
 
 

 

STATE OF ARKANSAS 

ASSESSMENT COORDINATION DEPARTMENT 

1614 WEST THIRD 
LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72201-1815 

PHONE (501) 324-9240 
FAX (501) 324-9242 

 
 

 
 
 

M E M O R A N D U M 
 
 
 
TO:  County Assessors 
 
FROM: Debbie Asbury; 
  Robert McGee 
 
DATE:  February 22, 2013 
 
RE:  Oil, Gas & Minerals Schedules 
 
 
Please find attached the Oil, Gas & Minerals assessment schedules for 2013.  
 
 
When calculating working interests you will need to incorporate an equipment value that 
covers equipment from the sales meter to the bottom of the well. No other production 
equipment is included. Other production equipment like compressors, gathering lines, 
rigs, etc. should be handled as business personal property. Clarification of the Well 
Production Equipment Assessed Value (WPEV) has been added to this year’s 
guidelines. 
 
The average price for oil has changed to $80.68 per barrel this year and the average 
price for gas has changed to $3.58 per M.C.F. 
 
These new schedules for 2013 assessments need to be sent to all operators/producers 
who have operations in your county. 
 
They should also be inserted into your Real Estate Manual as replacements starting 
with page 249. 
 
Reminder:  Mineral rights constitute real estate and are subject to the provisions of law 
that apply to such.  Value changes caused by the new assessment tables should only 
be increased during the reappraisal year and assessment increase limitations should 
apply.  Production increases should be treated as newly discovered property and placed 
on the assessment roll annually in accordance with Agency rules.   

Debra Asbury 
Director 



 
If you have any questions concerning the oil, gas and mineral schedule please contact  
 
Robert McGee 
Arkansas Assessment Coordination Department 
501-324-9114 
1614 W. 3rd Street 
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201 
Robert.McGee@acd.state.ar.us 
 
 
Incl. (1) Standard for Assessing Mineral Right 2013 
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 STANDARD FOR ASSESSING MINERAL RIGHTS 

 
  

The state constitution provides “all real and tangible personal property subject to taxation shall be taxed 

according to its value, that value to be ascertained in such manner as the General Assembly shall direct, 

making the same equal and uniform throughout the State.” Article 16 § 5.   

“Real property and lands” mean not only the land itself but all things contained therein and all rights and 

privileges belonging or in anywise appertaining thereto, ACA 26-1-101.  

All property, whether real or personal, in this state and the value thereof shall be entered on the list of 

taxable property for that purpose, ACA 26-3-201. 

 

 

TERMINOLOGY AND DEFINITIONS 

 

 

Mineral rights, without regard to the surface rights or usage, and when not in actual development or 

contiguous to one, have a potential value only.  Depending on the location and type of deposit, the value 

present usually reflects the present worth of the ultimate recovery at some future date using a capitalization 

rate that takes into account the risk involved.  Simply stated, the present value of mineral rights is the gross 

value of future production, less all expenses necessary for production and allowances for depletion. 

 

In Arkansas, there are four general classifications of mineral ownership.  Each of these types is to be 

handled differently, and is discussed on the following pages. 

 

1. Mineral Leases - Non-Producing or Exploratory.  As stated in the Attorney General's Opinion number 

85-133 dated June 17, 1985, these are considered exempt from ad valorem taxation. Because of 

the difficulty of ascertaining the value of a nonproducing mineral right and in order to ensure equal 

and uniform taxation throughout the state, a nonproducing mineral right has zero (0) value for the 

purpose of property tax assessment and is included in the value of the fee simple interest assessed. 
A.C.A. 26-26-1110 (c) (1) 

 

2. Severed Mineral Rights.  These are defined as mineral rights that are separated from the surface 

rights by deed.  Severed mineral rights are to be assessed in the Real Estate Assessment Book on 

the line following the surface rights and designated as Mineral Rights Only.  As an option, you may 

make a separate Mineral Assessment Book in the same order of legal description as the Real Estate 

Book. 

 

3. Mineral Rights Retained With the Surface Rights - No Separating Deed Issued.  For non-producing 

minerals, there is no separate listing.  Only the surface rights are listed in the Real Estate 

Assessment Book.  Where there is a known and proven mineral value, but no production, you may 

include the value with the surface value. 

 

4. Producing Mineral Rights.  When minerals are in active production, assessments and billings 

become more complicated, and must be made with care.  A clear understanding of various terms 

and valuation procedures is important, and are defined on the following pages. 

 

4.1 Operator/Producer.  These two terms are used interchangeably, and refer to the 

individual or company that is responsible for the lease operations and production.  

Most of the time (although not always), the Operator/Producer is owner of the 

Working Interest in the mineral operation. 

