

# Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology Scheduling Procedures Computer-Based Theory Exams

## **EXAM TITLES**

- Cosmetology
- Esthetics
- Nail Technology
- Electrology
- ❖ Instructor
- State Law

## **LANGUAGES**

All exams are available in English, Spanish, Vietnamese and Korean. You must request the language at the time of application to the Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology.

#### **EXAM FEE**

All exam titles are \$60.00

# **ELIGIBILITY**

The Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology determines eligibility for all first-time candidates. Once you have received your letter from the Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology indicating your eligibility you may contact PSI to schedule your theory examination. You <u>must</u> receive this letter prior to contacting PSI to schedule your initial testing appointment.

#### **RETESTS**

Should you fail your theory exam you may contact PSI 1-800-211-2754 to schedule your retest. A new authorization letter is NOT required.

#### **PAYMENT**

## Payment Via Credit Card

Exam fees are payable via Visa and Mastercard. The candidate must have the credit card number, security code, billing address and name as it appears on the credit card to schedule their testing appointment. Credit card payments are processed immediately. If the card declines the candidate will be unable to schedule their appointment. All appointments must be paid in full at the time of scheduling.

# Payment Via Check/Money Order

If a candidate wishes to pay by money order, a mail-in payment must be completed and submitted to PSI along with their payment. Once the mail-in payment is processed, the candidate will be contacted to schedule their testing appointment. A mail-in payment form is available at <a href="https://www.lasergrade.com">www.lasergrade.com</a>.

#### **SCHEDULING**

Appointments must be scheduled with a minimum of 24 hours notice. Appointments are made based on availability.

Candidates must provide no less than 24 hours notice during business hours to reschedule/cancel their testing appointment. Rescheduling/cancellation is done through PSI's Central Registration Office (1-800-211-2754) NOT the local testing center Monday – Friday 9am ET – 8pm ET. Failure to provide 24 hours notice will result in forfeiture of the testing fee and the candidate will be required to repay in order to schedule another testing appointment. Exceptions to this policy are permitted based on medical, weather or other emergency. Candidates will be required to present documentation of such an emergency.



Candidates are provided the option of receiving a fax or email confirmation of their testing appointment. This confirmation will provide the candidate the exam title, date, time and location of their testing appointment as well as a phone number for the testing center. Regardless of whether the candidate provides an email or fax number to receive an appointment confirmation, it is the candidate's responsibility to note the date, time and location of their testing appointment. Failure to receive a confirmation in no way impacts the candidate's scheduled appointment.

## **ADA ACCOMMODATIONS**

Candidates requesting special accommodations under the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 must submit a written request along with the appropriate medical or mental health documentation to the state board. If the request is approved, the state board will notify the candidate. The candidate must schedule their testing appointment with PSI's ADA Coordinator to ensure the approved accommodations are provided. Should the candidate wish to waive their ADA accommodations, the candidate must submit to PSI a written waiver. The ADA Coordinator can be reached at 1-800-211-2754 Monday – Friday 9am ET – 5pm ET.

## **IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS**

All candidates are required to present a valid non-expired government issued ID bearing their photo and signature. Valid forms of identification include: Driver's License, State Issued Identification Card, Passport or Military Identification Card. School IDs are not a valid form of identification. The testing center reserves the right to ask for additional identification for verification purposes. If there is any doubt as to an individual's identity, the candidate will be turned away from the test center and a report filed with the state board. The candidate will be permitted to retest upon approval of the state board.

## **TEST CENTER PROTOCOL**

No personal belongings, hats, coats, purses, backpacks, cell phones, pagers, pens, etc. of any kind are permitted in the testing room. This is a computerized exam, no scratch paper will be provided. No conversation is permitted between candidates. Should you be found in possession of prohibited materials or attempting to fraudulently test for another individual, you will be dismissed immediately from the test center and a report will be filed with the Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology.