF YOU ARE FILING A FULL YEAR RESIDENT RE-
TURN, please go to the instructions for Line 45.

TAX APPORTIONMENT FOR NONRESI-
DENTS AND PART-YEAR RESIDENTS

NONRESIDENTS AND PART-YEAR RESI-
DENTS ONLY, please read the following  instruc-
tions closely to determine the correct amount of your
Arkansas Tax Liability.   You must attach a com-
plete copy of your Federal return.

The instructions for Line 44A through Line 44D ap-
ply only to Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents.
Full Year Residents must skip directly to Line 45.

LINE 44A.  Enter the total income from Line 27,
Column C.

LINE 44B.  Add Columns A and B from Line 27.
Enter the total in the space provided.

LINE 44C.  Divide the amount on Line 44A by the
amount on Line 44B to arrive at your Arkansas
percentage of income. Enter your percentage
as a whole number, rounding the percent-
age to the nearest whole percent.

If your percentage is less than 1%: Do not
round to one (1) or zero (0), carry the figure out to
six additional places to the right of the decimal.

Example:  $2,500/$525,000 = .00476190
(Enter as 00.476190)

LINE 44D.  Multiply the amount on Line 44 by the
percentage on Line 44C.  This is the amount of
apportioned tax liability on your Arkansas income.

PAYMENTS
LINE 45.  Enter the amount of Arkansas State
Income Tax withheld that is listed on your W-2(s).
You have already paid this amount of tax during the
year.  If you have MORE THAN ONE W-2, be sure to
combine the Arkansas Income Tax withheld on all
W-2 (s).  Write the total in the space provided.

IF YOU AND YOUR SPOUSE ARE FILING ON THE
SAME RETURN, add the Arkansas State Income
Tax withheld on both your W-2 (s).  Enter combined
total in the space provided.

WHAT TO DO IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A W-2

If you did not receive (or lost) your W-2(s) and if
Arkansas tax was withheld from your income, ask
your employer(s) for copies of your W-2(s)

If you have made a reasonable effort to get your
W-2(s) and you still do not have one, complete a
Federal Form 4852.  On the Federal Form 4852,
write the amount of State Income Tax withheld.
You will also need to attach a copy of a check stub
or other documentation to support your figures.
Attach these items securely to your State return.
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CAUTION: You WILL NOT receive credit for tax
withheld or receive a tax refund, un-
less you attach the CORRECT AND
LEGIBLE W-2(s) or explanations to
your tax return.

DO NOT include FICA, Federal Income Tax, or tax
paid to another state in the amount you write on
Line 45.

DO NOT try to correct a W-2(s) yourself.  Your
employer must issue you a corrected W-2 (s).

LINE 46.  If you made an Estimated Declaration
and paid estimated tax payments on 2005 income
OTHER THAN wages, salaries, tips, etc., write the
amounts paid in this space.  The only amounts you
may put on Line 46 are payments you made on a
2005 Declaration of Estimated Income Tax which
includes the January 15, 2006 installment and/or
credit brought forward from your 2004 tax return.

DO NOT include PENALTIES OR INTEREST as part
of the amount paid.

If you and your spouse filed a JOINT declaration
and you and your spouse choose to file your an-
nual returns on separate forms this year, the pay-
ment made under the joint declaration of estimate
will be credited to the primary filer.

NOTE: If you are filing prior year tax returns
past the due date of the tax return, the
refund/overpayment from those tax re-
turns can not be carried forward as es-
timated tax.  These amounts will be re-
funded to you.  If you were supposed to
receive a refund from a prior year return
and never did receive it, do not list that
amount on the estimated carry forward
line of your current year tax return.  Con-
tact the Individual Income Tax Section
and a member of the staff will research
the information concerning the status of
the prior year refund.

LINE 47.  If you filed an extension request with
the State and paid tax with your request, write the
amount paid in the space provided.

LINE 48.  Enter the APPROVED early child-
hood credit equal to twenty percent (20%) of the
Federal Child Care Credit to individuals with a de-
pendent child who is placed in an APPROVED
Child Care Facility so that the parent or guardian
may pursue gainful employment.  An approved child
care facility is a facility approved by the Arkansas
Department of Education as having an appropriate
Early Childhood Program as defined by Arkansas
law.  Enter the certification number on the line where
indicated and attach Federal Form 2441 or 1040A
and Certification Form AR1000EC. Contact your
child care facility for Form AR1000EC.

