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Dear Licensed Child Care Provider:

We wanted to make you aware of changes in the cut-off dates for children 
eligible to attend public kindergarten.  Arkansas Act 462 of 2007 changed 
these dates as follows:

•	 For the 2009-2010 year, a child must turn five (5) years of age on or 
before September 1, 2009. 

•	 For the 2010-2011 year, a child must turn five (5) years of age on or 
before August 15, 2010.

•	 For the 2011-2012 year, a child must turn five (5) years of age on or 
before August 1, 2011.

Act 29 of 2009—just signed into law—provides exemptions that will allow 
a child who turns five (5) years of age on September 2 through September 
15 of this year to enroll in public kindergarten if the child attended a Qual-
ity Approved prekindergarten program in 2008-2009 for at least 100 days.  
This exemption only applies to those providers who have Quality Approval 
Accreditation.  

For a list of child care programs that have Quality Approval Accreditation, 
you can go to the Division’s web site at https://dhhs.arkansas.gov/wa_ccli/
FacilitySearch.aspx.   In addition, a copy of Act 29 can be downloaded or 
viewed from the Arkansas Legislature web site at http://www.arkleg.state.
ar.us/assembly/2009/R/Acts/Act29.pdf.  With this letter, we have included a 
chart on page 5 that will assist you in helping parents in this decision pro-
cess.

If you have any questions, please contact me 
at 501-682-4891.  Thank you.

Sincerely,

Tonya Russell
Division Director

Director’s Note



 Statement for Public Notification On  
Peanut Corporation of America Recall 

On January 28, 2009, the Peanut Corporation of America announced an expansion both of the time 
frame of their recall and the scope of products affected.  With this new development, a limited number 
of products were identified as being purchased by USDA during the two-year time frame and most of 
the recalled products already have been consumed.  The USDA is working with the small number of 
affected parties to identify recalled products and remove them from distribution.  All USDA nutrition 
assistance program operators are being asked to check for any product that might have been purchased 
commercially. 

For the latest developments on the FDA investigation, including recalls and advice for consumers, visit 
FDA’s Web page on the Salmonella Typhimurium Outbreak at 
http://www.fda.gov/oc/opacom/hottopics/salmonellatyph.html 

FDA has also created a searchable database for these products, which can be found at 
http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/peanutbutterrecall/index.cfm 

Save the Dates!
ASU 39th Annual  
Early Childhood  

Education Conference
August 9-12

ASU Family Child  

Care Confere
nce 

May 8-9

For more information contact:
Libby James, Training Program Coordinator
Arkansas State University Childhood Services

P.O. Box 808
State University, AR 72467

870-972-3055
ljames@astate.edu



2009 Arkansas Head Start Institute
Registration Instruction/Information

Deadline Date
Visit www.arheadstart.org to access the on-line registration form. All early bird registrations must be 
received by March 15, 2009. All pre registration forms must be received by April 15, 2009. Any forms 
received after that date will be considered on site registration. Individuals can register at the on-
site registration counter at the institute. 

Conference Registration Fees 
The early bird registration fee is $150 for registration forms received before March 15, 2009. The 
pre-registration fee is $175 for registration forms received before April 15, 2009. For registrations 
after April 15, 2009, please use the on-site registration fee of $200. Individuals can also register at 
the on-site registration counter at the institute (we strongly advise you not to bring cash for registration). 
Please advise your finance office of the early bird and pre-registration deadline and policy. If 
you have questions about registration, please contact the Arkansas Head Start Association at (501) 
371-0740. 

One Day Registration Fee 
A one day registration fee is $100. An option for one day registration is 
available in the additional information section of the registration form. Click on 
Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday to receive the discount for this option.
 
Payment 
There are two payment options available: pay online through PayPal or mail payments to the Arkansas 
Head Start Association, 1400 West Markham, Ste 406, Little Rock, AR 72201. No telephone registrations 
will be accepted. 

