
1. Payments to IRA: (See Instructions) ....................................................................................1

2. Payments to MSA: (See Instructions) ..................................................................................2

3. Payments to HSA: (See Instructions) ..................................................................................3

4. Deduction for interest paid on student loans:(See Instructions) ..........................................4

5. Contributions to Intergenerational Trust: (See Instructions) .................................................5

6. Moving expenses: (Attach Federal Form 3903) ...................................................................6

7. Self-employed health insurance deduction: (See Instructions) ............................................7

8. KEOGH, Self-employed SEP and Simple Plans: .................................................................8

9. Forfeited interest penalty for premature withdrawal: ............................................................9

10. Alimony/Sep. Maint. paid to: Name: _____________________ SSN: _______________ 10

11. Support for permanently disabled individual: (Attach Form AR1000DC) ........................... 11

12. Organ Donor Deduction: (Attach Form AR1000OD) ..........................................................12

13. Arkansas Tax Deferred Tuition Savings Program: .............................................................13

14. TOTAL OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: (Enter here and on page AR1/NR1, Line 25) ...............14  

ATTACH AS THE SECOND PAGE OF YOUR RETURN

AR1000ADJ 2006
Name Social Security Number

ARKANSAS INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX
SCHEDULE OF OTHER ADJUSTMENTS

INSTRUCTIONS

Full Year Resident Filers - Complete columns (A) and (B) if using filing status 4 (married filing separately 
on the same return).  All other filing statuses must complete column (A) only.

Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Filers - Complete columns (A), (B), and (C) if using filing status 
4 (married filing separately on the same return).  All other filing statuses must complete columns (A) and (C) 
only.

Enter the total of each column on Line 14 of this form and on Line 25 of page AR1/NR1 of Form AR1000/
AR1000NR.

See instructions on the reverse side of this form.
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INSTRUCTIONS
LINE 1.  This line is used to report your allowable contribution to an Individual Retirement Account (IRA). If you contributed to your own IRA, certain limitations 
may apply to the amount you may use as an adjustment to income.  If neither you nor your spouse are covered by an employer provided retirement plan, the 
entire contribution is deductible up to $4,000 each for all Filing Statuses. If either you or your spouse are covered by such a plan, the amount of the deduction 
depends on the amount of your Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) before the IRA deduction, as shown in the table on page 17 of the booklet instructions. Use this 
table along with your Arkansas AGI to determine your allowable deduction. Catch up Contributions - Individuals who turn 50 before the close of the tax 
year may increase the maximum permitted annual contribution by up to $1,000.

LINE 2.  This line is used to report your allowable contribution to an Archer Medical Savings account (MSA). An MSA is a trust or custodial account that is 
created or organized exclusively for the purpose of paying the qualified medical expenses of the taxpayer (account holder) as well as the taxpayer’s spouse 
and/or dependents.  In order to be eligible, a taxpayer must have insurance coverage under a high deductible health plan (HDHP) only.  A HDHP will have 
the following deductibles and limitations: (1) for self-only coverage, the minimum deductible is $1,800, maximum deductible is $2,700 and the maximum out 
of pocket expense is $3,650, and (2) for family coverage, the minimum deductible is $3,650, maximum deductible is $5,450 and the maximum out of pocket 
expense is $6,650. The contribution limitation for any month is the amount equal to 1/12 of 65% of the annual deductible for an individual with self-only cover-
age and 1/12 of 75% of the annual deductible for family coverage. New Archer MSAs may not be established after 2005 but contributions 
can be made to existing accounts.

LINE 3.  This line is used to report your allowable contribution to a Health Savings Account (HSA). In order to be eligible, a taxpayer must have insurance 
coverage under a HDHP only.  A HDHP will have the following deductibles and limitations: (1) for self-only coverage, the minimum deductible is $1,050 and 
the maximum out of pocket expense is $5,250, and (2) for family coverage, the minimum deductible is $2,100 and the maximum out of pocket expense is 
$10,500. You can make pre-tax contributions of up to $2,700 each year ($5,450 for families) to cover health care costs.  Individuals who reach age 55 by 
the end of the tax year can increase their annual contribution by $700 for 2006. Maximum contributions allowed to an HSA are reduced by any contributions 
made to an Archer MSA. 

