ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH COSMETOLOGY SECTION 4815 West Markham, Slot 8 Little Rock, AR 72205 - (501) 682-2168

RECIPROCITY REQUIREMENTS For APPLICANTS LICENSED IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY

Any person licensed in a foreign country is required to pass a written and practical examination administered by the Cosmetology Section to qualify for a license in this State. All documents submitted for the purpose of complying with the requirements for examination shall be original copies and translated in the English language.

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:

- 1. Complete an Arkansas Reciprocity Application (enclosed).
- 2. Proof of Training and Licensure. Submit the following requirements:
 - a) An affidavit certifying that you have completed the minimum number of clock-hours in one of the prescribed courses of study listed below. The affidavit must be completed and signed by an Official of the licensing entity that has jurisdiction over the practice of Cosmetology in said foreign country. Either the licensing entity seal or notary public seal must be affixed to said document.
 - 1) 1500 hours for cosmetologist
- 3) 600 hours for electrologist
- 2) 600 hours for manicurist

- 4) 600 hours for aesthetician
- b) A breakdown of the curriculum requirements for said course.
- c) A license issued by the foreign country and a diploma issued from the training institute where applicant completed the course of study.
- 3. A legible copy of applicant's Social Security Card.
- 4. High school credit of not less than two years (10th grade) or its equivalent for cosmetologists, aestheticians or manicurists and four years (12th grade) or its equivalent for electrologist.
- 5. Birth Certificate
- 6. Photostatic copy of photo ID (must be legible)
- 7. Reciprocity Fee of \$150.00 and Practical Examination Fee of \$65.00

All requirements for the examination must be submitted at the same time, on or before the deadline date of the examination you wish to take (contact the Cosmetology Section's office for a list of dates or visit our website at www.arkansas.gov/cos.) If you fail to submit all of the requirements, your papers will be returned. You should hold your papers until you can submit all requirements to our office.

NO PERSON MAY PRACTICE OR TEACH <u>ANY</u> PHASE OF COSMETOLOGY IN THIS STATE UNTIL LICENSED BY THE <u>COSMETOLOGY SECTION</u>.

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH COSMETOLOGY SECTION 4815 West Markham, Slot 8 Little Rock, AR 72205 (501) 682-2168

Reciprocity Form

Instructions: Please review the reciprocity requirements and process on the back of this form before completing. When you are ready to complete this form, please do so by printing the information in blue or black ink. This form is required if you are transferring from another state/country and you want to become licensed in the state of Arkansas. **There is a \$150 reciprocity fee due at the time you submit this form and the required attachments. This fee does <u>not</u> cover any examination costs.**

Applicant S Name									
Last Name		First Name (no nickname))	Middle Name			
Maiden Name (if applicable)		List any other <i>last</i> names you have ever used							
Address		Apt. # City				County		State	Zip Code
Telephone Number	Gender MALE FE			MALE	Marital Status				
Social Security Number	Date of Birth				Place of birth (city/state/country)				
Race (circle one): Black White Hispanic Asian	Am. Indian	Alaskan l		In what l		you prefe		he written/s	state law exam? KOREAN
		Li	censing In	formation					
What type of license do you currently hold? (circle one)	Cosmetology		Manio	cure	Aesthetician		Instr	uctor	Electrology
Did you take a national written examination?					Did you take a national practical examination?				
YES NO				YES NO					
In what state did you take the exa		Please list <u>all</u> the states				ates that y	you have h	eld a license.	
		T	raining Int	formation					
What cosmetology school did you attend?				City/State/County					
Date training began	Date training c	Date training completed			otal number hours completed Type of training completed				
What high school did you attend?				City/State/County					
Year Completed				Grade Completed					
Applicant Signature: By signing that I understand that false statemed disciplinary action.									
Applicant's Printed Name	icant's Sig	ant's Signature						Date	
DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS L	INE – FOR OFF	ICE USE	ONLY						
									Revised 10.09
DateWritten Core Score	Date Written Law	Score		Date Practical Score			Lic	License #	
							Red	Receipt #	