Confirmations 
After processing your registration, a letter of confirmation will be forwarded to you by e-mail. If you do 
not receive the confirmation, e-mail deanah@arheadstart.org. You must bring this letter of confirmation 
with you to obtain your registration packets. If you did not receive a confirmation letter, you must go to 
the on-site registration booth during registration. 

Cancellation/Refunds 
No refunds will be available. You may make substitutions. If you have substitutions, 
please contact the Arkansas Head Start Association at (501) 371-0740 or e-mail  
deanah@arheadstart.org by May 1, 2009. Please do not enter substitutions through the online 
registration form. 

On-Site Registrations 
Please register at the on-site registration area. Please bring agency check, money order, or cashier’s 
check. To increase safety within the registration area, we strongly advise that you do not bring cash for 
the registration fees. 

Registration Packets You may pick up your registration packets for the 2009 Arkansas Head Start at 
the registration table. 
Conference Registration Schedule

Tuesday, May 19	 	 	 8:00 AM - 4:45 PM
Wednesday, May 20	 	 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM 

2009 Arkansas Head Start Institute  
Holiday Inn  

Springdale, Arkansas  
May 19-21, 2009 
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Decision Tree for 
Determining Age-Eligibility 
for Public Kindergarten in 
Fall 2009 

The ACW 2009 Planning Toolkit is  
available from the Division at no cost.  

Please call 1-800-445-3316  
for more information.



Welcome to the Early Childhood Initiatives Center!

You are cordially invited to attend the grand opening of the Early Childhood Initiatives Center on April 18, 2009.  
This drop in event is scheduled from 9 am to 1 pm.  The entire early childhood community is encouraged to see 
the new facility and learn about the exciting training and resource programs available.  The official ribbon cutting is 
scheduled for 9 am.  

Located at the Helen Walton Children’s Enrichment Center, 1701 N. E. Wildcat Way, Bentonville, Arkansas, the 
Early Childhood Initiatives Center is designed to be a hub where early childhood professionals can share resources, 
knowledge, and best practices to benefit young children.  

Where Early Childhood Professionals Take Initiative!

Over the next several months, the Early Childhood Initiatives Center will offer several unique programs benefiting 
primarily Northwest Arkansas child care programs.  Many of these are designed as pilot programs with the hope of 
future expansion across Arkansas.  A limited number of trainings however will be available at the State Leadership 
Conference, AECA Conference, Spring Providers’ Conference, and Super Saturday.  Be on the look out for more 
information about training opportunities at these venues.  
We are pleased to present a nationally recognized speaker, Barbara Kaiser who will provide a free training to the 
early childhood community on Challenging Behavior in Young Children.  This training is scheduled for April 27, 
2009 from 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm at the Arend Arts Center in Bentonville, Arkansas and is open to any child care 
professional in the state.   Please contact Rhonda Burch at 479.273.3552 or rburch@hwccenter.com for free ticket 
information.  

In 2009, we will also offer a free series of Business Development Trainings.  Designed for Early Childhood Directors, 
these unique trainings address several important areas including: health and safety requirements, business practices, 
salaries and benefits, risk management, strategic planning, team building and communications, and HR best practices.  

These trainings will be offered throughout the state including the Spring Providers’ Conference, State Leadership, 
AECA Conference, and Super Saturday.  
  
We are very excited to announce a pre-service training pilot.  This pre-service training pilot will focus on the 
major components of child care minimum licensing including health practices, providing a safe physical environment, 
appropriate supervision, safe transportation, basic health requirements, and positive guidance for newly hired child 
care workers throughout Northwest Arkansas.  Directors throughout Northwest Arkansas will be contacted with 
more information about this program.  

Our First Aid/CPR training program continues this year.  In addition to trainings at the Early Childhood Initiatives 
Center, we anticipate offering the training at the Spring Providers’ Conference in Springdale, Super Saturday, and 
the AECA Conference.  For more information, please contact Natasha Crosby at ncrosby@hwccenter.com or 479-
273-3552.