LINE 49.  Add amounts on Lines 45, 46, 47 and
48 together. This is your TOTAL TAX PAID.  Write
your total in the space provided.

FIGURE YOUR TAX
DUE OR TAX REFUND

LINE 50. If Line 49 is more than Line 44 of the
AR1000 or Line 44D of the AR1000NR, you over-
paid your tax.  Write the difference on Line 50.  This
is your Overpayment.  If you want a refund
only, skip Lines 51 and 52.  Enter the amount of
your overpayment on Line 53.

YOUR REFUND INFORMATION IS FURNISHED TO
THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE.

If you itemized on your 2004 Federal income tax
return and you received a refund for State taxes
paid in 2004, you may be required to claim all or part
of the refund as income on your 2005 Federal in-
come tax return. Consult the Federal income tax
instructions for further information.

LINE 51.  You can apply part or all of the tax you
OVERPAID in 2005 to your tax in 2006.  Write in the
amount you want carried forward on Line 51.  The
overpayment will be applied directly to your 2006
Estimated Account from your 2005 AR1000 or
AR1000NR.

NOTE: The amount you carryover to pay 2006
taxes will only be credited to the pri-
mary filer, It cannot be divided between
you and your spouse.

If you wish to apply only part of Line 50 to pay 2006
tax, you will get a refund for the rest of your over-
payment.

LINE 52.  If you wish to contribute a portion or all
of your overpayment to the Arkansas Disaster Re-
lief Program, the U.S. Olympic Committee Program,
the AR Schools for the Blind and Deaf, the Baby
Sharon’s Children’s Catastrophic Illness Program,
the Organ Donor’s Awareness Education Program,
the Area Agencies on Aging Program, or  the Mili-
tary Family Relief Program, complete Schedule
AR1000CO and enter the total amount of your
donation(s) on this line.  Attach Schedule
AR1000CO behind the AR2/NR2.

LINE 53.  Subtract Lines 51 and 52 from Line 50.
This is the amount of your Refund.  If your refund
is less than $1.00, you must write a letter request-
ing the refund.

SET OFF REFUNDS
If you, your spouse or former spouse owes a debt
to the Department of Finance and Administration,
State supported colleges, universities and techni-
cal institutes, Office of Child Support Enforcement,
the Department of Human Services, the Depart-
ment of Higher Education, Arkansas Circuit, county,
district, or city courts,  the Employee Benefits Divi-
sion of the Department of Finance and Administra-
tion, to any Housing Authority, or to the Office of
Personnel Management of the Department of Fi-
nance and Administration and you have filed an
Arkansas State Income Tax return, your refund is
subject to being withheld in order to satisfy the
debt. You may have all or part of your Income Tax
Refund withheld.

If your refund has been applied to a debt of one of
these agencies, you will receive a letter advising
which agency has claimed all or part of your re-
fund.  If the debt has already been satisfied, it is the
agency’s responsibility to refund any Set Off amount
paid to the agency in error.  Contact the agency at
the telephone number furnished to you on your
“Adjustment Letter” to resolve any questions or
differences.

If you owe a debt for Arkansas income tax,
your federal refund may be captured to sat-
isfy your state income tax debt.

NOTICE TO MARRIED TAXPAYERS

If only one of the married taxpayers owes the debt,
the taxpayer who is not liable can avoid having his/
her refund applied to the debt if both taxpayers file
Status 5, married filing separately on different re-
turns.

LINE 54.  If Line 44 of the AR1000 or Line 44D of
the AR1000NR is more than Line 49, you have ad-
ditional tax to pay.  Subtract Line 49 from Line 44 of
the AR1000 or Line 44D of the AR1000NR.  Write
the amount on Line 54.  This is the TAX YOU
OWE.  Attach a check or money order to your
return.  Write your Social Security Number on the
check or money order, and make your check pay-
able to: Department of Finance and Administration,
P. O. Box 2144, Little Rock, AR  72203-2144 on or
before April 17, 2006.