 

4.2 Transporter.  This is the purchaser of the mineral being produced.  Depending on the  
 type of mineral, the Transporter can be a pipeline company, rail company, barge  
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company, truck line, tank farm or refinery.  Ownership of the mineral passes to the  
transporter at the sales meter or scales. 

 

4.3  Division Order.  A Division Order, as the name implies, describes how the 

proceeds of the production are to be divided among the various interests.  

Total interests must be equal, but cannot exceed 100%.  In a new lease the 

Operator/Producer will have the original Division Order.  As changes occur in 

the various interests, the changes are kept track of by the Transporter and 

they will have the most current copy.  When in doubt, check with the Operator 

first, and they will direct you to the proper location of the current Division 

Order. 

 

Since each owner must be assessed, a new Division Order should be obtained 

each assessment year.  The Division Order will give a list of the individual 

owners and their percentage of participation which is needed to make the 

current assessment. 

 

In the case of the Working Interest, assessments are made in the name of, 

and taxes billed to the Operator/Producer.  With Royalty and Overriding 

Interests, assessments are made, and taxes billed to each individual owner. 

 

There are three general types of interest ownership: 

 

4.3.1 Working Interest.  The Working Interest is the person or company who 

owns the right (lease) to extract the mineral.  The Working Interest 

participation is usually 87.5% (.875), although this can vary depending 

on any Overriding Interest as defined in 4.3.3. 

 

4.3.2 Royalty Interest.  The Royalty Interest owner(s) is the person or group 

of persons who own the mineral rights to the minerals being produced.  

Total Royalty Interest is usually 12.5% (.125) of the production value.  

There can be many Royalty Interest owners, each with a percent of the 

total Royalty Interest.  Each Royalty owner's share is shown on the 

Division Order. 

 

4.3.3 Overriding Interest.  An Overriding Interest is similar to a Royalty 

Interest in that the Overriding Interest owner assumes none of the risk 

of the Producer.  The Overriding Interest can be part of the Working 

Interests' 87.5% (thus reducing the Working Interest), or part of the 

Royalty Interests' 12.5% (reducing the total Royalty Interest).  Any 

Overriding Interest will also be spelled out in the Division Order. 
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 MINING.....LAND 

 

Among the raw materials produced in Arkansas by mining and quarrying are the following:  

abrasives, agricultural limestone, barite, bauxite, chalk, clay, coal, crushed stone (trap rock), 

dolomite, fuller's earth, gem stones, gravel, gypsum, industrial sand, lead, lightweight aggregates, 

limestone (crushed and dimension), manganese, molybdenum, nephelinite syenite, novaculite, 

phosphate, rock, refractories, roofing granules (from granite deposits), sand and gravel, shale, slag, 

slate, stone (crushed and dimension), talc, vermiculite and zinc. 

 

 Method 

 

 

The method for arriving at the value for purposes of assessment, insofar as it is applicable to land 

owned in fee simple (including all mineral rights), by the operating company, should be as follows: 

 

 

1. The land according to its capability classification. 

 

2. All improvements and fixed appurtenances on the land, such as 

buildings, roads, and all other improvements of a permanent 

character. 

 

3. The mineral deposit as it is rendered by the owner and or operating 

company when the amount rendered is in conformity with the 

Assessor's evaluation. 

 

 

The total of the three items above constitutes the Real Property assessment of the owner's and/or 

the operating company's land and mineral deposit, insofar as it applies to an active mineral 

deposit. 

 

An inactive mineral deposit should not be assessed.  

ACA 26-26-1110 (c)  (1)  Because of the difficulty of ascertaining the value of a nonproducing 

mineral right and in order to ensure equal and uniform taxation throughout the state, a 

nonproducing mineral right has zero (0) value for the purpose of property tax assessment and is 

included in the value of the fee simple interest assessed. 

 (3)  For a nonproducing mineral right that has zero (0) value as determined under subdivision (c)(1) 

of this section, the mineral right owner may agree to a voluntary property tax assessment of the 

mineral right and pay a property tax according to rules established by the Assessment Coordination 

Department with the assistance of the Arkansas Assessors Association. 
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 MINING.....ROYALTY 

 

 

Where there is a royalty interest in a mining property such as limestone, coal, bauxite, barite, etc., 

the method for arriving at the market value for purposes of assessment is as follows: 

 

 

1. Limestone.  Estimated value (according to Arkansas Geological Commission) is $6.00 per ton X 

12.5% (going royalty rate) = $ .75 gross royalty per ton (Assessment Coordination 

Division recommends using a range of $ .50 to $1.00).  Deduct the necessary 

expenses, if any, and the sum remaining is the net royalty.  Net royalty X 20% = the 

Assessment. 