As a unique pilot project for 2009, we are offering four free TB test clinics to the early child care community.  The 
first TB clinic will be held at the grand opening of the Early Childhood Initiatives Center on April 18, 2009 from 9 
am to 1 pm.  A free flu clinic is also planned for Fall 2009.  Watch for information about additional dates.  

We are thrilled to offer these exciting programs and look forward to working with the early childhood community 
over the next year to the benefit of young children throughout Arkansas.  

Creating partnerships to benefit young children.



From Your Compliance Unit
Dear Provider,
The Division of Childcare and Early Childhood Education’s Compliance Unit wants to acknowledge ALL of our providers for 
upholding the guidelines set forth in their DHS9800 Child Care Participant Agreement – we appreciate your participation. 
We would also like to thank all of the providers for keeping good records, supplying what we request in a timely manner and 
to offer our assistance in whatever aspect of the program you may have questions about. 

Please be reminded that this is the season for inclement weather and your DHS9800 allows providers to bill for those 
operational days lost due to severe weather conditions; however, the policy may only be applied when public schools in the 
provider’s area have been forced to close or whenever other extraordinary weather related conditions exists. “Extraordinary 
weather related conditions” exist whenever it can be demonstrated that clients were unable to reach the premises or 
the Provider could not open due to circumstances beyond the control of the Provider. This does not mean that a 
provider must close when local schools close. 

Several AREAS OF THE STATE WERE HARD HIT BY THE INCLEMENT WEATHER.  IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS 
ABOUT BILLING OR NEED ASSISTANCE BILLING PLEASE CONTACT OUR OFFICE.

Day Care providers can bill for Spring Break if the case head is a full time student who would in the past not receive 
services for this break in classes. DHS will now key child care for Spring Break for full time students for no more than five 
(5) days; which will have to be billed as absentee days. DHS will not pay if the day care is closed during that time. 

Michael Saxby 501-682-8584 / Ray Jones 501-683-2611 / Sharron Brooks 501-683-3760 / Shannon Selby 501-682-
8872

From Your Licensing Unit:
The Danger of Leaving Children 

Unattended in Vehicles
Parents sometimes leave children unattended in vehicles while they pick up or drop off other children at 
child care centers and homes.  Recently a parent’s vehicle was stolen from the seemingly secure drive way 
of a child care center. The parent had just walked the short distance to the door of the facility to pick up a 
child, leaving a young child in the running vehicle.  This incident literally happened in the blink of an eye.  
Fortunately the authorities located the vehicle a short time later, abandoned, with the unharmed child still 
inside. 

Please alert parents to the dangers of leaving children in vehicles, running or not, even for brief periods.  
The risks of the child being kidnapped or the vehicle being stolen are very real but are not the only serious 
consequences that can happen.  There have also been numerous instances where children managed to get 
a vehicle in gear, crashing the vehicle and injuring themselves or others.  

Although we hope that everyone will be motivated to take these precautions in order to keep children safe, 
there are other important reasons to avoid leaving children unattended in vehicles.  If something were to 
happen to a child left in a vehicle, the parent could face child maltreatment allegations and criminal charges 
for child endangerment. 

Again, please urge parents to avoid leaving children in vehicles when they are at your facility and in other 
situations, such as grocery store and gas station stops. 



Date:  Wednesday,  April 29, 2009    Time: 11:30 a.m. 
    Length:  Approximately  1 hour    
  Benson Auditorium, Harding University, Searcy,  Arkansas  
   

  Thursday,  April 30, 2009        Time: 9:30 a.m.  
  Length:  Approximately 1 hour 

 Independence Hall, UACCB, Batesville, Arkansas 
 
  Admission:   $4.00 per person   (children and adult) 
 
  Grades:    Preschool (3-5 years) — Second Grade 
 
  Parking:     Bus parking available 
 
 

Reservations: Begin taking reservations January 20th.  Reservations may be 
changed until April 10, 2009.  Invoices will be mailed by April 17, 2009. 