If the tax you owe is less than $1.00, no remittance
is required.

NOTE: Do not send currency or coin by mail.
Postage stamps are not accepted.

You may have to pay a penalty if the tax you owe
is more than $1,000  and you did not file a Declara-
tion of Estimated Tax required by Arkansas Tax
Codes, or you did not pay adequate installments on
your estimated tax.

LINE 55A.  Enter the exception number from Part
3, or the computed penalty from Line 18 of AR2210
in the appropriate box.

NOTE: Form AR2210 must be attached and the
exception number entered in the box
on Line 55A to claim any exclusion from
the underestimate penalty.

LINE 55B.  Enter amount of penalty from Line 18,
Form AR2210.

LINE 55C.  Add Lines 54 and 55B.  Enter total on
this line.

LINE 56.  Enter the total amount from Form AR4,
Part III in the space provided.

NOTE: This entry is a memorandum entry only.
See Form AR4, Part III for nontaxable
income schedule. For additional instruc-
tions and a listing of income that is ex-
empt from tax, refer to Section J - In-
come Exempt From Tax.
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DO NOT FORGET TO SIGN YOUR NAME, WRITE
THE DATE AND ASSEMBLE YOUR RETURN AC-
CORDING TO THE INSTRUCTIONS.

Your tax return will not be legal and cannot be
processed unless you SIGN IT.  Write in the DATE.
If you and your spouse are filing a joint tax return
or filing separately on the same return, both of you
must sign it.

If someone else prepares your return, that person
must sign and complete the Preparer Information
section on page AR2/NR2.  IF YOU PREPARE YOUR
OWN RETURN, DO NOT USE THIS SECTION.

IN CASE
THE IRS AUDITS YOU

If the Internal Revenue Service examines your re-
turn for any tax year and changes your net tax-
able income, you must, within thirty (30) days from
the receipt of the notice and demand for payment
by the Internal Revenue Service, report to the Ar-
kansas Department of Finance and Administration
on an amended Arkansas income tax return the
corrected federal tax, taxable income, or taxable
estate for the taxable period covered by the change.

File an amended return for the year(s) involved
using Form AR1000A or AR1000ANR.  Attach a
copy of the federal changes to your amended re-
turn.

If you fail to notify this Department in thirty (30)
days and do not file the required amended return,
the Statue of Limitations will remain open for eight
(8) years on the year(s) in question.  Additional
interest will be figured on any tax you owe the
State of Arkansas.

IF YOU HAVE
QUESTIONS ABOUT

YOUR TAX
RETURN OR REFUND

If you have any questions when you fill out your
Individual Income Tax Return, please let us know.

Here are some addresses and phone numbers
you can use:

TAX OR REFUND INFORMATION

IF YOU LIVE IN PULASKI COUNTY:

Call (501) 682-0200

IF YOU LIVE OUTSIDE PULASKI COUNTY:

Call 1-800-438-1992

Correspondence about your AR1000 must be ad-
dressed to P.O. Box 3628, Little Rock, AR  72203-
3628.  Include your Social Security Number when
making any inquiry about your return.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR
ITEMIZED

DEDUCTIONS
(FORM AR3)

MEDICAL AND DENTAL EXPENSES

List only amounts that you paid and for which you
were not reimbursed.

LINE 1.  Enter the total of your medical and dental
expenses, after you reduce these payments by
any reimbursements received from insurance or
other sources.  Include amounts you paid for doc-
tors, dentists, nurses, hospitals, prescription medi-
cine and drugs and for insulin.  Also include the
total amount you paid for insurance premiums for
medical and dental care, amounts paid for trans-
portation and lodging and other expenses such as
hearing aids, dentures, eyeglasses and contact
lenses.

LINE 2.  Enter amount from Form AR1000/
AR1000NR, Line 28A and 28B.  Enter the total on
this line.

LINE 3.  Multiply Line 2 by 7.5% (.075).  Enter the
total on this line.

LINE 4.  Subtract Line 3 from Line 1.  Enter the
total on this line.

TAXES

LINE 5.  You may deduct taxes you paid on prop-
erty you own that was not used for business.  Do
not include any special assessment or levy taxes.