LINE 4. You may take an adjustment for interest paid on student loans if all of the following apply:

 1. You paid interest in 2006 on a qualified student loan.
 2. Your filing status is any status other than married filing separately on different returns (Status 5).
 3. Your AGI is less than: $65,000 if filing Status 1, 3, or 6; $135,000 if filing Status 2 or 4. Status 4 filers, please note that this is a combined income 

amount.
 4. You are not claimed as a dependent on another taxpayer’s 2006 tax return. 
 
Figure your allowable deduction using the worksheet on page 17 of the booklet instructions.

LINE 5.  You may take an adjustment from income for contributions made to a long-term intergenerational trust.  This is a trust established for an individual 
under the age of 18 in order to provide funds for the minor’s retirement. The trustee must be a resident of Arkansas and cannot distribute any of the trust funds 
to the beneficiary until the beneficiary reaches the age of 55.  Contributions are limited to $4,000 per year.

LINE 6.  Employees and self-employed persons (including partners) can deduct certain moving expenses.  Expenses incurred in 2006 are deducted on this 
line as an adjustment to income.

You can only take this deduction if you moved in connection with your job or business and your change in job location has added at least fifty (50) miles to 
the distance from your old home to your workplace.  If you had no former workplace, your new workplace must be at least fifty (50) miles from your old home.  
You must attach a completed copy of Federal Form 3903.

If you were reimbursed for any part of your moving expenses and the amount was included on your W-2, report this amount as income on Form AR1000/
AR1000NR, Line 8. If the amount was not included on your W-2, include the amount on Form AR1000/AR1000NR, Line 22, Other Income.

LINE 7.  If you are self-employed and had a net profit for the year, you may be able to deduct part of the amount paid for health insurance on behalf of 
yourself, your spouse, and/or dependents. Complete the worksheet on page 21 of the booklet instructions to determine your deduction.

LINE 8.  If you are self-employed and contributed to a “Keogh”, H.R. 10 retirement plan, or a SIMPLE plan, enter the total amount of your contributions in 
the space provided.  The amount of the deduction depends upon the type of plan.  

LINE 9.  Enter the total interest penalties paid for premature or early withdrawal of certificates of deposit.

LINE 10.  If you paid alimony or separate maintenance as the result of a court order, enter the total amount in the space provided.  You must enter the 
name and Social Security Number of the person who received the payment.

LINE 11.  If you have a permanently disabled child or dependent, who qualifies for the deduction you can take an adjustment from income of $500 for each 
permanently disabled child or dependent. Attach Form AR1000DC.

LINE 12.  If you paid unreimbursed expenses for yourself or one of your dependents related to the donation of an organ (part of a liver, pancreas, kidney, 
intestine, lung or bone marrow) you may take an income tax deduction of up to $10,000.  The deduction must be claimed for the taxable year in which the 
transplantation of the organ occurs.  Allowable expenses include travel, lodging, medical expenses and lost wages that are related to the organ donation.  
An individual may claim the deduction only once in his or her lifetime.  This deduction does not apply to organs harvested from a deceased donor.  Attach 
Form AR1000OD.

LINE 13.  If you made contributions to a tuition savings account established under the Arkansas Tax Deferred Tuition Savings Program enter the amount in 
the space provided. Contributions to plans established in states other than Arkansas are not deductible. The deductible contribution cannot exceed $5,000 per 
taxpayer per tax year. Qualified withdrawals from a tuition savings account  established under the Arkansas Tax Deferred Tuition Savings Program or a tax-de-
ferred tuition savings program established by another state will be exempt from Arkansas income tax with respect to the designated beneficiary’s income. 

LINE 14.  Total Other Adjustments.  Add Lines 1 through 13 and enter on this line and on Forms AR1 or NR1, Line 25.
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