Seating is limited.  For ticket information and reservations call  
1-800-737-2237 or in Batesville 870-793-5233. 

Sponsored by:  Harding University’s Family and Consumer Science Department  
 UACCB Early Childhood Department ~Wal-Mart Foundation  

WRPDD’s Child Care Food Program and CHILDREN of Northcentral Arkansas 

Music, Movement, Singing, Laughing and More! 

   Tenth Annual Spring Concert 
Are You Ready For A Field Trip? 



					         

Name of facility:	 ___________________________________________________

Mailing Address: 	 ___________________________________________________

			   ___________________________________________________

			   ___________________________________________________

			   ___________________________________________________

TIN Number: and Facility Number:  ________________________________________

Telephone Number:  _____________________________________________________

Fax Number:	    _____________________________________________________

E-mail Address:        _____________________________________________________

Name (s) of Attendees:

_____________________________________	 _________________________________

_____________________________________  _________________________________

_____________________________________	 _________________________________

_____________________________________	 _________________________________

Please select the training date you would like to attend. Seating will be limited on a first 
come first serve basis. The training will be held in DHS Conference Room A&B located in the 
Donaghey Plaza South Building (Downtown 7th and Main Street, Little Rock, Arkansas 72203). 
Registration begins from 10:00a.m.-10:30a.m. And training will begin at 10:30 a.m.

March 21, 2009 ______________		  April 22, 2009_______________	
May 6, 2009       ______________		  June 13, 2009_______________

Mail or Fax to:	V oucher Kid Care Billing Program
			   P O Box 1437, Slot S145
			   Little Rock, Arkansas  72203-1437
			   Telephone: 1-800-322-8176, Ext-682-8947
			   Fax:  (501)-683-0034
			   Attention:  Delois Calhoun or Patricia Johnson

Registration Form
9800 Childcare Participant Agreement/Billing Training



Save The date 

Spring Provider  
Conference 

When: 
Saturday 
April 4, 2009 
7:45am-4:00pm 

Where: 
Jones Center for Families  
922 E. Emma 
Springdale AR,72764 

Contact: 
 

NWA Child Care Resource & Referral  
Center, Inc 

479-751-3463 



Arkansas Children’s Week
April  
LAST DAY TO ORDER S MARCH 31 T!

T Shirts for 2009 will be Lime with 3 co r logo on front. 

Customization is avai able for $1.50 per shirt, mini um order is 24 shirts!
T-ShiRT PRiCe QUAnTiTY AMOUnT

TODDLER SHIRT (6-12 mo) – Lt  Green $5.00
YOUTH X-SMALL (2-4) $3.50
YOUTH SMALL (6-8) $3.50
YOUTH MEDIUM (10-12) $3.50
YOUTH LARGE (14-16) $3.50
ADULT SMALL $4.00
ADULT MEDIUM $4.00
ADULT LARGE $4.00
ADULT X-LARGE $4.00
ADULT 2X-LARGE $5.00
ADULT 3X-LARGE $5.00
BIB APRONS (ONE SIZE) – White $7.50
TOTE BAG (ONE SIZE) - Natural $4.50
CINCH BACK PACK – Lime (  Color Imprint) $3.00

SUBTOTAL (1)$
ShiPPinG/hAnDLinG:                                      You must
Add $9.00	- Orders	$0	 $36                                   your order will b  

include Shipping OR                         
delayed

Add $12.00	- Orders	$37	- $144															
!!!