You cannot deduct Arkansas Income Taxes, Sales
Tax, Federal Income Taxes, Estate Taxes, Improve-
ment Taxes, Federal Social Security Taxes, Hunt-
ing and Fishing Licenses, Dog Licenses, Cigarette
and Beverage Taxes or car tags.

LINE 6.  You may deduct Personal Property Taxes,
taxes paid to a Foreign Country on income taxed
on this return, and City Income Tax on this line.

LINE 7.  Add the amounts on Lines 5 and 6.  Enter
the total on this line.

INTEREST EXPENSE

LINE 8.  You may deduct the home mortgage in-
terest paid to a bank or other financial institution on
this line.

The deduction is generally limited to interest attrib-
utable to a debt for not more than the cost of the
principal, and/or second residence, plus improve-
ments.

LINE 9.  Deduct home mortgage interest paid to
individuals on this line and list that person’s name
and address.

LINE 10.  Enter the amount of deductible points
on this line.  Deductible points are determined by
these requirements:

1. Incurred in the purchase or improvement of
the taxpayer’s principal residence;

2. The charging of points must reflect an estab-
lished business practice in the geographical
area where the loan is made; and

3. The deduction allowed cannot exceed the
number of points generally charged for the
type of transaction.  Points paid in refinancing
a mortgage must be amortized over the life of
the loan.

NOTE: In order to deduct the full amount of the
points paid, payment of the points must
be made from separate funds brought
to the loan closing.

LINE 11.  Enter deductible investment interest on
this line.  The amount of the deduction is limited to
the amount of investment income.  Interest that is
disallowed because of the limitation can be carried
forward to the next year and is deducted to the
extent of the limitation in the carryover year.  Attach
Federal Form 4952.

LINE 12.  Add Lines 8, 9, 10 and 11.  Enter the
total on this line.

CONTRIBUTIONS

LINE 13.  Enter your total contributions made in
cash or by check.  If you gave $3,000 or more to
any one organization, list the donee and amount
you gave.  If you have non-cash contributions of
$500, please attach Federal Form 8283.

LINE 14.  In addition to other contributions, a de-
duction is allowed for the value donated in artistic,
literary, and musical creations.  The following quali-
fications must be met in order for the deduction to
be deductible:

1. The taxpayer making the donation must de-
rive at least fifty percent (50%) of his/her cur-
rent or prior year income from art related pro-
fession.

2. If fair market value of the art work exceeds
$1,000, it must be verified by an approved
independent appraiser.

3. Donation receipt, with estimated value or ap-
praisal document must be attached to
contributor’s tax return.

4. Museum, Art Gallery, or Non Profit Charitable
Organizations receiving art work must be quali-
fied under Section 501(C)(3) of the Internal
Revenue Code and located in Arkansas.

5. Deduction for donated art work cannot ex-
ceed fifteen percent (15%) of taxpayer’s
gross income for calendar year of donation.

LINE 15.  If you made a check-off contribution to
the Arkansas Disaster Relief Program, the U.S.
Olympic Comittee Program, the AR Schools for the
Blind and Deaf, the Baby Sharon’s Children’s cata-
strophic Illness Program, or the Organ Donor Aware-
ness Education Program on your 2004 Arkansas
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Worksheet for Self-Employed Health Insurance Deduction - Form
AR1000ADJ, Line 7 (Keep for your records)

1. Enter the amount paid in 2005 for health insurance for you, your spouse and your dependents. ......................................... 1 _______________

2. Enter your net profit and any other income* from the business under which the insurance plan is established,
minus any deductions you claim on Form AR1000ADJ, Line 8. ...................................................................................... 2 _______________

3. Enter the smaller of Line 1 or Line 2 here and on Form AR1000ADJ, Line 7.
Do not include this amount in figuring your medical expense deduction on the itemized deduction schedule. ....................... 3 _______________

* Earned income includes net earnings and gains from the sale, transfer, or licensing of property you created. It does not include capital gain income.
If you were a more than 2% shareholder in a S Corporation, earned income is your wages from that corporation.

Tax Return by applying a part of your refund, or by
sending a check, you may deduct the contribution
here.