 

2. Coal - Stripping Operation.  Estimated value (according to Arkansas Geological Commission) is 

$40.00 per ton X 12.5% (going royalty rate) = $5.00 gross royalty per ton 

(Assessment Coordination Division recommends using a range of $4.00 to $5.00).  

Deduct the necessary expenses, if any, and the sum remaining is the net royalty.  Net 

royalty X 20% = the Assessment. 

 

3. Bauxite.  Estimated value (according to Arkansas Geological Commission) is $15.75 per ton X 

12.5% (going royalty rate) = $1.96 gross royalty per ton (Assessment Coordination 

Division recommends using a range of $1.00 to $2.00).  Deduct the necessary 

expenses, it any, and the sum remaining is the net royalty.  Net royalty X 20% = the 

Assessment. 

 

4. Barite.  Estimated value (according to Arkansas Geological Commission) is $22.50 per ton X 

12.5% (going royalty rate) = $2.81 gross royalty per ton (Assessment Coordination 

Division recommends using a range of $2.00 to $3.00).  Deduct the necessary 

expenses, if any, and the sum remaining is the net royalty.  Net royalty X 20% = the 

Assessment. 

 

5. Bromine Brine.  Estimated value (according to Arkansas Geological Commission) is $ .30 per 

bbl. (Assessment Coordination Division recommends using a range of $ .03 to $ .05).  

Deduct the necessary expenses, if any, and the sum remaining is the net royalty.  Net 

royalty X 20% = the Assessment. 
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 Oil and Gas Assessment  
 

Producing Mineral Interests should be assessed for Ad Valorem purposes at Market Value in 

regards to Arkansas Law, Rules and Guidelines as follows. Valuation of Mineral Interests for Ad 

Valorem tax purposes is not a tax on prior or current income. Market Value is the price a willing 

buyer, from the open market, would pay for your Mineral Interest in current prevailing market 

conditions as of the assessment date, January 1. The Market Value determined by the Assessor 

does not represent your prior annual income. Property taxes are based solely on the property's 

ability to produce future income for the life of the property based on current production as of 

January 1.  

 

Values provided in these guidelines should only be used in counties that are completing a 

reappraisal in the year the guidelines are issued. For example counties completing in 2013 should 

use the values provided in this year guidelines. Furthermore since Mineral Interests are considered 

real property these values should be used for the duration of the reappraisal cycle for said county, 

either 3 or 5 years depending on the county.  

 

 

Well Production Equipment Assessed Value (WPEV) 
(Only Applied to Working Interest) 

 

(WPEV Multiplier) = $1.00 per Vertical Foot of Well  

 

Example: Well is 1250 feet in Vertical depth 

 

1250 feet  X  $1.00(WPE Multiplier) = $1250 (WPEV) 

_____________ 

 

$1250 (WPEV)  X  .20 (Assessment Rate) 

= 

$250 (Well Production Equip. Assessed Value) 

 

 

The WPEV formula of $1 per foot brings the equipment at the well site directly involved with 
mineral production into the income approach model along with the minerals and is seen as an 
appropriate method of valuing this property type. It is only appropriate for the equipment 
directly related to the production of the mineral since production is what determines the value 
of the well and its mineral for ad valorem purposes. 
 
Any gathering lines, production lines or any other industry specific nomenclature relating to the 
equipment involved with the transportation and or gathering of said minerals beyond the well 
site are not to be included in the WPEV formula. 
 
For gas wells the first meter measuring the gas at the well site when said gas is ready for 
gathering and transportation is the meter that should be used as the termination for the WPEV. 
All equipment behind, but not including, said meter should be included in the WPEV formula. 
That would allow for well site water removal and minimal compression for further transportation 
to be included. 
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For oil wells the point of transfer from production to transportation normally is the valve at the 
tank battery from which ground transportation originates.  
 
It is at the above mentioned meter or valve that the mineral changes from being produced to 
being transported for consumption. Direct ownership of the equipment on either side of the 
meter is irrelevant to the valuation method either directly or indirectly. It is just the point at 
which the production/transportation exchange takes place regardless of ownership of the 
equipment. 
 
Verification of vertical depths can be obtained from the Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission. 
 

 

 

ASSESSMENT TABLES FOR PRODUCING GAS WELLS 

 

 

Formulas and Minimum Pricing Guidelines 

 

Annual Value per M.C.F. represents the present day value of the future worth of the mineral interest 

based on average Arkansas market pricing.  

 

Gas 

2009 $6.44  

2010 $5.48  

2011 $4.85  

2012 $3.77  

2013 $3.58 

 

 

 $3.58 per M.C.F. X 365 days = $1,295 Annual Value per M.C.F. 