Add $20.00 - Orders	$145	 $432               TOTAL ShiPPinG/hAnDLinG (2)$
i e  Block (1) + Block (2)                  SUBTOTAL + ShiPPinG/hAnDLinG (3)$
***YOU MUST
i e  Block (3) * 0.075          

inCLUDe AR SALeS TAX***                  SALeS TAX (7.5%) (4)$

i e  Block (3) + Block (4)                                 TOTAL AMOUnT enCLOSeD (5)$

ShiP TO ADDReSS:

NAME ___	CONTACT ___

STREET	ADDRESS	 ___

CITY	________________________________________	STATE	____	ZIPCODE	_____________________

PHONE	 ___	E-MAIL	ADDRESS	 ___

PAYMenT inFORMATiOn: (Make Check Payable to:  &M Promotions
Please send only 1 check and 1 order form per facility r your order will be d layed!

)

CHECK	#	 ___				CHECK	AMOUNT	$ ___

CREDIT	CARD	PAYMENT (Visa/	Maste Card/	Ame ican	Express)

CREDIT	CARD	#:	 ___	Exp 	Date	 ___Zip	Code: ___

Mail O der Form To
M&M PROMOTIONS
P.O. BOX 56698
LITTLE ROCK, AR  72215 6698
(501) 224-9881
www mandmpromotions com

rkansas Ch ldren’s Week
ril 13 19-25, 2009
ST D Y  RDER IS MARCH 31 T

hirts for 20 9 will be Lime with 3 co or logo on front. 

stomization is available for $1 50 pe  sh rt, minimum order is 24 sh rts!
h RT Ce AnTiTY OUn

DDLER SHIRT (6 12 m ) – Lt  Green 00
OUTH X-SMALL (2 4) 50
OUTH SMALL (6-8) 50
OUTH MEDIUM (10-12 50
OUTH LARGE (1 -16 50

ULT SMALL 00
ULT MEDIUM 00
ULT LARGE 00
ULT X LARGE 00
ULT 2X-LARGE 00
ULT 3X LARGE 00

B APRONS (ONE SIZE) – White 50
TE BAG (ONE SIZE) - N tural 50

NCH BACK PACK – Lime (1 Color Imprint) 00
BTOTAL $

PP nG/hAnDLinG                                       u must
 $9.00	 O ers	$0	 $3                                    ur order wi l be 

include Sh pping OR                         
de ayed

 $12.00	 O e s	$3 	- $ 4															
!!!

 $20.00 O e s	$145	- $4 2               TAL S iPPinG/hAnDLinG $

 Bl ck (1) + B ock (2)                  BTOTAL + iPPinG/hAnDLinG ( $
YOU MUST
 Bl ck (3) * 0 075          

inCLUDe AR SALeS TAX***                  LeS TAX (7.5%) ( $

 Bl ck (3) + B ock (4)                                 TAL AMOUnT e CLOSeD ( $

P TO ADDReSS:

ME _____________________________________	 NTACT ____________________________

EET	ADDRESS	 _________________________________________________________________

Y	 	 A E	 	 CODE	

ONE	 ______________________	 A L	ADDRESS	 ___________________________________

YMenT in ORMATiOn  (M ke Check Pa able to:  M M Promo ions
ase send only 1 che k and 1 order form per facility or your order wil be delayed!

)

ECK	#	 _________________				 ECK	AMO NT	$ _____________________

ED T	 ARD	PAYMENT (Vi a/	Ma terCard/	American	Express)

ED T	 ARD	# 	 __________________________	 .	Da e	 ___________ 	Co ___________

il Order Form To
&M PROMOTIONS
O. BOX 56 98

TLE ROCK  A   72 15-6698
1) 224-9881
w mandmpromotions com
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Arkansas Children’s Week 2009
Material Order Form

Name: 												          

Program/licensed capacity:  									       

Mailing address:  											         

City/Zip  												          

Item Number requested

Church Brochure

Family Fridge Tag:  “10 Ways to Appreciate Your Child”
 
Return form to:  	 Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education
	 	 	 P.O. Box 1437 Slot S 160  (Program Support)
	 	 	 Little Rock, AR  72203

Or fax to (501) 682-4897.