LINE 16.  Other deductible contributions:

1. Unreimbursed amounts spent to maintain an
elementary or high school student (other than
a dependent or relative) in a taxpayer’s home
under a program by a charitable organization.

2. A gift of property to a non-profit organization.
Attach a description of the property, date of
gift and method of valuation.  For each gift in
excess of $500, list any conditions attached
to the gift, manner of acquisition and cost or
basis if owned by you for less than five (5)
years, and attach a signed copy of appraisal.

NOTE: Payments to private academies or other
schools for the education of dependents
are not deductible as contributions.

LINE 17.  If you made contributions in excess of
fifty percent (50%) of your adjusted gross income,
you may carry the excess deduction over for a
period of five (5) years.

If you are deducting an excess contribution from a
previous year, enter the amount and year of the
original contribution.

LINE 18.  Add lines 13, 14, 15, 16 and 17.  Enter
the total on this line.

CASUALTY AND THEFT LOSSES

LINE 19.  The method of computing casualty or
theft losses is the same as Federal method with
the $100 exclusion.  Attach Federal form or sup-
porting documents.  The amount of each loss must
exceed ten percent (10%) of your adjusted gross
income.

If you had a Disaster Loss in 2006 on property
located in an area designated by the President of
the United States as a disaster area, you may elect
to deduct the loss as an itemized deduction in 2005.

Please attach a Federal schedule listing the disas-
ter loss. If you elect to report the loss on your 2005
return, do not report the loss on your 2006 return.

A disaster loss is the only loss which may be car-
ried back.  You may amend your 2004 return to
report a disaster loss incurred in 2005.  If you elect
to amend your 2004 return, do not report the loss
on your 2005 return.

LINE 20.  Attach AR1075 for Post-Secondary Edu-
cation Tuition Deduction and enter amount on this
line.

MISCELLANEOUS DEDUCTIONS
SUBJECT TO THE 2% AGI LIMITA-
TIONS

LINE 21.  Unreimbursed employee business ex-
penses are listed on this line.  Be sure to attach a
Federal Form 2106 to your return.  The State recog-
nizes the Federal mileage allowance for computing
business travel expenses.

LINE 22.  Other deductions.  If deductions are
itemized, you can deduct authorized expenses for
which no other place is provided on the tax return
such as (a) union or professional dues, (b) tax
return preparation fees, (c) expenses for safety
equipment, (d) entertaining customers, etc. (e) tools,
supplies, or (f) fees paid to employment agencies.
Attach supporting schedule or statements.

LINE 23.  Add Lines 21 and 22 and enter the total
amount on this line.

LINE 24.  Enter amount from Form AR1000/
AR1000NR, Line 28A and 28B.  Enter total on this
line.

LINE 25.  Multiply Line 24 by 2%.(.02).  Enter the
total on this line.

LINE 26.  Subtract Line 25 from Line 23.  Enter the
total on this line.  This is your allowable miscella-
neous deductions.

OTHER MISCELLANEOUS DEDUC-
TIONS

LINE 27. Enter the amount of miscellaneous deduc-
tions not subject to the 2% AGI limit on this line.  Attach
a detailed schedule of each deduction.

LINE 28.  Add Lines 4,7,12,18,19,20,26 and 27.
Enter the total on this line.  If the amount(s) on
AR1000/AR1000NR Line 28A and 28B are greater
than $145,950 ($72,975 if married filing separately
on separate returns), you must complete the item-
ized deduction worksheet to figure the amount you
may deduct.

PRORATED ITEMIZED DEDUC-
TIONS

LINE 29.  If you are filing separately, Status 4 or 5,
you must prorate your itemized deductions. Enter
your AGI from Line 28, Column A and your spouse’s
AGI from Line 28, Column B of the AR1000/
AR1000NR.

LINE 30.  Add Lines 29A and 29B and enter the
total here.

LINE 31.  Divide Line 29A by Line 30 and enter the
percentage here. Round to the nearest whole per-
cent.

LINE 32.  Multiply the total itemized deductions
reported on Line 28 by your percentage in Line 31.
Enter the result here and on AR1000/AR1000NR,
Line 29, Col. A.