 

 

 WORKING INTEREST 

 

Formula to arrive at a Net Working Interest Assessed Value 

 

This now has two parts: 

  

1. Price (Annual Value per M.C.F.) X Working Interest percent % - Production Expenses (13%) X 

.20 Assessment Rate = Working Interest Assessed Value per M.C.F. Average Daily 

Production (A.D.P.) 
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Example: 

 

$1,295 (Annual Value per M.C.F.) 

X 

.875 (Working Interest percent %) 

- 

.13 (Production Expenses) 

X 

.20 (Assessment Rate) 

= 

$197 (Working Interest Assessed Value per M.C.F. Average Daily Production A.D.P.) 

 

 

2. Well Production Equipment Assessed Value + Working Interest Assessed Value = Net 

Working Interest Assessed Value 

 

Example:  

 

$197 (Working Interest Assessed Value) 

+ 

$250 (Well Production Equip. Assessed Value) 

= 

$447 (Net Working Interest Assessed Value) 

 

 

 

 ROYALTY INTEREST 

 

Formula to arrive at assessed value: 

 

 Annual Value per M.C.F. X Royalty Interest percent % X .20 Assessment Rate =  

 Assessed Value per M.C.F. Average Daily Production (A.D.P.) 

 

Example: 

 $1,295 (Annual Value per M.C.F.) 

X 

.125 (Royalty Interest percent %) 

X 

.20 (Assessment Rate) 

= 

$32 (Assessed Value per M.C.F. A.D.P.) 

 

The above prices reflect current averages.   

Rounding in the above is to the nearest whole dollar for simplicity.  In application, you may round to 

the nearest whole penny.  Whichever rounding method you use, use it for all mineral assessments. 

 

Note:   A Division Order must be provided for each oil and gas lease or unit so individual interests 

can be assessed correctly. If no Division Order is provided, the total 8/8 value shall be assessed to 

the operator. 
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 ASSESSMENT TABLES FOR PRODUCING OIL WELLS 

 
Annual Value per Barrel represents the present day value of the future worth of the mineral interest 

based on average Arkansas market pricing.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

The Assessment Tables are computed from the following: 

 

1. Average price of oil on the Arkansas Market. 

 

2. Price adjusted for severance tax and property (real estate) tax. 

 

3. Assumptions. 

 

a. Price of oil per barrel - $80.68 

b. Decline rate - 30% per year - 20% on stripper 

c. Discount factor - 15.0% 

 

 

 

  

Oil 

2009 $69.52  

2010 $67.80  

2011 $70.15  

2012 $68.88  

2013 $80.68  
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WORKING INTEREST 

 

Formula to arrive at a Net Working Interest Assessed Value 

 

This now has two parts: 
  

 
Per Well 

Production Class 

(bbls per day) 

 
Working Interest 

Amount per Barrel 

 
   0 -  2* 4,900 

 
 2.1 -  5 9,202 

 
 5.1 - 10 11,066 

 
10.1 - 25 10,498 

 
25.1 - 50 9,351 

 
50.1 - 70 8,914 

 
70.1 & Up 8,948 

 * Equipment Value Only - Minimum Assessment for any well in production. 

  

 

1. Amount per barrel X A.D.P. x percent % of Interest = Assessed Value 

 

 

 Example:   

$9,351 (Amount per barrel) 

X 

71 bbls. (A.D.P.) 

X 

.875 (percent % of Interest) 

= 

$580,930 (Working Interest Assessed Value) 

 

  

2. Well Production Equipment Assessed Value + Working Interest Assessed Value = Net 

Working Interest Assessed Value 

 

Example:  

$580,930 (Working Interest Assessed Value) 

+ 

$250 (Well Production Equip. Assessed Value) 

= 

$581,180 (Net Working Interest Assessed Value) 
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Injection systems may be eligible for the following reductions on the working interest only. 

 

1.  Water flood - up to 25% adjustment. 

 

2.  Enhanced Recovery - up to 50% adjustment. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

OIL ROYALTY INTEREST 

 

 

 Formula to arrive at Royalty Interest Assessed value: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amount per barrel X A.D.P. X percent % of Interest = Assessed Value 

 

 

 Example:  

 

$14,251 (Amount per barrel) 

X  

71 bbls. (A.D.P.) 

X 

.125 (percent % of Interest) 

= 

$126,477 (Royalty Interest Assessed Value) 
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Per Well 

Production Class 

A.D.P.(bbls per day) 

 
Royalties Interest & 

Overrides 

Amount per Barrel 

 
   0 -  2 9,576 

 
 2.1 -  5 13,886 

 
 5.1 - 10 14,251 

 
10.1 - 25 12,553 

 
25.1 - 50 10,805 

 
50.1 - 70 10,164 

 
70.1 & Up 10,164 