LINE 33.  Subtract Line 32 from Line 28. Enter the
result here and on AR1000/AR1000NR, Line 29,
Col. B. If you and your spouse are using Filing
Status 5, this is the amount of the total itemized
deductions your spouse is allowed to claim on his/
her tax return.
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Worksheet for Total Itemized Deductions
(Keep for your records)

Page AR3, Line 28

People with higher incomes may not be able to deduct all of their itemized deductions. If the amount of their joint AGI on Form AR1000/AR1000NR, Lines
27A and 27B is more than $145,950 ($72,975 if filing status 1, 3, 5 or 6), use the worksheet below to figure the amount you may deduct.

1. Add the amounts on page AR3, Lines 4, 7, 12, 18, 19, 20, 26, and 27.
Enter the total. ..........................................................................................................................................................................1. _______________

2. Add the amounts on page AR3, Lines 4, 11, 19, plus any gambling losses included on Line 27.
Enter the total. ..........................................................................................................................................................................2. _______________

3. Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. (If the result is zero, STOP HERE; enter the amount
from Line 1 above on page AR3, Line 28 and see Note below). .........................................................................................3. _______________

4. Multiply the amount on Line 3 above by 80% (.80).
Enter the result ......................................................................................................................................................................... 4. _______________

5. Enter the amount from AR1000/AR1000NR, Line 27.
(Total columns A and B, if filing Status 4). ............................................................................................................................. 5. _______________

6. Enter $145,950 if Filing Status is 1, 2, 3, 4, or 6
($72,975 if Filing Status is 5). ................................................................................................................................................ 6. _______________

7. Subtract Line 6 from Line 5. (If the result is zero or less, STOP HERE; enter the amount
from Line 1 above on page AR3, Line 28 and see Note below). .........................................................................................7. _______________

8. Multiply the amount on Line 7 above by 3% (.03).
Enter the result. .......................................................................................................................................................................8. _______________

9. Compare the amounts on Line 4 and Line 8 above.
Enter the SMALLER of the two amounts here. .................................................................................................................... 9. _______________

10. Total Itemized Deductions. Subtract Line 9 from Line 1.
Enter the result here and on page AR3, LIne 28 and see Note below. .............................................................................10. _______________

NOTE: Also enter on Form AR1000/AR1000NR, Line 29, the larger of the amount you enter on page AR3, Line 28, or your standard deduction.

Mileage and Depletion Allowances

1. Business:
from Jan. 1, 2005 to Aug. 31, 2005 .......... 40.5 cents a mile
from Sept. 1, 2005 to Dec. 31, 2005 ........ 48.5 cents a mile

2. Charitable ..................................................................... 14 cents a mile

3. Mail Carrier (rural) ........................................ Reimbursement received

4. Medical and Moving:
from Jan. 1, 2005 to Aug. 31, 2005 ............. 15 cents a mile
from Sept. 1, 2005 to Dec. 31, 2005 ........... 22 cents a mile

5. Depletion (gas and oil) .............................................. Same as Federal
(15% for most gas
and oil production)

Other Useful Telephone Numbers

Corporate Income Tax Information ................................... (501) 682-4775

Franchise Tax Information, Corporate ............................. (501) 682-3409

Internal Revenue Service
Assistance ............................................................. 1-800-829-1040
Forms ...................................................................... 1-800-829-3676

Sales and Use Tax Information ........................................ (501) 682-7104

Individual Income Tax Information
Hot-Line

(501) 682-1100 or 1-800-882-9275 (In Arkansas Only)

This system is designed to allow taxpayers to access general informa-
tion about filing 24 hours a day. Personal assistance will be available
during our normal business hours (Monday through Friday - 8:00 a.m. to
4:30 p.m.). The areas that can be reached by this system are as follows:

Taxpayer Assistance Branch Forms Branch
Refund Branch Amended Branch
Audit and Examination Branch Delinquent Income Tax Branch

Hearing Impaired Access for Information,
Assistance and Forms ............................................... (501) 682-4795

This number can only be reached by use of a Text Telephone Device.

Other Individual Income Tax Section
Telephone Numbers

Estate Tax Information (501) 682-7230

Estimated Tax Branch (501) 682-7272

Withholding Tax Branch (501) 682-7290


